We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast so I wasn't sure what to expect. The owners were very, very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and the bed was good. There wasn't a good reading light by the bed. I only had breakfast one morning and it was o.k. -- fruit and a coffeecake type thing, plus meat (which I don't eat). Coffee was plentiful and good. I thought the value for the price was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waxwing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MortDonnelly, Owner at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

We hope if you come again for the Tarwheel Century you will give us another try. We love to have riders in for that event. Thank you for your comments~Ray & Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

What a beautiful location....Elizabeth City is a great place to visit & the Elizabeth City B &B is the perfect place to stay. The B & B is walking distance from all that Elizabeth City offers. The owners are very accommodating! Every morning there is a delicious cup coffee and a wonderful breakfast awaiting you. Great time, can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ochibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My wife and I spent another 3 nights at Elizabeth City B&B the weekend of October 28,29 and 30th. We were in town for the arts & crafts show and my wife was an exhibitor. We again experienced the best from our hosts especially the breakfast quisine and accomodations. We have already booked for next year. Staying here is akin to visiting your best friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrampaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My husband and I recently traveled to Elizabeth City to visit our grandchildren, and for the first time stayed in a Bed and Breakfast.
Whatever doubts or insecurities we may have had about staying at someone else's home were quickly erased by the warmth and charm of our hosts, Maureen and Ray. The house should be an historical site. Walking through the courtyard one enjoys a feeling of serenity and tranquility that quickly translates into a feeling of relaxation.
Our room was very spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. Maureen and Ray were perfect hosts, gracefully accommodating our numerous requests. The food, regarding quality, taste and presentation, was second to none. And the coffee they served merits a visit all by itself.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My wife and I spent two nights at the Elizabeth City B&B and would highly recommend it to others. We were in town for the annual arts and crafts show as my wife was an exhibitor along with two of her friends who are also weavers. Ray and Maureen are very pleasant and flexible with the breafast time. We needed to have an early breakfast both mornings as we needed to be at the art center early. This is the second year the Wise Weavers stayed at the Elizabeth City B&B and it will be our destination whenever an overnight stay is required in the area.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank GrampaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

what a great stay - great room (historic, very comfortable), firm new mattress so slept great; very warm & friendly owners who are social and helpful. Good price for what we got - honestly, the best B&B experience I've had in the USA. The Donnellys are running a tip top B&B. In town and historic downtown just outside of the front door - walk to the river, bar, restaurants. Was very quiet and no problems sleeping. Fantastic breakfast prepared by Ray and a good conversation afterwards in the historic dining room. Will definately return, already telling family and friend about it. Hoping to go back in spring and rent a kayak or canoe, perhaps bring the bikes for some rides around town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimg1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

The owners are wonderful people.
They are full of ideas about what to do while in Elizabeth City that are tailored to your own interests.
Breakfast is an experience of great food and conversation.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
1.2 mi away
Pond House Inn
Pond House Inn
#5 of 5 in Elizabeth City
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
534 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast

Address: 108 E Fearing St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4814
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range: £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to spend a relaxing time at the Elizabeth City Bed & Breakfast in historic Elizabeth City. We offer tastefully decorated rooms with television and private baths. The parlor or Lodge offers the opportunity to socialize with other guests over a glass of wine, soda, or tea.We are conveniently located near charming shops, restaurants, museums, golf courses and the "Harbor of Hospitality" around the banks of the Pasquotank River. Park your car or moor your boat for free for 48 hours to walk among the many historic homes and downtown buildings in this waterfront community. Then, come to enjoy an evening or longer at the quaint Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, a non-smoking environment.Enjoy some peaceful moments among the flowers and birds in the courtyard. In the warmer weather you may wish to have your gourmet breakfast in the courtyard. We also offer a comfortable dining room for your convenience. A hearty wholesome breakfast with freshly brewed coffees, fruits, pastries, and breakfast entrees is available every morning to start your day.Our B&B is located in one of the Elizabeth City's many historic districts, only a few short blocks from the water front area with its parks. Walking maps of the area are available to help you navigate through this peaceful city which serves as a gateway to the Outer Banks. Maybe some of you may walk down the same streets as Wilbur and Orville Wright did on their way into history at nearby Kill Devil Hills. We cordially invite you to come for a visit, to be our welcomed guests and to experience the hospitality of the area and The Elizabeth City Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing