We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Like Home"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Like Home"”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

If your travel plans take you through the waterfront destination of Elizabeth City, NC, then plan on staying at the Culpepper Inn Bed & Breakfast. You will not be disappointed!
My husband and I had the opportunity to travel through Elizabeth City on business many times for extended stays and wanted a place different than the impersonal feel of a hotel. The welcoming home and innkeeper, took us in like we were family. This Inn offers all the comforts and homey touches of a beautiful southern Home. I don't know about you, but when I travel there is nothing like coming home.

Room Tip: "Loved this homey Inn" "Loved the Carriage house"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katewalker, Manager at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
We are so pleased you had this kind of experience with us and took the time to tell others. Blessings to you & yours this Christmas Season.
-Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    7
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
35
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Trust me, I've stayed at every hotel and B and B in Elizabeth City,
And my number one choice is the Culpepper Inn, "Holly, I'm home"!
Very comfortable, lots of places for private study or relaxing.
Walking distance to downtown, food, bars and riverfront.
I recommend it!

Room Tip: The Carriage House is the favorite.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katewalker, Manager at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thanks for the encouragement and for choosing to stay with us. We never forget there is always a choice and welcome your return when your travels allow. Merry Christmas!
-Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Opening up a new terriroty for my company, in North Carolina, nessessitated that I stay two nights a week in Elizabeth City. After looking at several motels and a few B&B's I contracted with the Culpepper for two nights a week for an undetermined number of months. I have had nothing but the greatest experience with the Culpepper Inn. The new innkeeper, Holly, is a delight and her personal touches make the Inn welcoming, friendly, warm and inviting. Her homemade bakegoods for late night snacking, the decorations, the ease of check in, and her friendly smile makes my stay in North Carolina a pleasure rather than a chore. I highly recommend the Culpepper Inn and wish everyone a pleasant experience like I get every week with Holly's "Welcome Back".

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katewalker, Manager at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
We really strive to make our repeat customers feel like staying with us is like home away from home. We enjoy your return each and every time. Thanks for your kind words. It means a lot. You have our best wishes always & for this holiday season.
-Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed for five nights in the Crown Room. Very nice, comfortable, and clean. Breakfast time was especially delicious and relaxing.The Culpepper Inn is within walking distance to many attractions, shops and restaurants in downtown Elizabeth City and its waterfront area. Elizabeth City is only an hour or so drive from the Outer Banks. We will definitely return to the Culpepper Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandDebM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katewalker, Manager at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Wow! Exactly what we hoped your stay with us would be like. You make this business more than just a business and we were delighted to host you for your special anniversary. We hope you can make it an annual tradition!
Blessings,
Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed last year about the same time and the previous owners were great. Came back this year and did not get the same level of service. At check out was not even asked about stay or if we would be coming back. ECSU Vikings beware.. we are not wanted at this location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank lanee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyKEcity, Owner at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
As a historic Inn located in a residential neighborhood, we are not the best venue for certain celebrations. This University homecoming group left very late at night from the property and returned in the early morning hours from their celebrations. As some of our rooms require you to exit and enter through a home and be considerate of other guests staying here, this was very disruptive to other guests. Loud, late conversations in the parking lot, loud music from cars, smoking in non-smoking rooms, more than the allowable numbers of guests packed in rooms, etc. made accommodating this event's guests challenging at this location, this year. We are very proud ECSU's Chancellor routinely allows us to host ECSU's VIP's guests here and we are very proud Viking supporters, in general. We have had many delightful guests associated with the University. We made a commitment to the Chancellor to book guests for the 2012 Homecoming exclusively through his office and therefore could not offer accommodations again to these departing guests for this year. Thank you for allowing us to share our perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Dear friends had a wedding in Elizabeth City we were attending. They wanted us to join them and stay at the Culpepper Inn B&B. My husband and I have had 3 experiences at other B&B's in other areas of the country and we had not been impressed, but we wanted to stay with our friends so we booked 3 rooms for our family. From the moment we walked through the door until the time we "had" to leave our stay was EXCELLENT. We had such an enjoyable time and felt catered to and yet not "hovered" over. We had a number of hours to just be at the Culpepper. The setting and accommodations are so relaxing. My husband had work to do and enjoyed getting it done (via wifi) on a picnic table near the pool. My 88 year old mother relaxed and knitted. We all took walks and enjoyed the close distance to downtown near the water. The breakfast was delicious. We have not had an occasion to go to Elizabeth City until this wedding, but we hope it will not be our last! We highly recommend the Culpepper Inn, it was a delightful experience!

Room Tip: Crown Room was well worth the extra money. The Lavender Room and the Euro were both enjoyed, very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katewalker, Manager at Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Your family enjoyed this home just as we hope people will when they stay with us. It was so encouraging to see. We enjoyed every member of the several generations of your family. Thanks so much for giving us the opportunity to host you. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Merry Christmas to you & yours...
-Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The historic house was beautiful and the room was lovely and clean. The prices are very reasonable. The owners of the property were friendly and accomodating yet gave us some space as we were there for a overdue weekend private getaway. We left our car at the culpepper inn and walked downtown and several occasions. Looking forward to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 609 W Main St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4256
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in beautiful, historic, downtown Elizabeth City, the Culpepper Inn Bed and Breakfast is just one hours' drive from Norfolk International Airport and is surrounded by lush lawns, shrubs, and trees. This brick Georgian Revival style manor Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast was built by William and Alice Culpepper in 1935 and sits only blocks away from the Pasquotank River. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing