We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Fairfield Inn is a nice hotel and home base if you want to stay on the out skirts of the Outer Banks. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are large and comfortable. The amenities are great with the pool and workout facilities. The breakfast has a good variety of hot and cold items. We would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Elizabeth City or the Outer Banks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanNJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry F, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your great comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly with any further comments or suggestions for me and my staff so that we can continue to provide the best customer service possible. Thank you for stay with us and we hope that you will continue to choose our property when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    54
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
48
44
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Although I prefer and tend to stay at Residence Inns, this Fairfield Inn is new, clean, and well equipped. It offers a nice morning breakfast. But the couple of evening receptions during the week are more finger foods and not intended to be a meal, but this is a Fairfield.

Unlike many hotels these days that claims to offer "high speed" internet the in room wireless service here is good. The cable channel lineup is also better than many hotels as it offers numerous channels that would make you think you're home rather than the typical 10-15 typical of hotel offerings. And it's clean cable as in no annoying repeating power on menus, sales pitches and overcomplicated menus and their remotes.

The hotel has a nice work out area and a heated and clean indoor pool, although a little on the small side.

The counter staff are very friendly and helpful. My only gripe with any of the staff would be the lady that hosts the morning breakfast during most week days. I stayed over a long term visit, and when I would report make minor issues she needs to be more receptive and less defensive.

Room Tip: The mexican restaurant nearby is Three Amigos. It has a good menu, friendly service, and excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry F, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for great comments about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your business and we hope that you will continue to choose our property whenever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed at Fairfield Inn for wedding on June28 to June 30th.We only had reservations for one night but thanks to manager Dewayne Wilson he was able to get us Friday night also he had to make multiple phone call to Marriott Rewards to get it worked out thanks again to Mr. Wilson and his staff.We had a great time the hotel was everything and more very clean great location look forward to our next stay there.Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry F, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thanking you for posting such a great review about our property. My staff works very hard to provide the highest level of customer service at all times and to keep the property looking its best at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have stayed at a lot of Fairfield Inns, and this was the best so far. That doesn't make it a five-star hotel, but it's better than most affordable places.

It seemed new. It was very clean and had a nice appearance. It sits all by itself just outside of town, with only the IHOP nearby. However, it's a short drive into town for a lot of other dining options, shopping, etc.

The staff was great! Check-in was a breeze, and the young lady at the front desk took the time to give us some excellent dinner recommendations. The room was spacious and well designed, nothing fancy but everything we needed. Best of all, unlike many Fairfields, it had a wall thermostat and quiet AC! This was great because we had just suffered through a noisy wall unit the night before. We had a quiet, blissful sleep! The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were a little lumpy. No noise from the hallways or traffic noise from the road.

I would agree with other commenters that the indoor pool was small. I'm not sure why they make pools that small. I guess it keeps the young kids entertained, but it wouldn't be much good to me. We didn't use it so it didn't make any difference to us. The place had an excellent work-out room that nobody was using.

Breakfast was very good, lots of options, and not crowded. If you want more choices there is a very nice IHOP next door, but this breakfast is free and a cut above your usual budget hotel fare. Wi-fi was free and seemed to work very well.

This may be repetitious, but I have to comment again on the staff. Very friendly and helpful! It is rare to be treated so well, not just with courtesy but like an old friend! This is clearly a well run establishment and the people here like what they do.

We were sorry that we didn't have much time to spend in Elizabeth City. It really seemed like a great place with a lot to see and do. If we come back again this is where we will stay.

If you found this review helpful I hope you will give me a helpful vote! I try to be thorough with my reviews and go over the pros and the cons (from my vantage point) in detail. There were no real cons with this hotel except that it's nothing fancy, but you don't expect that from a Fairfield Inn! I can't give it an excellent rating because there are nicer places out there, but if possible I would give it a 4.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missionman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyFairfield, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
It just makes our day when a guest compliments our staff....not once, but TWICE! We're so happy that your stay was excellent.....your positive feedback about your room and breakfast are what we hope to achieve. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area. We love return guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Very clean room. Very friendly staff and felt very secure. Indoor pool was clean but a bit small. Not a big deal for us. Breakfast was pretty good in the morning and included in the rooms price. All in all I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCoastie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyFairfield, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We especially pride ourselves on our clean accommodations and friendly staff; your feedback is important to us to ensure that we are consistent in providing both of these. I'm sorry that our indoor pool was not as large as you had expected, but glad that it was clean and inviting. It's good to know that you plan to stay with us again when in the Elizabeth City area. Thanks so much for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a 4-year-old on a rainy day, I wanted to make sure we got a hotel with an indoor pool. The Fairfield was the only one around for miles that had one. So, with the lack of options, I was happy to see that the Fairfield was clean and the staff was very friendly. The hotel itself was just ok, nothing special. The pool was clean, but very small. The breakfast wasn't all that great. The beds are very hard, just as other reviews said. Overall, the hotel was fine but overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimeeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyFairfield, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
We're glad that you and your son stayed with us and enjoyed our indoor pool. It is small, but usually brings large smiles from the kids when they are in it. We are constantly making efforts to enlarge and improve our breakfast fare and appreciate any feedback that would make it better. I hope that you will stay with us again when in our area. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
241 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for one night, it's located just minutes before you enter town of Elizabeth City. Must be fairly new hotel, am guessing just few years old. Our 2 queens were very comfortable, slept great. Bathroom & room as well as all parts of hotel I saw were very neat & clean. Passed on the continental breakfast as there was an IHop right next door. Staff was friendly at check-in & out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyFairfield, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. Since we are the "new kid on the block" at only 5 years old, we do pride ourselves on our cleanliness, comfort, and staff. Your review touched on all of these and that's the kind of feedback that we are elated to receive. Please stop in and stay with us on your next trip to Elizabeth City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
28 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
Address: 1640 City Center Blvd, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-8952
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City Hotel Elizabeth City
Fairfield Inn And Suites Elizabeth City
Fairfield Inn Elizabeth City
Fairfield Elizabeth City
Elizabeth City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing