We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal”

Quality Seafood Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Elizabeth City, NC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

When in Rome, do as the locals do. That's my advice for any visitors to our fair city, of which over the years don't seem to make make their way to Quality. A fixture for decades, Quality was originally a fish market that I have to say about fifteen years ago (2000-ish) more than doubled the size of their building to incorporate a restaurant. Its origins as a fish market has been a great advantage over all its competitors, being that Quality has first crack at the local seafood catches from the fishing fleet at Wanchese. Quality's other advantage is due to their existence as a decades-old large-scale industrial processor of crabmeat, fish and oysters in their processing plant on Knobbs Creek Drive. Their products can be seen in the frozen food section of Food Lions among other chains. Going back to the restaurant portion of their business, the breading is very light, never excessive, so that you always know that you are not only tasting the seafood as it should be without being overpowered by that of the breading, but that you are also not paying for a meal that is 40 to 50 percent cornmeal. The seafood, fries and hush puppies are NEVER greasy (probably due to the light breading), a plus, considering the ounces of oil consumed dining with any of their competitors! A place well-known to 'us' locals, but a hidden gem for a tourist, well worth the extra effort to reach! :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ec_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very busy local restaurant”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Order at the counter - nice selection of seafoods and sides and reasonable prices. Crowded but friendly - big takeout business as well. Food was just okay - staff was very cordial.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of someone we met while walking around town while on the way to a different restaurant. The seafood is fresh and prepared to order by very nice folks. You can take out or eat in. Nothing fancy, but the steamed shrimp are nicely seasoned with Old Bay, and prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Seafood in town”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I see the other reviews and wonder if we ate at the same place! the food was so bad that my wife and I didnt finish our meal and walked out. it was a very busy place but the food was terrible.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Seafood, EC, NC”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food is very tasty and hot when received. Love the corn fritters. The selections are very appealing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAWS316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quality Seafood Market also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Quality Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing