We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk from the airport to your home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River
Ranked #1 of 2 Fletcher B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Walk from the airport to your home away from home”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Gene and Bob spoiled us during our stay at the B&B. Breakfast is made when you want it, by a chef that worked at the Biltmore Estate for 7 years (Gene). Everything about this place is unique and original, including the acorn decorated everything and the edible acorn chocolates. If you're lucky you will recieve the best chocolate chip cookies on your nightstand while you are out during the night exploring Asheville. Have fun, and know that if you stay here you will not want to return to your other home.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredofChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We spent two nights at the Acorn Bed & Breakfast. We knew we were in for a treat when we drove up and found a sign with our names on it to welcome us. We stayed in the Rose Room, which was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Gene and Bob are hands-on innkeepers, willing to take the time to sit and talk, provide advice on the area, etc. Gene recommended a restaurant and even made the reservations for us. We decided to take in an outdoor concert in Hendersonville, and they provided us with folding chairs to take along. And breakfasts! The menu changes daily, and it's all wonderful. Gene is a professional chef, and you will not go away from the table hungry. Typical of the kind of service, Gene overheard me tell my husband at breakfast the last monring how much our daughter would have loved his homemade apple butter. Next thing I knew, there was a little jar on the table next to me! Right now, we're trying to pick a date to go back this summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sopranolynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, PA
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2009

This was an excellent B&B. Upon arrival there was a welcome sign out front with our names on it. Warm fresh cookies waiting for us when we got in. Our room was wonderful, spacious, and beautifully appointed. It had it's own private bath and door to the deck outside. I cannot say enough about Gene's cooking, he is a wonderful chef and the breakfasts were excellent and plentiful. Gene and Bob made our stay fun, relaxing. They were the first hosts of a B&B that I've ever stayed at that actually took the time to sit and talk with you, other B&B's I've stayed at they have rarely said more than high to you, or maybe talked to you while you were served breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jax
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We traveled to visit friends in Asheville over the Christmas Holiday. The Acorn was recommended by a friend and I cant thank her enough. Staying at the Acorn was truly the best experience I have had in any hotel or bed and breakfast. The Innkeepers were so attentive and interested in all of the family. There was a Christmas tree in every room decorated in different themes. The food was wonderful!!!!
There were homemade chocolates in a cozy box for us to enjoy after a long day touring the Asheville area. .What a special place, I am there again for sure!!!!

  • Liked — The special attention
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tdk04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2008

I met old friends for Christmas, we all stayed at the Acorn Inn and had a FABULOUS time! The Innkeepers are what made it special for us and the attention to detail was amazing. There was a Christmas tree in every room. The place was so festive and nicely decorated, breakfast was out of this world. I WILL be back.!!

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — I should have brought my pet... next time..!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmandue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

Our one nights stay at the Acorn Bed & Breakfast was heavenly! It was mid way thru a weeks vacation in the Asheville area. We were greeted as we pulled into the drive.....and got assistance with our bags. A first for us....and we have stayed at over 15 B & B's in the past six years. My husband & I had the entire house to ourselves. The family dogs made us feel welcome. The home is tastefully decorated....with interesting stories to go along with many of the items. Just ask. They will be happy to share with you. We ventured to town for dinner and upon our return found dark chocolates in the shape of acorns on the bed. All the little touches make it a wonderful stay! We slept very well in the Rose Room and awoke to delicious aromas coming from the kitchen. Pumpkin Pancakes had been on the menu, but it was quickly changed to a Farmers Omlette when they found out my husband wasn't too fond of pumpkin. Not sure what we enjoyed more at breakfast.... the food or the conversation. Both were equally satisfying.

  • Liked — Their attention to detail and how special you felt in their home.
  • Disliked — That we only stayed one night!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2008

The innkeepers of Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River (the address is in Fletcher, NC) met us in the driveway to welcome us and help with our bags. We were about an hour late and they even called my cell phone to check on us in case we got lost!

We came to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary and stayed in the Rose Room where there are lots of wedding pictures hung on the walls. The room was beautiful with a canopy bed covered with fluffy, romantic linens. We had a private bathroom with soft turkish towels and bathrobes at the ready!

We felt really special throughout the whole stay. Gene (one of the innkeepers) is a chef by trade and the breakfast he served was just incredible! The fresh fruit in a watermelon "bowl" was amazing, the coffee wonderful, bacon, sausage, breads, french toast, etc. What wonderful smells to wake up to!

The deck on the back of the B&B overlooks a wooded area that is nicely kept - flowers and feeders attract all sorts of birds. Even in early August, it was a beautiful place to be - not too hot to enjoy the outdoors.

The personal touches just abound at the Acorn Bed & Breakfast. We even received a special gift in honor of our anniversary!

We very highly recommend the Acorn B&B for couples, groups of friends, and family gatherings. Gene and Bob will accomodate you beyond what you would think to ask for.

  • Liked — The personal touches
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scmessers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fletcher
4.1 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville-I-26
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Asheville Airport
5.4 mi away
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
10.5 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River

Property: Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River
Address: 5136 Old Haywood Road, Fletcher, NC 28732
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fletcher
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fletcher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Acorn Bed and Breakfast at Mills River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing