We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! Stay away from this one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Airport
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
Reviewed 22 July 2007

My husband and I have stayed at some of the most impressive hotels in the world, we are no strangers to travelling. However, we made the mistake of booking at this hotel (glorified motel) twice, simply for the convenient location. Our first experience was during the evacuation from hurricane Wilma (we were already quite stressed as one can imagine), we had called ahead, made a reservation as they allowed pets and we had our cats with us. Check in was rudimentary, the staff seemingly too busy visiting with each other to take care of their customers (others were also waiting), and when we were finally taken care of, we were rather brusquely sent on our way. No bellhops here, or perhaps they were off duty...I will say the room was clean and quiet and no smells (as it was designated a "pet room"), but luckily, as my husband was checking his banking online, he noticed a double charge from the hotel's front desk posted just minutes before....(we paid cash for this room), this was not a charge such as one usually posted for a deposit or room service charges, but a full room charge, twice. My husband and I went immediately to the front desk and requested to speak to the manager on duty, who pulled up our invoice and questioned the girl who took our cash payment for the room. She stated (in front of us) as she pulled the cash from her pocket "Oh, I just didn't post it yet". Sound a little fishy? I hope she was fired. No apologies, though the manager did straighten the billing out. I think our opinion would have been much better had this not happened, which leads me to our second reservation (giving them the benefit of the doubt) was made as a matter of convenience and proximity to the airport, as we needed to pick up a rental car from the airport upon our arrival, was made this past February. Due to our connecting flight from Atlanta being cancelled (another nightmare in itself) we had to spend the night in Atlanta. The airline sent us to a Holiday Inn there, where we immediately called to cancel our reservation at the Asheville H.I.. We were told this was absolutely not possible and we would be charged for the room. I understand corporate policies, but I feel in an instance like this some consideration should be taken. The person we spoke to was incredibly rude and stated if we didn't like it we could call the corporate office, but she was still charging us (wonder if it was the same girl who took our cash)...The concierge at the Holiday Inn in Atlanta overheard our conversation and was so upset he contacted the same woman, received the same story, and HE called the corporate office, explaining our situation, and that we were, indeed stranded in Atlanta that evening. Our charge was erased. That man is an angel in my book. I feel the place in Asheville would be fine if you don't want a luxury hotel and the indifferent staff doesn't bother you. Caveat Emptor: watch your wallet, don't pay cash, and don't book in advance. I'd never go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank flakeysrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2007

Overall I would stay at this hotel again. The price we got was really good. We booked a nonrefundable rate of about $65/night. We stayed with our 2 kids for four nights. The room was very clean. The staff was very accommodating. It was extremely quiet except on Friday night when some teenyboppers decided to randomly knock on doors and run through the halls screaming. Once we called the front desk to complain it stopped.

Three minor complaints. First, no free breakfast. In fact it was $10/pp for the buffet. With four of us I was not about to spend $40 a day just on breakfast. Second, why no exhaust fans in bathrooms? With four people taking showers it gets pretty steamy in there. Third, the showers made a really weird noise sometimes--a high pitched squeal that was pretty loud. I could hear it coming from other rooms too.

So none of those complaints would keep me from recommending the place. Relatives stayed in four other rooms and all were equally clean and nice. No one had any real complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank janiebelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

I agree 100% with the review regarding the RUDE staff! I called to inquire as to the pet policy of this hotel. Becky could only tell me there is a non-refundable $50 fee but could not tell me if there was a size limit or a number limit. She became very sarcastic when she was unable to provide the information. When I asked to speak with a manager who could provide the information, I was placed on hold for quite some time and then was hung up on by Becky. When I called back she put me on hold again; Kenneth then came on the phone reporting to be a manager. He was able to provide the information but was also very rude! I'm glad I found this out BEFORE we stayed at this location unlike the unfortunate person who wrote the last review!

Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
Thank hootie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta
14
Reviewed 1 June 2006

I thought it was maybe just me and I was grumpy, but another guest confirmed that the front desk staff at this hotel set new records for rudeness. When I checked in the desk manager would not look at me, informed me that I was too early (1 pm), that she could not give me an upstairs room, and generally made me feel as if I was putting her out tremendously. Finally she slapped down a key and I left. Later that evening, when I returned to the hotel at around 11 pm, the desk clerk looked up at me and snapped "we're sold out." I told her I was a guest and she looked away. The hostess at the "Cafe" also seemed to busy or unhappy to bother to be courteous. When I asked her to refill the cofee pot provided for the guests; she made a face and walked away. On the other hand, the bartender at the "Hanger" bar was a pleasant woman and somewhat made up for the others. But once bit, twice shy as they say, so I'll avoid Holiday Inns in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fletcher
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Asheville Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Asheville Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville-I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport
9.9 mi away
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
Days Inn Asheville/Mall
#49 of 66 in Asheville
1,171 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Airport

Address: 550 Airport Rd, Fletcher, NC 28732-8618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fletcher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn Airport welcomes you to Western North Carolina! Centrally located between Asheville, Hendersonville and Brevard, NC, we offer a perfect location for business and leisure travelers. The Asheville Regional Airport (AVL) is a quarter mile from the Clarion Inn Airport and we offer complimentary airport shuttle. Corporate travelers will enjoy our close proximity to several major corporations. 150 Guest Rooms. Indoor/Outdoor Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Airport Hotel Fletcher

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing