We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Top B&Bs!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our Top B&Bs!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Absolutely wonderful stay at the Grice-Fearing House. From the onset, you can tell this exquisite home is a labor of love for Georgene and Vidal, the most gracious of hosts. Every detail from the in-room Waterford wine glasses to the china at breakfast was over the top! Highly recommend for a night away or if just passing through Elizabeth City.

Room Tip: Grice-Fearing has two suites, a Queen & a King. With only two, you get the host's full atten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
88
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We loved every part of our stay at The Grice-Fearing House! Vidal and Georgene are wonderful hosts and the house is amazing. The B&B is laced with bits of history and elegantly decorated from top to bottom. We loved the jacuzzi, gardens and porches. The best part was breakfast, which was eggs Benedict, perfectly cooked. Georgene has recipes featured in Southern Living and we can see why. We can't wait until we have another chance to stay here. Thank you for the hospitality!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a two-night stay at the Grice-Fearing house. The house is beautifully decorated, and the suite was larger, nicer, and more comfortable than I'd even hoped for. Small touches abound - fresh flowers, local history books, DVDs to use, extra blankets and pillows if needed. We enjoyed both the back and front porches for a complimentary glass of wine (and nighttime cookies.) The hosts were very welcoming, thoughtful, and informative about local events and travel tips. Breakfast was elegant and delicious. It was one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in. Do be aware there is a narrow, curved staircase and sloping floorboards, but this just added to the charm for me. We were there for the 1st Friday Art Walk night, and easily walked to all the venues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTheWorld316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
356 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a great one night stay at the Grice-Fearing house. Our hosts were wonderful, answering all our questions and offering advice to points of interest and dining. We'll make sure whenever we are travelling past NC to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Everything about the ambiance at Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast is ideal. Georgene and Vidal are gracious hosts and make sure that everything is perfect, down to the tiniest details. Breakfast is a virtual feast with elegant presentation and made on-site delicacies with special consideration for personal preferences. Decor reflects the period of the historic home but is comfortable and roomy. The bathrooms are huge and beautifully accessorized. Decorations throughout the house are charming and appropriate to the season. I loved the fresh flowers in my suite--pure elegance! The house is remarkably clean and welcoming. My stay was relaxing and fun.

Room Tip: Either suite is lovely and comfortable. I have stayed in and loved both. Neither suite has any noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NantucketBasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Wanting to stay more near this small town's heart, I opted for a B&B as hotels were more on the outskirts of city proper. Georgene and Vidal were the hosts/owners. Greeted me as if I was a long time guests and offered a glass of wine as I wound down a long day and wrapped up miles of travel. A beautiful old house and more solid than one might expect. The front room in which I stayed was large with a sitting room and private bath. Unlike most old B&B's electrical outlets were in easy reach to plug my miscellaneous in to. Their restaurant recommendation for that night was delicious. Cypress? Walking distance.

My one morning there was enjoyed with hot coffee outside my door when I woke at 5:30 and an incredible breakfast by Georgene.

I would without hesitation return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here on Christmas Eve. Everything was far above my expectations. The room and bed were very comfortable. We spent an hour meeting and talking to our hosts over wine and appetizers. In the morning, we enjoyed a great Christmas breakfast of Eggs Benedict. Just a simply terrific time in a wonderful old, comfortable home. Pass up the hotels and try this. You will love it!!! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They have a king room and a queen... we stayed in the king and recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.8 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 S Road St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast - the oldest house in Elizabeth City, NC. Offering two luxurious suites, each has a color-coordinated bedroom, adjoining sitting room, and an en suite bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub. Breakfasts are served with china, Waterford crystal and sterling silver, a gourmet treat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grice-Fearing House b&b
Grice-Fearing House Hotel Elizabeth City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing