We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Place”
Review of Harry's Place

Harry's Place
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Elkin
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
North Carolina
Level Contributor
245 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Local Place”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Come for the lunch special, but be wRned you must come early or they will be sold out. And their hand crafted hamburgers Re worth the visit by themselves. This is a local place, down by the railroad tracks on the edge of toe town, don't be misled by the cinder block walls. The food here is wonderful whether for lunch or dinner. A must visit for anyone visiting downtown Elkin.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank flipflop48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This place has great food, but the wait is ridiculous. We waited 3 hours for a party of 10. Waitress kept saying we were next I finally said my goodbyes and went home.

Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy old school cooking by the tracks”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Harry's is not much to look at from the inside or out but do not judge a Book by it's cover...Some of the best home cookin in town for lunch and if coming in for Supper let JD cook ya a big ole Ribeye or Chopped Steak....you will be surprised

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whiskey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crabs legs, boy howdy!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Don't miss this restaurant! The amount of crab legs for $20 was mind boggling. And soooo good! My husband loved his cheeseburger too. Definitely a diamond in the rough. Very, very casual atmosphere. Including a bucket by the table to toss in crab shells! Loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Can't Miss This Place”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My two daughters and I visited harry's last Friday and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were warned that a long wait was in store but we walked straight in and was seated. We were viviting for their famous cheeseburgers and we were not disappointed. Fresh from the grill and prepared exactly as we ordered them. We watched some of the other menu items coming out of the kitchen and were impressed with the crab legs and the steaks. Maybe next time.... Get there early to avoid the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Harry's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing