We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bob-B-Q - CLOSED

Bob-B-Q
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Bob-B-Q is now in the Circle II location and the name is now hyphenated. The lunch buffet is good, as I like their fried chicken, dumplings, & BBQ but... breakfast was most disappointing! Run somewhere else for this meal! The eggs were not cooked to order even on the 2nd attempt, the crispy-critter potatoes floated in oil, the grits as a replacement were cold with a lump of margarine sitting on top. Yuck! Complaining does no good towards getting a discount! Went here for Thanksgiving Buffet. Total waste of money. The food was cold - 15 mins. after opening! Seems the food was prepared ahead of time and placed over the warmers. Bad idea! I was not the only one that complained. The waitress said she'd go stir up the food. Not the right answer! Over-priced for the food served. This would not even pass health inspection rules! Have not been back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 16DeeB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There was a reason it was empty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had to visit the area to visit someone in the hospital. We took a break for lunch and visited the now Circle 2 by Bob-B-Q on Hughes Bld. It was about 12:30 and there was only one other table taken. We know why. The service was great, very friendly, however the food was no good. It came out luke warm at best and had no flavor. The bbq was dry. The other table was shaking their heads too. They told us "this used to be a great restaurant", a locals favorite. I have to say every restaurant can have a bad day, however, the volume of lunchtime business speaks volumes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chucky548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Not BBQ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Little selection as they ran out of some selections and never replenished. Not what I expected for the price. Although a buffet, I left unfulfilled.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
474 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Definitely the best barbecue in Elizabeth City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We LOVE their barbecue, definitely the best in not only Elizabeth City, but also in the surrounding areas (Hertford, Edenton). We always get take-out, so we can't rate the service (which we are sure is excellent!). Sides are quite varied and are excellent. The fried okra was superb!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
169 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“No frills, good barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

They serve delicious NC-style barbecue. Prices are reasonable, and you get a lot of food. Location is not fancy, but it's worth the trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bob-B-Q also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing