We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas Eve”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here on Christmas Eve. Everything was far above my expectations. The room and bed were very comfortable. We spent an hour meeting and talking to our hosts over wine and appetizers. In the morning, we enjoyed a great Christmas breakfast of Eggs Benedict. Just a simply terrific time in a wonderful old, comfortable home. Pass up the hotels and try this. You will love it!!! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They have a king room and a queen... we stayed in the king and recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you are visiting Elizabeth City this should be your first choice.
My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying with Georgene and Vidal
several times in their historic and charming home.
We so enjoyed our visits to Elizabeth City and the gracious hospitality
shown by our friendly hosts that we moved here, escaping busy city life.
For the money you might spend at a decent hotel you can enjoy far more value,
with personable, caring, and dedicated service.
Vidal and Georgene are not only wonderful hosts for a beautiful BnB located
in an ideal location within this waterfront city but they are involved citizens
who are committed to the City.
Their knowledge of the City and the surrounding amenities combined with their
pleasant attention, great food, and outstanding value and I promise you that
you will make plans to return again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffmcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I took my husband on a getaway for his 50th birthday to this beautiful B&B. Vidal and Georgene were delightful hosts!! They had a nice welcome poster for us wishing Pete a happy bday, Vidal was kind enough to make us a reservation at Montero's, and obviously told the restaurant it was Pete's bday because they had a card and bday decorations at our table.

The B&B was quiet and comfortable and totally relaxing. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated.

Breakfast was amazing! We ate in the dining room on china and had a wonderful yogurt with granola parfait to start, then a delicious western style breakfast and homemade cinnamon roll. Totally delicious and a beautiful presentation.

Wonderful conversation and very interesting and genuinely nice people. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice get away!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful so it doesn't matter which one you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Grace-Fearing House is a beautiful old (200+ years) home in Elizabeth City, and is listed in The National Register of Historic Places. The house has been saved and meticulously restored by Vidal and Georgene Falcon, our gracious hosts. We were on the last leg of our trip through Baltimore, Philadelphia, and the Eastern Shore and stopped there in November, (11-12-13, to be exact) heading south through the Outter Banks. My wife and I travel frequently, and always stay in a B&B whenever one is available. We have been in many over the years, and the Grace-Fearing house is the prize winner.

When we arrived, Vidal met us in the yard and helped us with our luggage. Our room was a beautifully appointed suite (sitting room, bedroom, bath). Appointments included a jacuzzi bath, King-size bed, cut glass stemware in our room, wine and chocolate cake on arrival, and coffee brought to our room in the morning. Breakfast was fresh fruit and eggs Benedict, served on fine china in a formal dining room with a warm fire in the fireplace. We were most comfortable here, and wish we could add another day or two to our trip.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank SlomoRootlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Grice-Fearing B&B is one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. The house is beautifully decorated and well-equipped. The rooms are spacious and relaxing and we also enjoyed spending time in the library and sunroom. The Falcons are excellent innkeepers. A fabulous gourmet breakfast was served on china with crystal glasses and sterling silver. They also offered us baked goods, wine and beverages upon our arrival. We could not have been more pleased with our stay and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddiewards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A long time friend and patron of this place was able to get us a last minute reservation which was gr8! However the owners tell us the evening we arrive with a 10 and 2 year old in tow that they have really nice things and usually only prefer that kids over 12 stay there....if we had known beforehand we would hv saved ourselves and them the anguish. What a welcome! Oh and to top it off he informs us that they would only serve 2 of the 4 of us for breakfast! No thank you and Never again. Clean but smelly like most old houses are...lost a potential long term client...not a fan. Maybe this place caters to childless couples only but this should've been made clear at reservation!!

Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ddbaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grice-Fearing, Owner at Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

It is correct that we do not accept children under 12 to ensure that our guests have a peaceful, quiet stay at our B&B. This guest called prior to booking with us, to inquire whether we accepted children and pets. We told him that we did not accept either at our B&B. When he called to book a suite which accommodates 2 (either of our suites accommodates only 2 persons), we asked if someone would be traveling with him. He said that his wife would also be staying with him. Period. We said that if he were able to pick up the key prior to 11 am, we could accommodate his stay, as we were going to be spending the entire day out of town. Upon arriving home at approximately 8:30 pm, we heard a child's voice in the B&B suite area. It was a 2 year old girl who was staying with them! We again reminded him that we didn't accept young children, but we knew he would not be able to book a room anywhere in Elizabeth City that night, as it was ECSU homecoming weekend, when all hoteliers are fully booked months in advance (we had a sudden cancellation of his suite). Of course, we let them stay. To make this situation even worse, when they left the next morning, we saw that they had another child staying with them -- TWO children in all! Not only is this deceptive, but it is also illegal to have unregistered guests staying in B&Bs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was our first visit to Elizabeth City and what a great stay we had at this beautiful bed and breakfast. Georgene and Vidal are gracious innkeepers who have left no stone unturned for the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. Vidal met us in the yard and helped with our bags. He and Georgene gave us some history on this historic house along with a notebook of interesting memorabilia. They offered us refreshments, offered to make dinner reservations and told us about the Ghost Walk which was taking place the evening of our stay.

Once in our suite, which was very pretty and spotless, we sat on the upstairs porch enjoying the ambiance of the place. We decided to head out for dinner and the Ghost Walk and had a great evening. The Ghost Walk was very interesting and a fun way to spend the evening.

Breakfast was excellent. We ate in a gorgeous dining room and the food was beautifully prepared - very elegant yet relaxed and easy. Our hosts shared good conversation and had obvious pride in being part of what is happening in Elizabeth City. We learned much about all the changes that have taken place over time. Lots of fun and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a history buff, come visit Elizabeth City when the Ghost Walk is happening. This event i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2RiceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
1.2 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
534 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 S Road St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4755
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range: £74 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast - the oldest house in Elizabeth City, NC. Offering two luxurious suites, each has a color-coordinated bedroom, adjoining sitting room, and an en suite bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub. Breakfasts are served with china, Waterford crystal and sterling silver, a gourmet treat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grice-Fearing House Hotel Elizabeth City
Grice-Fearing House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing