We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ground steak sandwich is great”
Review of Speedy Chef

Speedy Chef
Ranked #9 of 46 Restaurants in Elkin
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
shelby,nc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ground steak sandwich is great”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

It is a small place but they have great food. The ground steak sandwiches are awesome. They also have really good banana splits.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philip15Shelby_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Food”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The food at Speedy Chef is always consistently good. They make some great burgers & wings. It's always a little loud & chaotic in there, but I like it. The prices are reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tylerr653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a local eatery that is always busy so that lets you know it is a great place to eat. Fun for families. Food is great and service is good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We were traveling home to Raleigh from Sparta on a Sunday morning after a weekend in the NC mountains and could find nothing open for breakfast so wondered into Elkin. Desperate, we tried the Speedy Chef, which did not exactly beckon us from the road. Were we glad we did -- we were greeted warmly and made some selections from the counter, and as we did, the chef/owners talked to us from the kitchen with additional suggestions like multigrain pancakes and fresh sauteed apples. My husband ordered a western omelette and I had an egg on a biscuit with some of those sauteed apples on the side. Everything was fresh and delicious. The atmosphere was comfortable, and everything was bright and clean. We got the impression this was a family-run business and the owners cared about their customers. Ordering was difficult because as I was at the counter, I turned to see all these homemade pies and cakes in a display case behind me -- which makes me want to return to Elkin for dessert.
We were so lucky to happen on this place and wish we had a Speedy Chef near us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinetree88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HOT DOG!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Love the speedy chef. Always a favorite among the kids, super fast, and great prices, great hotdogs, etc...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Speedy Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing