We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night while visiting some family in the area. We literally just needed a place to sleep and unfortunately Fairfield was not a great place even for that. The place looks nice and is clean. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. But the bedspread is too thin and was not warm. I assume we could have ordered up another blanket, but it was late and we were tired and we thought by turning up the heat in the room, we'd be ok. But it would have been a lot cozier with a thicker comforter and/or more blankets. The worst part though was that the heater was SO loud when it kicked on. I actually like some white noise while sleeping, but this was not a normal noise and woke me up everytime it came on during the night.

We went with Fairfield because it was the new place in town. But I think we will try another place next time. I would have rather stayed in an older place and gotten better sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebFinHSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyFairfield, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We certainly appreciate the excellent ratings that you awarded us for value, location, rooms, cleanliness, and service. The kind remarks about our staff and rooms are always nice to hear. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and welcome an opportunity to meet every need of our guests when requested. It is unfortunate that we were not made aware of your need for a blanket or a problem with the heating unit. I hope that you will give us a chance to serve you the next time you are in the area and will notify our staff of any services that are not satisfactory so that we may have the opportunity to correct them. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    55
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
53
45
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

In town again for a high school reunion. Always enjoying staying at this Fairfield Inn whenever in Elizabeth City. Professional, friendly staff, welcoming lobby, clean rooms and tasty breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very accommodating management and cleaning staff. Ample parking, breakfast good enough to go several hundred miles on before lunch. LOL. Always a great nights rest at every Marriott i've every stayed.

Room Tip: Always take the bypass
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjskay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is merely an easy mile or so from the waterfront attractions but was spotlessly clean (my kudos to your staff), had a nice pool and workout area, and a great breakfast. All of this for very little money makes it a top choice where I do hope to return. One comment, our navigation system in the 2010 Prius did not know where the street was. It is right off of route 17, on a new access road. Everybody in town knew where it was too. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter unless you want a high view of the neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Didn't plan on staying here but Hurricane Irene forced us to change our travel to the Outer Banks. Called from the road inquiring about availability but there was none; left our number for a call back though we continued calling other places. Recieved a call back within two hours and secured a room.
We were totally amazed with the accomodations, warmth of the staff , and the service.
Because of the hurricane and their proximity to the Outer Banks, the hotel was at full capacity for a number of days. We didn't experience any of their stress. In fact they went out of their way to accomodate a late family arrival providing cartons of milk at 5 am for three very tired toddlers.
Complimentary Breakfast had many different choices, kept immaculate between guest selections.
What a wonderful accidental find !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Very nice location with clean rooms. The people at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Just after hurricane Irene, we called the hotel just to see how the area had fared. Our daughter lives near by in an apartment and wanted to head back there but we were all uncertain as to the conditions. The person at the front desk stayed on the phone for a good 15mins giving us details on the area. That was awesome and very much appreciated!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanTheTravelerFromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stay at this hotel prior to heading to the Outer Banks. The hotel is convenient for that purpose and is generally ok. We've only ever spent one night. This last time we were not as pleased as in prior visits. When we walked unto the room it smelled like cigarette smoke. When we called the front desk they did respond quickly and deodorized the room. The mattress in the room has seen better days and needs replaced. The pull out couch mattress was a torn mess that was very uncomfortable (even for a pullout). We'll stay here again because it is convenient, but the hotel could use freshening.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pghtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
24.0 mi away
Inn at Corolla Light
Inn at Corolla Light
#1 of 2 in Corolla
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Address: 1640 City Center Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-8952
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Fairfield Inn And Suites Elizabeth City
Fairfield Inn Elizabeth City
Fairfield Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing