We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Faison”
Review of Southern Exposure - CLOSED

Southern Exposure
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Bolivia, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in Faison”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A surprise about 3 miles off I-40 about half way between Raleigh and Wilmington. Didn't expect much considering the area but a very quaint little place with unexpected good food, good menu and nice wine list. Very good and prompt service. Will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dblack9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service but great food.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Service was VERY slow, they were out of a few wine selections, but the food was excellent. Very surprised to find the quality and presentation in such a rural environment. If the service was better (more attentive, polite, not as slow to check on us), I could see this becoming more than what it currently is. I was told they have been in business for 9 years. Sad to see the customer volume fair at best. The quality and taste should keep a line of customers out the door every night, but I can see the lacking customer service skills keeping return visits minimal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeroniho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faison, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Written up in Our State (NC), mentioned in Southern Living, Raleigh News and Observer, etc.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Here are the facts: I've traveled to nearly all 50 states and all the big cities in the US and in Canada and eaten ethnic and regional foods of all kinds along the way. I've eaten my way through all the major cities of Europe over and over, and been to the gastronomic capitals of the world. So not to brag, but my palate can tell the difference between excellent and mediocre foods. S.E. makes the cut for excellent food and fine service in a pleasant atmosphere. And in the 8+ years they have been open, and after spending 7k plus with them over the years (just two of us...so that is a lots of meals!), it is obvious I'm more than a casual food critic. The specials are always top notch (the fresh fish is my favorite), and the soups.....well I just think they need to start their own line and go national. They are always exceptional. The crabcakes are the best I've eaten....just ask my friend from Spain, who tried in vain in one of her trips to America to find a decent crabcake in an upscale restaurant in NY and one in Atlanta. She finally found herself in bliss after eating the ones at SE. As far as the few criticisms of this restaurant are concerned, I noticed several were clustered together in terms of the review date....obviously an orchestrated campaign by either an unfortunate and rare poor experience, or else by a jerk and their friends or maybe even a disgruntled employee. It is obvious some locals in this rural town (population 975) do not dine out at higher end restaurants often, because they seem either unaware of regional pricing of high quality food, or think they should be dining at a slop house all-you-can-eat buffet, where they ring a bell like a cattle call to alert the patrons of the "fresh" mass produced garbage that passes for good food to the average American. There is not a better restaurant anywhere near this town that can compete. There are only 3 places places within 50 miles I know of that have similar top trained chefs (in fairness they are great too). This restaurant, along with those, appeared in a 2012 Raleigh News and Observer feature story on the rise of upscale restauarants in rural NC and their utilization of locally grown produce and meats: http://www.newsobserver.com/2012/07/28/2225080/eat-well-in-eastern-north-carolina.html
This restauarant is well worth a try. One recommendation is to arrive early to get the specials. They use only the best ingredients and as in all good restaurants demand sometimes exceeds supply. (Disclaimer: I have no financal interest in this or any other local business...just a desire to see good local restaurants succeed).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank F00djunke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner in a very relaxing environment.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful meal here while visiting family in the area. Everything was amazing. Beautiful atmosphere and service was top notch. The shrimp pasta was especially enjoyed by our youngest daughter. Oldest daughter and I shared the fillet with the Mac n' cheese...to borrow from Rachel Ray, Yum-O!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grits_are_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“questionable experience”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

this was not our first visit;based on previous ones, we went on Mother's Day expecting a special experience. Don't know what happened but service was terrible..tables being set up when we arrived(we were 2nd to arrive); food served in bits & pieces. Specials (of which there were 3) included 4 steaks (left from Friday/ Sat. nite?) only 4?? by time our order was taken only1 was left...my Crab Quiche had burnt crust, couldn't even cut with a fork & the side of fruit was a 2? oz. cup of sliced strawberries. Asparagus was tough. People arriving after us were standing or sitting on benches inside & out on sidewalk while as many as 4/5 empty tables were sitting there inside.Our meal took 2 plus hrs. ?not enough wait staff; ?not enough kitchen staff/chef.. or just poor organization? this was 11:30 in am to 1:45 pm. Advise not to try on a "Holiday" but it will be a long time before trying again
P.S. we saw some people leave after waiting > an hour for a table. Lot of
people had children with them. Maybe they should try reservations ? for occasions like this. Many people had been there before & were very disappointed.....this time

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Exposure also viewed

Faison, North Carolina Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing