We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and safe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabeth City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and safe”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are a military couple who stayed 2 nights at this B and B. They offer a generous 15% off for military year round, which is very much appreciated. We stayed in the loft outside the house. It is very roomy and spacious. The waterfront is within walking distance and so is the library and a lot of downtown shops and stores. Very convenient location and also very safe. Maureen and Ray are exceptional host and will adjust and be flexible to any request you have. Really appreciate their hospitality and love their unique flare.Over the two days we were here we enjoyed fresh fruit served with pecan pancakes served with sauteed caramel apples, maple syrup and sausage links. The next day was a fruit parfait, fresh blueberry cranberry muffin, along with a cheese spinach, squash, mushroom, omelette, with a sausage patty and a buttery crescent. The breakfast was AMAZING my only request is that I wished they opened a breakfast place I would be regular truly FANTASTIC!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha-Eric2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mort48, Owner at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. You really were great guests! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and all that our location has to offer to guests and visitors to our area. We think that it is so important for people who are moving to the area to stay at a bed and breakfast. We are able to provide guests with a personalized overview of Elizabeth City and all that it has to offer to visitors as well as people moving to our City. Best wishes on your relocation, hope to see you at all the community activities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were going to stay in one of the pet friendly hotels in town which are a bit scary, Elizabeth City B&B accepted pets so we stayed there for about the same cost as the chain motels and what a smart move. The place is very historic, nice, private and blocks to the waterfront and downtown areas for restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was amazing, too much food. I was really impressed, we will recommend this B&B to anyone coming to Elizabeth City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mort48, Owner at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay! We are one of the few lodgings in Elizabeth City that accepts pets so we do know how appreciative our guests traveling with pets are. We are fortunate to have a spacious guest room on the first floor with a private entrance that is perfect for pets and their owners. Our courtyard provides an enclosed area. This ensures that pet owners can be comfortable knowing that our other guests are not disturbed or inconvenienced in anyway. We have been accepting pets since we opened and we are happy to say that pets and their owners have been great guests!
It's hard for us to apologize for too much food at breakfast but we are glad that it was Amazing.
Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My friend and I, along with my aunt and uncle, stayed at the Elizabeth City B&B this past weekend. Maureen and Ray were wonderful hosts and immediately made us feel welcome and at home. Our rooms were beautiful and very spacious and each had a private bath. Breakfast was amazing - you haven't lived until you have had Maureen's fritatta! My friend and I are big coffee drinkers and the coffee was excellent and there were endless refills.

Maureen and Ray also gave us some great tips on places to check out while we were there. The B&B is in the heart of the Historic District and is a very short walk from the water and from the local museum (which is a great place to visit). I am considering a move to Elizabeth City and Maureen and Ray were a wealth of information regarding the area in general, the arts and other cultural activities in the area, along with details on the various neighborhoods and things to think about when moving to a new area. We can't wait to come and visit again - maybe for the Potato Festival!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mort48, Owner at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the Elizabeth City Bed & Breakfast. We take pride in the satisfaction of our guests and appreciate that positive reviews bring us more great guests. We enjoy sharing information about the area and always feel that visitors who are considering moving to an area should definitely consider staying at a Bed & Breakfast to "get a feel for the community".
As most of our coffee drinking guests know we are proud of our Elizabeth City Bed & Breakfast Coffee, that is roasted for us by our dear friends at Pirate Coffee. Our breakfasts are varied and always homemade. We are glad that all of you enjoyed your breakfast!
We look forward to your return visits to our community.
Thank you again, Ray & Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephens City, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband and I, along with our two sons, booked a fishing trip out of Elizabeth City and we decided to stay at the Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast for the weekend. We had a fantastic time. Ray and Maureen were so welcoming and we felt right at home immediately. We stayed above the lodge and there was more than enough room for us. The rooms are large with charming decor and are very clean. We loved the character and ambiance of the whole property. It is also conveniently located downtown. We were incredibly comfortable the whole weekend. My favorite part of the trip was breakfast each morning. We all enjoyed visiting with Ray and Maureen in the dining room and they served a delicious breakfast. We had to leave a little early the first morning for our fishing trip and Maureen was very kind to serve us breakfast a little earlier than normal. They were very flexible and accommodating and we felt incredibly spoiled. The entire family had a wonderful time staying here and we hope to be able to visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms above the lodge are very good for families with younger children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mort48, Owner at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you enjoyed all the fish that you caught. We are always happy to accommodate special requests for diets as well as breakfast times. The lodge is a great space for families visiting our area. Your sons were excellent guests and "perfect" gentlemen. We look forward to your return visit.
Ray and Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Ray and Maureen are so welcoming! They are a wealth of knowledge for activities, sights to see, restaurants and seem to know almost everyone in town! We can't wait to visit Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast again! What great Southern Hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdshamrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mort48, Owner at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our waterfront community has much for visitors to enjoy. We love to make recommendations for activities based on our guests' interests and there is something for almost everyone! Guests can enjoy our historic neighborhoods, our beautiful river, restaurants, art galleries, shops, and museums. Our close proximity to the Outer Banks, the Dismal Swamp and Merchant's Mill Pond abound with opportunities for bird watching, hiking, kayaking and all types of beach activities. Hope it won't be long until you return.
Ray and Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband's family reunion was happening in his parent's hometown of Elizabeth City, so we were all set to book the local chains until the reviews for the Elizabeth City Bed & Breakfast kept trumping all others. Luckily, the two room suite above the lodge was available for a busy bunch like our three daughters. We usually don't choose a B & B when we travel with the children so as not to bother other guests, but Ray returned my message and informed me that the suite was separate and quoted an affordable rate for the spacious accommodations. We are used to lodging in the smaller layout of other places that don't boast the luxury of a queen bed AND a twin bed plus ample living space. Breakfast was more than enough of delicious options with lovely tableware. Maureen even provided oatmeal daily since my daughters requested it. All of the nuances were well appreciated by my husband who enjoys long, hot, showers. The exhaust in each bathroom was a plus to get rid of the steam, but there were individual AC controls in the rooms that easily kept things comfortable. The courtyard was pleasant and Maureen directed us to a few fun places within walking distance to explore. We all had a most enjoyable weekend and were sent away after a genuine hug from the host. To quote General MacArthur, "We shall return."

Room Tip: The rooms above the lodge had great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mort48, Manager at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
It was a pleasure to have your three beautiful and well mannered daughters and their parents stay at our bed and breakfast. We were so glad that the accommodations met your needs. We look forward to you returning in the future. Several recent guests have commented on your review and we wanted to thank you for all o your positive comments on your stay. Our guests' satisfaction is always our number one priority . Thank you again and best wishes to all of you.
Ray & Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I had a wonderful experience staying at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast. I had a large, airy private room and bath, and a delicious and filling breakfast daily. I have food allergies and Maureen took care to serve an accommodating breakfast. By the end of the trip we we hugged goodbye like family. Since I have family in the area, I will be back to stay in the future, but I highly recommend the small town for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mort48, Owner at Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We truly enjoyed visiting with you and your parents. You made it easy to accommodate your dietary needs and we are always happy to do this for our guests. We hope it won't be long before you return to Elizabeth City. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Best wishes, Ray & Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elizabeth City hotels
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
479 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#4 of 9 in Elizabeth City
85 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#6 of 9 in Elizabeth City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast

Property: Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 108 E Fearing St, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-4814
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to spend a relaxing time at the Elizabeth City Bed & Breakfast in historic Elizabeth City. We offer tastefully decorated rooms with television and private baths. The parlor or Lodge offers the opportunity to socialize with other guests over a glass of wine, soda, or tea.We are conveniently located near charming shops, restaurants, museums, golf courses and the "Harbor of Hospitality" around the banks of the Pasquotank River. Park your car or moor your boat for free for 48 hours to walk among the many historic homes and downtown buildings in this waterfront community. Then, come to enjoy an evening or longer at the quaint Elizabeth City Bed and Breakfast, a non-smoking environment.Enjoy some peaceful moments among the flowers and birds in the courtyard. In the warmer weather you may wish to have your gourmet breakfast in the courtyard. We also offer a comfortable dining room for your convenience. A hearty wholesome breakfast with freshly brewed coffees, fruits, pastries, and breakfast entrees is available every morning to start your day.Our B&B is located in one of the Elizabeth City's many historic districts, only a few short blocks from the water front area with its parks. Walking maps of the area are available to help you navigate through this peaceful city which serves as a gateway to the Outer Banks. Maybe some of you may walk down the same streets as Wilbur and Orville Wright did on their way into history at nearby Kill Devil Hills. We cordially invite you to come for a visit, to be our welcomed guests and to experience the hospitality of the area and The Elizabeth City Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing