We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“excellent Vacation”
4.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of Dry Dock

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
Studio, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Emerald Isle, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A FlipKey verified reviewer
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
RICHMOND VA
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 3 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scott
SC
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in July 2012
3 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 2 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 3 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
I'm happy to know that you'll be returning to Emerald Isle and Emerald Isle Realty for your next vacation, but I'm sorry to hear that this vacation wasn't exactly what you envisioned when making your plans. Please call us during your stay and let us know of your dissatisfaction so we can take steps to correct it. We look forward to seeing you 2013, please call us if we can be of additional assistance as you continue to plan your stay - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JVAW
JVAW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and close to beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This house is perfect for small families. We had 2 families each with 2 small children under the age of 8. Each side of the house has a master bedroom, a bathroom and a bedroom with two twin beds. This is great for families. We found the house to be very clean. We really wish it had a grill, many of the surrounding homes had grills. There are a few board games in the kitchen closet and a game system in one of the bedrooms. We were disappointed that there were not any useable beach chairs. Many were left behind, but were broken. Bring your own chairs. The house has a washer and dryer downstairs inside a closet. The house has a dishwasher, but it left white powder on everything. The house is a nice size and very comfortable. The towel service was great--plenty of towels for everyone. We had a thunderstorm one night and lost power briefly the house had no flashlights or candles...so bring your own if it’s a stormy season. The street is very quiet, The walk to the beach is close but not really easy. Other streets seem to have easier access via a boardwalk. This house's closet access was over a very high sand dune--difficult with a lot of "stuff"--kids did fine, but you can't get a stroller over it and a sand buggy with wheels wouldn't be much help either. I wish the street would upgrade to a boardwalk. After a long day in the sun we dreaded the walk home. There are a LOT of stairs with this house--if you have anyone who can't do stairs and they are very high. Just something people may need to be aware of. The main house is one level but to leave you must use one of two very high staircases. The town is nice, small restaurants close by and a great little water park for little kids was a perfect way to break up the week. For the price and location this was a nice house. We would recommend replacing the mattress in the ‘main’ master bedroom and maybe get a bigger sofa for the family room one that could seat a few more people. It really was never a problem because our kids were small. We would return—it was a great week and the price was right!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dry Dock and for your suggestions. I'm so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your week in Emerald Isle and I hope you'll revisit soon. Please call us when you begin making plans for your next vacation - 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Pennsylvania
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
4 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
runancyru...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wake up to the waves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

My boyfriend and I waited months upon months for this beach stay since we had such a memorable time renting a house from Emerald Isle Realty the previous year (2010). The house we rented this year is actually the house next to the one we rented last year. I would have given 5 stars to each rating section, but we had a disappointing shock after we walked into our beach house rental after checking in at the Emerald Isle Realty company. The house looked like a huge family with multiple young kids had just left like an hour prior to our arrival. Check-in is at 3p for Emerald Isle Realty beach houses. We checked in after 4:30p, so the beach house was suppose to be cleaned and ready before then. We headed right back to Emerald Isle Realty to report our dirty beach house; the staff immediately called the cleaning department to clean it up as soon as possible. Good thing we only live a few hours away and was not flying in from elsewhere! We were able to return to the beach house close to 6p. Yes, we were frustrated, but the cleaning ladies were extremely nice. The house was extremely clean by then. The cleanliness upon arrival is my reasoning for the one star for cleanliness. After that bump, the rest of our week went well. The two bedrooms with the queen size beds face the porch, so people will have a view of some of the oceanfront houses as well as the ocean. The two bedrooms with the twin beds face the rear part of the house, so there is privacy for the kids (or whoever else). The couch is very comfortable as well! Great kitchen space and dining table is very roomy. There is a nice fireplace if someone rents this place in late fall/winter. One bathroom connects one of the kids rooms to the master bedroom; the shower is very narrow but the jacuzzi is huge. The other bathroom is in the hallway; the shower is huge and had a tub. The washer and dryer is downstairs. There is a very tiny grill in the washer/dryer room. Beach access is a house down from the beach house, so very convenient if you have to carry a lot of items or have little kids. Dry Dock is a great vacation beach house. We will be back!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 1 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at Dry Dock. I'm sorry you arrived to an unclean property but it pleases me to know that our housekeeping department quickly came to the home and cleaned thoroughly and to your standards so you could enjoy your vacation, worry free.

I will let you know that check in is at 4 p.m. but as you stated, we do begin releasing keys at 3 p.m. as a courtesy. While most properties are clean and ready for our guests arrival by 4 p.m., both housekeeping and Island Essentials, the linen rental company, do have until 6 p.m. to complete cleaning and deliveries.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you'll continue staying with Emerald Isle Realty. Please call us when you'd like to revisit Emerald Isle and the Crystal Coast, 1-888-832-0140.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali D. and Family
PA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
18774675195
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing