We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really an airport shuttle” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not really an airport shuttle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel itself is fine. It costs about $25/night more than nearby hotels, the attraction being a shuttle from the airport. However, what they don't publicize online or on their signs at the airport is that the shuttle will take any guest anywhere within 3 miles. Great if you are the guest wanting 45 minutes at Walmart late on a Monday night. Not great if you're a woman waiting alone at the airport for 45 minutes as it empties out while said guest is at Walmart with the only driver waiting. When I asked if I could just get a cab and be reimbursed, I was told very curtly the manager will not do that, in a way that let me know I was not the only person who had experienced this. I had paid more to stay here to avoid a rental car for one night. Should have definitely gotten the rental car and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XCountryFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    54
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
50
43
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
534 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Not a destination hotel. Average hotel, with good breakfast. Back rooms have a lot of noise from roadway so once again, you need to be insistent when checking in for a side away from road.Ck on hotel map with the front desk.Wi-fi worked and shuttle to airport runs every 15 mins, 24/7, which worked well. Some local restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srimanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldGM1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Srimanone
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your visit with the Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations. The hotel has installed low noise windows on the side of the hotel closest to the interstate. I hope you will visit us again if your travels bring you back to the Asheville area.
Tom O’Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plesant Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
132 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Again, a "non-smoking" hotel that observes it in the breach (smoking areas right in front of room air conditioners, for example). Stale smoke smell in my room. Room lighting poor. Internet OK. Shower a bit weak but OK. Bathroom lighting poor. Electronic lock keys frequently failed. Furniture a little banged up. This is common with quite a few areas in the hotel (look at the elevator, for example). This used to be a very nice place and it still isn't bad but management needs to clean up, paint up, fix up and keep it that way! It could and should be better. It was and room rates were a lot cheaper. This isn't to say the place is horrible -- far from it -- but again no excuse for failure to keep it up to as good as it was on the day it opened.

Good breakfast bar with an early start which is helpful for travelers. Only one outlet at the desk in the room.

Room Tip: Try to find a room that isn't smelly or banged up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 6530bx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldGM1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
6530bx4
Thank you for visiting the Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport. I’m sorry to hear that you found some of the areas in the property that did not meet your standards. We will take your comments and use them to improve our operations. I do hope you will stop by again if your travels bring you back to the Asheville area.
Tom O’Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was a great room. Nice pool that my son took full advantage of in the morning. It was a last minute trip and we were not disappoint. The breakfast was very well done and the staff at the desk and housekeeping were very nice and accommodating. I just wish we would have booked two nights instead of one. Great location...close enough to Asheville. We parked at visitor center and took the trolley around town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have personally stayed at this hotel for business. Now that I live in Asheville, I book my out of town guests here as well. All my guests have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It may not look like much from the outside, but It is clean and comfortable. It also does not have much road noise at all. A restaurant/cafeteria right across the street is very convenient and it is directly across form the Airport. I stayed here with my golf buddies recently and we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldGM1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Erik B
Thank you for sharing you recent experiences with us. We hope that you will continue to use our property for your future lodging needs. I would also like to welcome you to Asheville. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Tom O’Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff was great. The facility was OK, not great, but OK. I have stayed in worse looking Fairfield Inns in the last two years.

But many details were lacking. No extra plugs in our suite room. I travel with power bars and multiple extension cords, but if you don't lug that stuff around, then you can to plug in a computer and charge your phone and little else in the next room. If you pay for a suite, you won't find a single easily accessible plug anywhere near the bed. (I am ruling out removing the mattress or the dresser with the television on it.)

The wifi was slow and iffy. Of course they had advertised 'Free High-speed Wifi.' But if you wanted something that would download emails or open sites without a wait, then you had to pay another $5 a day. Natch! It's a Marriott. Up-charges abound!

I stayed here because I have a lot of Marriott points and travel extensively. But I will be looking for another option next time I am in the Fletcher NC area. Even if I have to drive a bit more.

Room Tip: Bring a hotspot and lots of extension cords.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldGM1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
J B
Thank your sharing your comments regarding your stay with the Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport. We value your comments and will look into ways to solve the shortage of plugs near the bed in the suite sleeping area. We thank once again your for your visit and appreciate you sharing your experience with us.
Tom O’Neal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We are Elite Gold members of Marriott and checked into this hotel over the weekend. The hotel is a level 4 and it certainly doesn't appear that way. We were greeted by the awful smell of pool chemicals that seemed to permeate the entire hotel. Our room was a decent size (we were not offered an upgrade) but it definitely had quite a bit of wear and tear.
The bathroom was pretty gross, so much wear and tear (see attached photographs). We couldn't believe that Marriott allowed the property to be managed so poorly. The crib arrived without bedding and we weren't given any either. The staff was pleasant enough but were not particularly interested in assisting us with our requests. It was a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BagLadyAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldGM1, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
BagLadyATL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the problems that you encountered in your guest bathroom. Our staff is currently checking all of our bathrooms to locate this problem. If you ever experience this type of problem during a visit please feel free to reach out to our staff to correct the issue. Thank you once again for bringing this problem to our attention and I apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fletcher
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville-I-26
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Asheville Airport
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Airport
Clarion Inn Airport
#3 of 7 in Fletcher
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Asheville Airport
3.5 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport

Property: Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport
Address: 31 Airport Park Rd, Fletcher, NC 28732-8623
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fletcher
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Asheville Hotel Fletcher
Fairfield Inn Fletcher
Fairfield Fletcher
Fletcher Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing