We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

La Tiendita Carniseria Y Taqueria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Durants Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
512 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have been going to the other Mexican places in Elizabeth city and thought the we OK. Then we found La Tiendita. This is the real deal. This is the way Mexican food should be done, not like the chains that try to serve Mexican. I will never go back to the chain places again. Really authentic food, reasonable quantities, very reasonable prices. Very small restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank trflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    13
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, FL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were driving north following our usual route and stopped for the evening at the nearby Hampton Inn. At our request the front staff suggested several restaurants where we could have dinner. They didn't mention LaTiendata which we identified using a Google search. When we inquired they admitted that they had dined there with friends and enjoyed the meal. We were very pleased with the quality of the meal and service. Freshly prepared and ample portions. We will be sure to visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Everyone enjoyed their meal. Carne asada platter & burrito. Carne asada was delicious. I ordered the street tacos lengua. It was mini size and lengua was ok. The churros and flan were delicious. I would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Navyfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly authentic Mexican food! !”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This is the best Mexican I have ever had. Chain restaurants need not apply! Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Fish tacos are awesome and I have yet to have anything I didn't absolutely love. Lots of a la carte so order what you like.

Helpful?
3 Thank Gabe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1,067 reviews
512 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Just OK Mexican food”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The restaurant, which shares space with a Mexican general store (interesting in itself), has some of the typical Mexican fare such as burritos, tacos, and carne asada. The refried beans served with my dish were light and tasty, but the rice was dry and crispy. My wife had a seafood stew that was mostly liquid and little seafood.

Warning: this restaurant ranks as #1 in Elizabeth City, which, to my mind, speaks very poorly of what Elizabeth City has to offer in its restaurant scene.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tiendita Carniseria Y Taqueria also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing