We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting!”

Montero's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Salisbury
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The first night we arrived in Elizabeth City, we could not get seated at this restaurant. So, we made a reservation for the night we would be returning. We had a very nice and capable waitserver and we enjoyed our meal with the exception of the fresh string beans; we had asked that they be cooked more (we don't like them crisp) and they were not....chef's do not like to cook them! The bread basket was wonderful. The music was too loud for the dining room area so we had to lean across the table in order to hear one another. But, we did like the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    49
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Brunch was excelent”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stopped in for our first Brunch at Montero's. There was a really nice selection of brunch items, sandwiches and entrees. The food as served promptly and the service was friendly. Every table gets a basket of little muffins with all meals and it's just one of the nice touches that make this restaurant a nice place to visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StayCationNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice quiet dining experience with excellent food! Food portions come in a choice of half and full. Careful on ordering the full as my wife and I could not finish full portions. I had the Shrimp and Grits, which was absolutely exquisite!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ksland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We visited Montero's because of positive reviews in Trip Advisor which in our opinion are well deserved-great food, excellent service, outstanding value. We elected the smaller portion option and were more than satisfied.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgerBlue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Travelers--eat here when in Elizabeth City”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We dined on a Wednesday night and saw plenty of cars outside, so decided to try it despite some mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. Definitely was not overpriced in our opinion; in fact, it's a great value! You can order half portions and get plenty to eat while saving money because you still get 2 sides. Very broad menu (appetizers, sandwiches, dinners, meat, fish, vegetarian, etc) with variety in the sides. Pleasant atmosphere; feels like you're dining in an old Southern house. They have a bar downstairs where you can also eat. Salads were fresh with homemade dressings; both the orange balsamic and lime tequila dressing were great. Delicious and slightly sweet mini-muffins, along with other hot rolls, were served at the beginning of the meal. French fries were hot! Good service. My scallops could use somewhat less salt, and I'd like them to improve the wine list. Wines by the glass are mediocre. However, I was quite happy with the half bottle of Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay, available at a good price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LadyEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montero's Restaurant also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Montero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing