We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”

La Tiendita Carniseria Y Taqueria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nothing fancy. But great food at a good price. Best Mexican food in the area. Come as you are type of restaurant .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    13
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A corner of Mexico in Elizabeth City”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Authentic Mexican food! Come here and you'll learn what Tex-Mex is and why I don't eat it anymore! Authentic taqueria, with homemade Chorizo, awesome Corn Tortillas (and I hate corn tortillas everywhere else), and a store beside that has all the ingredients to go home and make some more. But why would you... it's that AWESOME!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank dfkelsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Too far from home
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not Good At All”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My son and I ate lunch at La Tiendita Carniseria Y Taqueria. Both of us thought that this restaurant was quite a bit below average. The service was slow. The waiter was not attentive. The salsa was not refilled nor were our drinks. Very little chicken was included in our entries.

The restaurant had a sign stating that they will be moving. I think that we will skip the new location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank a_good_night_sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most Authentic Mexican cuisine in the area!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Everything we had was amazing! Service was great. No long long wait and food came out quick and hot, made to order. Very large portions. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Caylies_mom630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local secret”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Great people great food. Try the"Mexican" corona. Tacos are great. The sandwich is unique and our favorite. Never a bad meal.

Helpful?
4 Thank tim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tiendita Carniseria Y Taqueria also viewed

Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
Elizabeth City, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing