We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mildew/Mold and Bugs in Room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Islander Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mildew/Mold and Bugs in Room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros: It is on the beach. Has a very nicely landscaped yard leading out to the beach. The pool is pretty nice. The outside is pretty.

Cons: The front desk was fairly rude the two times I spoke to them. I stayed in a "suite" which is just a long rectangle with a sad little divider between the beds and couch. The is a tv for each area which are on the same wall about 10 feet apart.

The room was kind of dirty and the door had a large gap at the bottom where you could see sunlight coming through. We had to keep a towel along the bottom of the door because bugs came in. Unfortunately anytime we were out the bugs could get in.

As previously mentioned in other reviews the "suite" claims a kitchenette but there is no sink. You brush you teeth at the "kitchenette sink." Not even a toaster to be found. No plates, silverware or cups.

The absolute worst part though is the room stays damp. It just feels moist when you are there. The long rectangle box of a "suite" has no windows except at the small front side of the rectangle. The bathroom is in the back and has no fan. The room constantly felt moist and the little wall mounted ac unit couldn't keep the moisture out. The box spring cover has mold/mildew on it.

There is no outside seating except for the eight "oceanfront rooms."

I was in Suite 138. I can't imagine why you would want to go to this hotel (I wouldn't go back).

It could be a nice little hotel. But it isn't.

Room Tip: Don't go. Maybe, maybe, maybe if you get a great deal you could try an ocean front room but I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    78
    36
    24
    29
See reviews for
112
70
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The only positive thing about this 'Inn' - more like a motel - was its location - on a nice bit of beach. Oh and the chairs around the pool were of good quality - which couldn't be said of the furniture in the rooms which was very old and in poor condition. The sofa was extremely frayed and the beds pretty uncomfortable. Even though the rooms are described as having a ;kitchenette' actually you are told you cannot cook in them and there is nothing other than a microwave - not even a toaster and no plates or silverware so you can't even make a light breakfast unless you bring these things yourselves. The 'kitchen' sink is also the bathroom sink as none is provided in the bathroom. IOverall, we and the other 10 people in our group in other rooms had a pretty awful experience here and none of us would think of returning. However the worst part of my experience was that I left a bikini behind - hanging on a hook in the bathroom. When I got home I called 3 times then emailed and no-one called me back on the number I had supplied in each of my messages until over a week after our trip ended. Eventually I spoke to the manager who was extremely rude and told me that they had no record of my calls or voicemails. She also told me that the housekeeper had called me and I had spoken to the her about the lost item (not sure how this would have happened if they had no record of my calls!). This was not true but the manager appeared unwilling to accept that I might be telling the truth about this. Finally she said they had done their best to resolve my problem (needless to say they didn't find the bikini!) and, she said, after all it was 'only a bikini'. Of course she accepted no responsibility whatsoever for its mysterious loss. I don't think this manager has attended any classes in customer service! As i said in my title - 'Don't go there!'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allybannaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at one of the less expensive rooms. The beach was right around the corner with a gorgeous view. The swimming pool overlooks the ocean with plenty of shade. the staff were very friendly and helpful. Each room was very clean and comfortable. The only problem was that they advertised a kitchenette in all the rooms which was a microwave and refrigerator. No cooking was allowed and their were no dishes. I would have planned differently had I known. All and all it was a great value for the money.

Room Tip: Oceanside if you can afford to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drumgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Took advantage of the weekday special stay two nights get the third free. Located on the beach although most rooms do not have a oceanfront view. Room was clean and spacious, front desk was very helpful. Very nice large pool and lounge area. Nice central location while the ferry to the lighthouse has moved from Atlantic beach to Harkers Island the drive is not bad stop in Beaufort (Bowfort) shopping and dining. See the wild horse's on Shackleford Banks during the ferry ride. The pier on Emerald Isle is free as is Fort Macon. A very pleasant two day vacation.

Room Tip: Look for ocean front room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level Contributor
229 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Very quiet even though it was totally booked. They have been very attentive to our every request. It sits right on the beach & has a great pool area with very nice chairs. A couple of downsides to it being an older property - bathroom didn't have a fan, a lid on the toilet & no shelving. Great lounging areas in the 2nd floor breezeway. Excellent for spying on the wedding going on! We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tjbss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My 15yo daughter and I stayed for a couple days and it was wonderful! The room was clean and spacious. We stayed on the bottom floor and the room was very quiet. The pool was great! It was very clean and the cabanas were nice. I was worried my teenage daughter would get bored but with the pool and ocean and all the close shops and restaurants she had a great time. We will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mersm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely appointed rooms with lots of general outdoor seating options. We got a double room suite second floor. Very clean carpets and floors.. Appointed w fridge microwave and keurig coffee maker with a few k cups to get u started. Plenty of vending and ice too Nice clean big pool and short walk to the beach. Cold ac in room w a fan that runs all the time (love!) And a box fan in the room too! LOVE the fact that they have assigned quiet hours.. 11p to 9a .no loud parties or obnoxious kids tearing around at all hours.. Really loved that. Most of the other guests were families w kids or seniors / quiet couples. Everyone was super considerate of other guests. Locals are very friendly too! Plot is adjacent to public beach access but we found that no problem as the cops hang out there also. Easy walk to kid friendly amenities and a short drive to nc aquarium or fort Macon to see salt marshes. Will def return if we visit this beach again..

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald Isle
15.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
18.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Clam Digger Inn
Clam Digger Inn
#5 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Swansboro / near Camp Lejeune at Bear Creek Gate
19.9 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn & Suites

Property: Islander Inn & Suites
Address: 102 Islander Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2428
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the adventure begin at our Emerald Isle North Carolina Hotel and Resort! The Islander Hotel & Resort provides an array of activities under the sun. Our oceanfront resort is full of energy and experiences that will create a lifetime of memories for all ages. Whether you want to soak up the beach or lounge by the pool, the Islander Hotel and Resort provides an atmosphere of relaxation and fun for all who visit. Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to our property, creating the possibility of noises and visual disruptions due to construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Islander Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Inn And Suites
Islander Hotel Emerald Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing