We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the night”
Review of Travelers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelers Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Plant City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,614 helpful votes
“Good for the night”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family and I were looking for a place to stay for the night on a recent road trip. Since we'd be getting in late and leaving first thing in the morning, we didn't want to spend more than we had to on a hotel room. The Travelers Inn turned out to be a good fit.

Pros:

-Friendly staff
-Good location
-Clean room
-Nice bathroom
-Free wifi

Cons:

-rooms a little small
-25 cents to use the hotel ice machine
-price not bad, but not great either


I have included two pictures in my review. If you have any questions, please let me know.

If you found this review helpful, please let me know by clicking the button below! I would greatly appreciate it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bluecookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelersInn1211, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate the great review. We take pride in our rooms and staff and hope you come back and see us after we complete our renovation work! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Elizabeth City, NC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
8
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Staff was friendly. Room was a good size. The cleanliness of a somewhat dated bathroom, was my main concern. The hotel's location is the feature that sets it apart from other hotels in its category around Elizabeth City. It has much quieter surroundings then most others in the vicinity.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DeuceBagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelersInn1211, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We take pride in our clean comfortable rooms. We hope to see you soon in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halberstadt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well, the price was right, good value for the money. The receptionista was also very friendly and quite helpful regarding my questions about the dinner choices available around the hotel.

However, the room was not so nice. The carpet quite stained and most annoyingly, there was no light by the bed... first time ever...

Otherwise it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legrandviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelersInn1211, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We apologize for the inconvenience you had encountered. We are currently undergoing minor renovations which include changing our lighting styles in the room, as our brand new lamps are coming soon. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Landed in Elizabeth City late one Friday night, checked out choices on Trip Advisor and neither Day's nor Econo Lodge (in my price range) seemed palatable - I was worried about Travelers but I saw a room, it looked OK, plus the hotel posted reviews (OK, it was Zagat, which is more or less useless) but the fact that they posted reviews showed they cared. Long and short, the room was surprisingly clean and decently-appointed, and the place was quiet. Our stay was without incident. That may seem like faint praise, but I am posting this to provide some reassurance to others in my spot, trying to choose between some seemingly uninspired budget choices. Very friendly proprietor, btw.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philandcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelersInn1211, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your visit to Elizabeth City. We provide clean comfortable rooms at a competitive price. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This place while the facility is dated, the room was clean and didn't smell of smoke, bathroom was newly renovated. We stayed 2 nights and it made a good base for us to travel to the nearby Outer Banks where lodging was $150-$200 MORE per night.
What would I change? I'd clean the faucet knob on the tub (it wasn't cleaned when they rehabbed the bathroom) and I would change the carpeting - dark red in color and needful of a cleaning.
It was worth the $ we spent. Not sure we'd go again but then it's doubtful we'll be in that area again anytime soon. Worth considering.
NOTE: Great air conditioning in the room. The cleaning staff had it set on "hang meat" (cold enough for a butcher could hang a side of beef in there).

Room Tip: No particular helpful info.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaRamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelersInn1211, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken out to write a review. We are currently undergoing minor renovations which includes new color scheme, new lighting, followed by a complete room make over. We have notified the maint. department in regards to your concern and we appreciate the feedback! Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

There aren't many hotels in Elizabeth City and they're all fairly expensive considering the location. After being quoted $71 for a double room at the Econolodge, we ended up at the Traveler's Inn. It's a little ways out of town but closer to the highway if that's where you're coming from. We were quoted $55 plus taxes for a double by the nice Indian couple who run the place, but they accepted our flat $45 offer. We didn't know til later that a beachfront room with a free breakfast in nearby Kill Devil Hills was only $39 this time of year, but you do now!

We were pleasantly surprised by the room: it was large, clean, and quiet (except for the occasional police car speeding past with lights and siren on) and included HBO, a microwave, a mini fridge, hair dryer, coffee maker, local guide brochures, and an on-site ice maker (.25 a bucket) and soda machines.

We didn't see any of the filth other people have described; the room was actually quite clean except for some crumbs along the base of the beds. We recommend the hotel if you absolutely have to stay in Elizabeth City, otherwise head for Kill Devil Hills where they're abundant and cheaper in the off season.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelersInn1211, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are one of Elizabeth City's gems and take pride in our employees when our guests are satisfied. We take pride in our clean rooms. We hope you choose to stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Room was clean, freshly and nicely painted. New furniture and refrigerator. Property is well-lit and recently painted.
Air conditioning worked great... room was 55 degrees as someone has left it on for a while (on low!) Staff courteous and very helpful in morning when we asked about a breakfast place. If you need bagels, Elizabeth City doesn't have much but they sent us to the Farm Fresh which has a bakery and a Starbucks. Hotel is very convenient to the Dismal Swamp State Park, about 20 mins away. It's beautiful and has a boardwalk. We kayaked the Dismal Swamp Canal, awesome. Traveler's Inn is a simple room, relatively inexpensive but quite comfortable. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raleighkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelersInn1211, Manager at Travelers Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit in Elizabeth City, NC. We take pride in our clean,comfortable rooms. We hope you chose to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth City
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
Quality Inn Elizabeth City
#7 of 9 in Elizabeth City
83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
Comfort Inn Elizabeth City
#5 of 9 in Elizabeth City
88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elizabeth City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
Hampton Inn Elizabeth City
#1 of 9 in Elizabeth City
507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elizabeth City
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Inn

Property: Travelers Inn
Address: 1211 North Road Street, Elizabeth City, NC 27909-3358
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Elizabeth City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Elizabeth City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elizabeth City hotel minutes away from local attractions!This hotel is conveniently located across the street from the College of Albemarle and one block away from the Sentara Albemarle Medical Center. Historic Downtown Elizabeth City is minutes away from this hotel. The Travelers Inn of Elizabeth City offers smoking and non smoking rooms along with handicap accessible rooms. Our newly renovated guest rooms offer free high speed wireless internet, 39 inch LED TVs, complimentary in room coffee makers, microwave/refrigerators, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers, and HD cable TV with on-demand features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing