We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We highly recommend the Grice-Fearing House B&B. Our suite and bath were well appointed and impeccably clean. Georgene and Vidal are marvelous hosts. In addition to a delicious gourmet breakfast, we were served wine (and not a puny glass; thanks Vidal!) at 5:00 pm, and a filled ice bucket and cookies were left in the upstairs hallway for us in the evening--such a nice touch! The bed was really comfy, and the bathroom is modern, with a great Jacuzzi. We just went for a weekend getaway, but hope to return in the summer when activities on the river resume. Be sure to see the museum down by the river---it's really well done and it's free. Upon leaving, Georgene shared a breakfast recipe and packed up some chocolate chip bread for us to take home. All in all, this was a memorable B&B experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

An absolutely wonderful place to stay. The location is fantastic. It puts you right in the middle of everything in Elizabeth City. You can walk to all of the amenities and attractions. The house has been wonderfully restored while maintaining its character and charm. The rooms are great. They are spacious and each has their own updated bathroom. Each room also has a sitting room that gives the accomodations a luxury suite fee. The service was impecable. The host are gracious and eager to give you tips on what to do in Elizabeth City. I look forward to the next time I can make a trip there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Beautiful restoration of a historic building while incorporating modern bathrooms and other comfort features. The breakfasts were delicious and included a variety of home baked goods and innovative recipes. Our suite (the one with the king bed) was roomy and we enjoyed having our own sitting room for reading and TV. The hosts were warm and gracious and informative about the area. You feel more like a house guest than a customer!

Room Tip: One suite has a king bed, one has a queen, so bed size is the deciding factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CulinaryKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Being a former resident of Elizabeth City for a short period of time I learned quickly that the people in this town live up to their reputation as being known as the "Harbor of Hospitality." I often wondered what it would be like to stay at this B&B so, when I came back to visit for the Holidays I decided to stay. WOW! What a great experience. The hosts were the best. Attention to detail is well done here. They knew that I would be checking in late because of a party that I was attending in town. I did not have time to stop by and check in before the party, so they stopped by the event and hand delivered a key to me with instructions, how impressive was that!!! Breakfast at it's best! No continental breakfast here, get ready to want to take these hosts home with you. Room, bathroom and entire house has been updated while maintaining its original charm. If you are looking for a restful place where you can rest and feel an overall welcoming experience, you must stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

To say that the Grice-Fearing House is a beautifully restored, centrally located structure with fantastic bedding, amazing baked goods and an even more divine breakfast would be certainly be an understatement. But the kindness and graciousness of the owners of the B&B come to the foremost of my mind; they are absolutely an extension of the true Southern hospitality that can be found in Elizabeth City. Look no further for a truly delightful stay in a truly delightful town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The owners of this B&B could not have been more charming. The house was very clean and the breakfast was delicious. The newly renovated bathrooms with jetted bath tubs are divine! The only negative about the room was that my husband and I watched a movie and there wasn't really a comfy place for both of us to sit together. He laid on the floor which wasn't a big deal, but a couch and updated TV would have been nice. We'd recommend the Grice-Fearing House to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BagsArePacked725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grice-Fearing, Owner at Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

Thanks for the nice review. We are little puzzled, however, about the comment about the couch, since our two suites each have a loveseat and additional seating in the separate sitting rooms for each suite; each loveseat seats two people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This house has been painstakingly restored. Georgene and Vidal are happy to detail the history. They were wonderful hosts. Our bed was top of the line. The old world charm came with a modern bathroom. You can spend time in your own sitting area or in a beautiful downstairs parlor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gaia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
524 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#6 of 9 in Elizabeth City
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
Econo Lodge Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 S Road St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range: £76 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast - the oldest house in Elizabeth City, NC. Offering two luxurious suites, each has a color-coordinated bedroom, adjoining sitting room, and an en suite bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub. Breakfasts are served with china, Waterford crystal and sterling silver, a gourmet treat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grice-Fearing House b&b
Grice-Fearing House Hotel Elizabeth City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing