We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but....”
Review of Pond House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pond House Inn
Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful but....”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a beautiful older home with lovely bed and bath linens but....on the late winter afternoon we checked in the entry way reeked of petroleum fumes. We were hesitant but hoped our room would be exempt, it was not! Immediate head ache but it was too late to change our minds-we did however open all the windows in our room and block the gap under the door which cleared the fumes but not before I felt dizzy enough to almost fall off the desk chair. After a bit of investigation we saw that the gas fireplace in library did not have a glass which could have been the culprit. At any rate this may not be a concern in the hot and humid summer months but for the rest of the year be warned.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuddyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
32
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I recently stayed the Pond House Inn for a valentine getaway. From the moment I drove up to the house, I could feel such a sense of peace and serenity. Martha made Ron and I feel right at home. Our room had a perfect bed, plush robes, and a fantastic view of the grounds. Breakfast was served in the dining room and all items made to order. The blueberry pancakes are to die for and you don't walk away from the table hungry. At night I ventured to a cozy parlor and sat by the firplace. I had a lovely chat with Marha. The movie collection is also quite a treat. If you are looking for some medicine for the soul, this is a must place to go.Thank you so much Martha.
Happy Traveling,
Chantelle

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I titled this like staying with family but that does not do it justice. This was our second stay and Martha immediately made us feel at home. This may be a Bed and Breakfast but you really feel as if you are home. The rooms are great, large and more than comfortable. Breakfast is always nice since there is a two hour window in which you can order. Some B&B's have only one sitting for breakfast so this is a nice treat. My wife and I enjoy staying at B&B's and this one is at the top of our list. My only regret with staying here is having to leave. Thanks for making our stay in Elizabeth City even better. Now we have two families to vist while in town.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phjsr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We recently had a four day stay with Martha at the Pond House for our Anniversay. Our room was very beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The mattress and linens were exceptionally comfortable. Refreshments were available to us at any time. The view and the grounds were beautiful even in November. Breakfasts were wonderful and were served on time as we requested. It would have been nice if we had been offered a tour of the house/grounds initially. However, we still rank the Pond House as the overall best B&B we have experienced. Thanks again Martha, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

As a business traveler, I am weary of staying in hotel chains! While working on a computer project for Albemarle Hospital, The Pond House Inn was recommended to me as a great place to stay. That was an understatement! The inn has been my "home away from home" for a year and I dread the thought of returning to hotel life when my job in Elizabeth City is complete. Other advantages for a business traveler are the desks in the rooms and the stable wireless internet connection. Not only are the rooms beautiful and quiet, but Martha's breakfasts are amazing! I also like that there are only a few rooms, which adds a great deal of privacy. And the grounds! Wow, what a beautiful site for a wedding!

I noticed that another reviewer in 2011 mentioned that the draperies were down in the sun room the week after hurricaine Irene. The inn had been pounded by the hurricaine, and anybody that has been through one knows that it take more than a week to recover! Give her a break! Something that I find truly fascinating is the wallpaper in the dining room. The original paper was hand painted and extremely valuable. Currently, the restoration following Irene is being done by hand by a local artist, so you will still see signs of damage, but also signs of recovery. It takes lots of love and care to maintain such a treasure of a home!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We've stayed at a number of B&B's but not like this. The house, its furnishings, and particularly the grounds were pure magic. There are small islands rimmed with stone walls, a beautiful view of the river, and birds, flowers, and trees galore. There are outdoor gazebos with swings and a great porch to hang out on. The house is furnished with beautiful antiques and is full of nice artwork of all kinds. Martha Johnson cooks a wonderful breakfast to order. There are a few projects going on, work on the porch roof, etc. but there was no construction noise or disturbance when we were there. If you like normal chain hotels this might not be for you, if you like a unique place with warmth and comfort in a beautiful waterfront setting, you'll like this.

Room Tip: Call and talk over the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Martha the innkeeper is very pleasant and has the most beautiful property we have ever been to at a small inn. The property itself has a multitude of gardens, ponds and a creek. And then just across the street is a beautiful river/bay that can bee seen from every room in the house. The rooms are very nice and her breakfast was delicious. This is a quiet spot and is ideal for anyone looking for a quiet stay where you can take nice walks in a beautiful North Carolina setting

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
480 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
85 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pond House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pond House Inn

Property: Pond House Inn
Address: 915 Rivershore Rd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-6217
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pond House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Pond House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing