We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Our Expectations !!”
Review of Inn at Wintersun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairview
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Wintersun
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairview B&B and Inns
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Exceeded Our Expectations !!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just returned from a visit to Asheville and had my first experience at Wintersun. Previously I have stayed at the Grove Park, the Biltmore, and the Grand Bohemian. None of these can compare to Wintersun for a romantic special getaway. Nina is a gracious hostess and the inn is beautiful and special. The grounds are immaculate and offer privacy and intimacy not available at any other Asheville destination. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I visited the Inn for our 5 year anniversary. It was a weekend of rest and relaxation. We spent Friday hiking the many trails on the property and visited a quaint little Amish market with awesome sandwiches for lunch. We had dinner at a great restaurant in the Biltmore village called "The Corner". Then we did the Candlelight tour of the Biltmore. Nina arranged for massage therapists to come out to the property for couples massages in our room.
Nina's hospitality was top notch, not to mention her breakfasts were delicious! She made us feel like the Inn was our home! We will definitely stay again on our next visit to Asheville!
Paul & Shannon Sanford
Charlotte, NC

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I rented Wintersun for the week of Thanksgiving from Nina. She was kind enough to let us have the entire Inn for a week. We had our 3 children and spouses and 7 grandchildren. It was the best Thanksgiving we have ever had. I cannot say enough about our experience but we definitely plan on going back again. As much as the Inn is fantastic the outdoors are even better. The fathers and grandchildren were outside all the time taking advantage of the beautiful grounds. The frisbee golf course was the childrens main attraction but we made our own rules as the ages were 7 to 11 years old. The wives were shopping in Asheville, which evidently is great, and we visited the Biltmore House on the Friday after Thanksgiving. The Inn itself is very comfortable and decorated to the max. The suites are all appointed perfectly. Please put this place on the top of your list if you ever plan on visiting the Asheville area.

David Brewer
Charlotte, NC

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic but but I highky recommend the Luxury Suite with the steam and hot tube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayette, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We had the privilege of celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary at Wintersun. WOW!! Beautiful inn and grounds! Stayed in the Suite and it is UNBELIEVABLE!! Enjoyed walking and exploring the grounds. Breakfast was wonderful each day! Very private, quiet and peaceful...just what we were looking for! We HIGHLY recommend the inn...you won't be disappointed! IAlso be sure and eat the The Local Joint...great!) Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Wintersun Suite is what dreams are made of !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarenBynum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Inn at Wintersun is a special place, it is run with love and care, simplicity and ease. The rooms are very comfortable, breakfast was great, the grounds are lovely and have many trails and even a labyrinth. If you are looking for a cozy and beautiful place to stay close to Asheville, I can highly recommend the Inn at Wintersun!

Room Tip: It's a small Inn, all the rooms were beautiful! If you are in for luxury the suite downstairs lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

What a hidden gem!!!! We had the privilege of staying in the Suite, and all I can say is SUPER WOW!!! Have never experienced a suite like this ever!! An amazing section of the Inn that will take your breath away!!! Promise!!!
From stunning grounds, walking trails, sculptures, waterfall, streams, winding road up to the Inn on the hill, the drive alone is just spectacular!! Mother nature surrounds you every where you turn.
You are among the Blue Ridge Mountains, but not far away from Biltmore House or downtown. A wonderful gift everyone should experience and "gift" to others.
Will definitely return and stay longer. Oh, don't forget the wonderful fireplaces, library, stunning staircase, and amazing kitchen!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Nina is as sweet as she can be, most gracious!!!

Room Tip: The suite is heavenly!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativeplanner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our stay was heavenly! The grounds are unbelievable, and the inn is luxuriously comfortable. The waterfall, the trails,the views from the porch, they are all wonderful. Clean and tidy. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairview
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
13.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
Red Roof Inn Asheville West
#36 of 65 in Asheville
539 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Brookstone Lodge
Brookstone Lodge
#35 of 65 in Asheville
857 reviews
9.8 mi away
Haywood Park Hotel
Haywood Park Hotel
#2 of 65 in Asheville
724 reviews
10.4 mi away
Village Hotel on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Wintersun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wintersun

Property: Inn at Wintersun
Address: 1 Wintersun Ln, Fairview, NC 28730-8515
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fairview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Asheville. Close to Perfect. "Romantic Mountain Elegance" Welcome to The Inn at WinterSun where you will be treated as part of our family. We hope to make your experience here as comfortable as you would feel in your own home. Start your morning with a delicious homemade breakfast prepared by Nina, the Innkeeper/Owner. Breakfast is served seven days a week at 9:00am in our Formal Dining Room.Don’t worry about all those extra calories because after indulging, you can easily work it off by enjoying the beauty of the estate. We are surrounded by 117 acres of wooded hiking trails, open meadows, creeks and streams.Yes, there are trout in Cane Creek, so remember to bring a fishing pole.You are always welcome in the kitchen should you like a snack… or pack a little picnic lunch to enjoy the peace and harmony of nature! Should you want to take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway, it's just 6 miles away, downtown Asheville is about 8 miles. There is so much to do and see in Asheville and the surrounding areas, you’ll always find plenty to do and explore. If you are hoping to recharge and get some peace and quiet, just stay at the Inn and enjoy the sounds of nature with a glass of wine on the Veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Wintersun Hotel Fairview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing