We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melt in your mouth ribs!”
Review of The Local Joint

The Local Joint
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Fairview
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairview, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Melt in your mouth ribs!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I visit the local joint at least one a month. Love to take friends and family with me. Top of the line food. Best staff. I am glad they are so close.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    49
    19
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
186 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“easter sunday lunch”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Food was good, service great. We all had breakfast items and all were cooked well.liked the diner feel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neenee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little jewel in Fairview, NC”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our experiences have been mainly breakfasts which have always been good with plentiful food. We like all of their Benedicts and have not been disappointed. We have had a couple of dinners to take out that were good. Particularly like their shrimp scampi with pasta. They serve local products and have beer and wine. Sunday breakfast times can get crowded and may entail a short wait but you can help yourself to coffee while waiting. In nice weather you can sit outside. It is a diner attached to a filling station and convenience store but don't let that fool you. The food is very good and the service efficient. Also, love their grits.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzie17NorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, Fast, & Delicious!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at a cabin close by and found ourselves at the Local Joint several times in a short stay. The wait staff was friendly and fast. There was always a seat available and food was out within 5 min of ordering. Not to mention the food was scrumpdillyumptious!

In all we had the local scrambler, the big bear sandwich, the standard breakfast, side of grits and biscuits and gravy....ALL OF IT was amazing!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best homefries EVER! Tasty breakfast!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First things first, The Local Joint is connected to a gas station and while the decor is diner-like and nice and the restaurant clean it still is an odd location which could cause low expectations.

Don't let that be the case! Loved our trip here and the location makes the awesome breakfast food that much better and unexpected. It was a great breakfast for us out-of-towners who stayed in Fairview while visiting Asheville, NC. If you are in Asheville, this restaurant is only 15-20 minutes outside of the downtown area and worth the trip.

Our waitress was friendly and attentive with multiple fresh, hot coffee refills while we checked out the menu. The wife enjoyed "The Fairview" benedict that is topped with avocado and sauteed spinach. Not your typical diner fare for sure! She loved it.

I got 1 pancake (awesome maple flavored butter), side of homefries, and a cheese and egg biscuit.

The homefries were ridiculous. They were crispy fried potato cubes and they were heavenly. Not sure how a restaurant makes such an ordinary menu item stand out so much, but this place accomplished that. The pancake was great too, wish I had room for more than one. Now the biscuit was just a tad fluffy for my tastes but it was homemade and fresh which was nice.

All in all a great place. We went here on a whim one morning, one of the few vacation restaurants we didn't plan out in advance and it turned out to be one of the meal highlights of our trip. Wish we would have made it back for dinner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CovedaleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local Joint also viewed

Fairview, North Carolina Mountains
Fairview, North Carolina Mountains
 
Fairview, North Carolina Mountains
Fairview, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Fairview, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Local Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing