We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good eastern North Carolina hot dogs and burgers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Franks Hot Dogs & Grll

Famous Franks Hot Dogs & Grll
Ranked #30 of 103 Restaurants in Elizabeth City
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good eastern North Carolina hot dogs and burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Each time I am in Elizabeth City I like to visit Franks. The hot dogs and hamburgers remind me of my childhood growing up in Easter North Carolina.Home made chili,great dogs and hand pattied burgers...can't go wrong here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Popular lunch spot.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

I've visited several times. My friend loves this place, but I only think it's OK. I love a good hot dog, but can't say these are the best. The place is a little ragged out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AAVWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyner NC
1 review
“Where everyone knows your name...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Yes, its a hot dog joint, yes it is laid back. It is the kind of place where the regulars all know each other, and there are LOTS of regulars at this wondeful little Hot Dog Joint. The owner is a wonderful lady, you will find most days of the serving the best Boars Heads Hot Dogs, Organic Angus Beef Monster Burgers, Boars Head Cajin Roast Beef Bomb Sandwiches and a menu full of other yummy goodies with the hugest smile on her face. By your second trip in she will know your name, and make you truly feel like you are at home. I highly recommend you stop by and try the food, and enjoy the family feel to this little gem of a Hot Dog Joint, where every one knows your name, atleast by the second visit, I promise, you will love it, and it will become one of your favorite places to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian252326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Mills, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More than a hole in the wall!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just driving by you probably wouldn't notice the place. Sure, it's on the corner of a busy intersection, but the parking lot is small and it's rather nondescript(it was once the ABC Store). If you decided to stop as you were cruising down the road you are pleasantly surprised. The food is great: Organic Hamburger Meat, Boar's Head Meats & Hot Dogs, Sweet Potato Fries, etc. They also have good prices on their beer, which isn't a huge selection, but it gets the job done!

The decor is very laid back...there is local school sports uniforms, Nascar & Redskins items as well as tons of advertising for local businesses. This is also an extremely Biker-friendly spot, where every Thursday Night is Biker Night.

They host biker-friendly events during the year, poker runs and the like; and they support our military as well!

The selection of hot dog options is incredible, as it should be, as this is primarily a hot dog joint. You really should give it a try, you won't be sorry!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJMartin_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never would've thought this would be my FAVORITE place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Well I only live two blocks from famous franks and I have never been there before. My boss and co-workers all tell me to go there and so I finally did. The inside is really nice and clean and has numerous arcade games to play while you wait for your food! I ordered a cheesburger and some cheesy tots and I have to say I looooovveeddd it! I ate everybite! The prices are great and the atmosphere is wonderful! I have to say it's my favorite place in town!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famous Franks Hot Dogs & Grll also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Famous Franks Hot Dogs & Grll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing