We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Peaceful Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a relaxing weekend away here. The hosts are lovely and helpful and the house is beautiful and very spacious. Highly recommended for a quiet retreat, delicious breakfasts as well.

Room Tip: only has 2 rooms both with their own sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelpresc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
89
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Grice Fearing House gives you an instant feeling of comfort upon your first approach. Georgene and Vidal are excellant hosts with a sincere approach to hospitality in this well appointed Elizabeth City historic home. All of the amenties of home, and then some, were offered, including great conversation, stories of the historic home and Elizabeth City, and a fabulous breakfast. As a local, I found the owners to be very knowledeable on the culture and history of Elizabeth City, and shortly after arrival realized the church across the street is where my parents were married post WWII ! Looking forward to our next stay at Grice Fearing House with the Falcones.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pineyvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent two nights at the Grice-Fearing House last week. It was a wonderful experience. We were warmly welcomed after a 5 hour drive and shown up the stairs to our "Queen's Suite" and then offered cold drinks. The suite was tastefully decorated and furnished with lovely antiques and an excellent bed. The bathroom was spacious and modern. After a walk around downtown, we enjoyed relaxing with cold drinks on the upstairs porch just outside our room. We were charmed by our hosts, Georgene and Vidal, who take great pride in their house and in ensuring guests’ comfort.

The entire "old" home was totally remodeled, keeping it true to original space and decor with period furnishings - living room, dining room, library, sun room, etc. As for the B & B - our BED was very comfortable with nice linens and our BREAKFAST was delicious in an elegant setting. The menu (served using fine china and crystal) was delicious -- fresh fruits, home baked muffins, crisp bacon, etc. -- and served with beautiful presentation. They even packed some muffins for us to enjoy as we departed. Quite an enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chili782014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On our arrival, the owner met us and assisted with our luggage. Extremely personable and accommodating from the tour of the historic home to a personalized welcome sign on the door to coffee in the morning and baked goods delivered to the upstairs in the evening. Talk about attention to detail . . . fresh flowers in the bathroom, wonderfully decorated suite with upscale and antique furnishings. You were asleep once your head hit the pillow. Quiet and relaxing. We really enjoyed conversation with the owners over a glass of wine in the evening. They are both very involved and are so charming and talented it is unbelievable! They offer a great porch just steps away from the suite with a swing and rocking chairs. It was fun to sit out and watch the locals travel up and down the street. There was designated parking in close proximity to the house making is very convenient for loading and unloading. Georgene is very creative as you will note during your stay. She and Vidal served breakfast as it was a royal event on beautiful china with meals we would not eat at home. I love coffee and our cups were NEVER empty!!! We've had an opportunity to visit some great hotels in the world and the Grice-Fearing House, even though is not a hotel but a B&B ranks right up there with the best!!! Thank you again Georgene and Vidal.

Room Tip: Limited rooms, but you don't have to make a choice. They were both excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the historic Grice-Fearing House. We stayed in a very spacious suite that was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The Falcons thought of every comfort from a welcoming glass of wine to cookies at night. The breakfast, served in a grand setting, was delicious. The proprietors are lovely, interesting people. We highly
a stay at Grice-Fearing House!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Byrd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Grice-Fearing house. The hosts, the decor and the breakfast were all awesome. Our 12 year old son enjoyed the stay too. We would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shroffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfafftown
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Everyone that visits Elizabeth City or if you are on the way to the Outer Banks should not miss the chance to stay with Georgene and Vidal at the Grice-Fearing House where you are treated as both royalty and family. From the minute you arrive and are greeted (not only in person, but also with your name on the door to your room!) to the last sip of tea at breakfast you will feel relaxed and pampered. This is not your continental B & B breakfast, so plan some time to linger over the fantastic delicious breakfast prepared faultlessly by this experienced couple.

The bedroom suite has a relaxing sitting area with tv and a great selection of magazines. The bed is so comfortable you can fall asleep quickly, but not before you've had the homemade cookies that are left on a small table outside your door. This house is extremely clean and well-kept and surprisingly quiet.

Already have plans to stay again!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms at Grice-Fearing are quiet and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gifttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#6 of 9 in Elizabeth City
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 S Road St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grice-Fearing House Bed and Breakfast - the oldest house in Elizabeth City, NC. Offering two luxurious suites, each has a color-coordinated bedroom, adjoining sitting room, and an en suite bathroom with shower and Jacuzzi bathtub. Breakfasts are served with china, Waterford crystal and sterling silver, a gourmet treat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grice-Fearing House Hotel Elizabeth City
Grice-Fearing House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing