We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crabs legs, boy howdy!”
Review of Harry's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Harry's Place
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Elkin
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gainesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crabs legs, boy howdy!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Don't miss this restaurant! The amount of crab legs for $20 was mind boggling. And soooo good! My husband loved his cheeseburger too. Definitely a diamond in the rough. Very, very casual atmosphere. Including a bucket by the table to toss in crab shells! Loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Can't Miss This Place”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My two daughters and I visited harry's last Friday and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were warned that a long wait was in store but we walked straight in and was seated. We were viviting for their famous cheeseburgers and we were not disappointed. Fresh from the grill and prepared exactly as we ordered them. We watched some of the other menu items coming out of the kitchen and were impressed with the crab legs and the steaks. Maybe next time.... Get there early to avoid the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston-salem
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Steak Out”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This little hole in the wall next to the railroad tracks is a diamond when it comes to its food. It is a beer joint with a restaurant inside. Everyone is so nice in there. People come on certain days because they know what the menu of the day will be. If you are looking for a great steak, this is the place to come. It is not your pick this side or that side on steak night, it is basically what you see is what you get, but it is absolutely delicious. If you can find it by the railroad tracks and a place to park when it is busy, it is worth the wait.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
307 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food & Service!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Let me start off by saying that I wish we lived near so we could go to Harry's more often. We were traveling through and local folks recommended it, saying they had just had dinner and it was great. To clear up some confusion from the past reviews, Harry's accepts cash and credit cards and it's open for lunch five days a week and for dinner on Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. We lucked out and for some reason there was not a long wait. Even so we had a beer at the rustic bar out front and meet a very friendly group of locals as well as the bartender. There is quite a beer selection. In the restaurant the menu is short but who needs all those choices when you have streak and crab legs. The house salad dressing was fabulous and served in a bottle at the table so you can have as much as you want. The meals come with a baked potato that is cooked to perfection as well as Texas toast and a salad. The portions were plentiful. My husband says the crab legs were some of the best he ever had, very sweet, meaty, and cooked just right.
The staff were very friendly which is much appreciated. A great place. We highly recommend Harry's Place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank plbbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Harry's Place”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

It is a small place that has a very small bar in the front and a restaurant with down home country food in the back. It is family owned and the food is good but a short menu and only open for dinners.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dalmati0nstati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Harry's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing