We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly & economical, but dirty & rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dog friendly & economical, but dirty & rundown”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were in town for a dog show and were told to stay at the Econo Lodge in Fletcher by our kennel club.

It was very conveniently located to the show site; however, the room itself was extremely dirty and rundown.

My husband's comment was that it was "like camping" which should give you a general idea of the setting.

The cons: The carpet was filthy (I mean to the point of always wearing either socks or shoes); carpeted baseboards were peeling off of the walls; bedspreads & blankets were thin, worn out, ancient & dirty; bathroom could stand to be scoured. The communal trashcans were overflowing--they knew they were sold out over the dog show weekend, so one would have thought they would keep up with the trash removal rather than let it overflow to the point of guests stacking their trash next to the trashcan--pretty gross not to mention the smell that accompanied all of the waste. They still use little bars of soap--better off bringing your own soap/body wash, shampoo, handsoap, etc. The beds are pretty darn bad--low spots, high spots, in areas you can feel the springs--and the pillows are extremely hard & lumpy. No covering over the boxspring, which just seemed weird & unprofessional, nor was their a mattress cover, which kind of skeeved us out as there's no telling what all has been on that surface/fabric. Headboards were so dusty that I had to wipe them down.

The pros: It was as advertised--the room we reserved had 2 beds, was dog friendly, had a fridge & all the other basics of a hotel room, and it did have a very nice pool & pool area. There's a ton of grass for dog walking, which is great for those with dogs. The office/lobby area was quite clean and the person on duty for checkout on Sunday was very friendly and helpful. (I should note that the poor woman who was dealing with Friday night check-ins was overwhelmed and had to deal with some not-so-nice guests who basically put her over the edge and into a pretty foul mood; fortunately for me, my husband had to interact with her; however, she got us checked in quickly which we appreciated.) It's very conveniently located to restaurants (McD's, Ruby Tuesday, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel, Lone Star Steakhouse) and shops (Target--which does sell some groceries even though it's not called a SUPERTarget--Michael's, Big Lots, Marshall's, Lowe's, Pier One, Old Navy, World Market); which is nice when you aren't staying at a place that has a kitchen, although our room did have a functioning dorm-size refrigerator. The A/C unit worked well.

In short, if you're not a complete germaphobe and can overlook certain items (as mentioned in the cons above), the Econo Lodge in Fletcher is fine for a night or two.

The location really is the selling point!

Note: We had friends in rooms closer to the pool that appeared to be more up to date, so ask to be near/facing the pool!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool, preferably on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittsHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
16
7
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The 1st room we got was supposed to be non-smoking but it wasn't, so the desk clerk changed us to one that didn't have a smoky smell. She was very nice and put us on the pool side where we could see our truck and trailer in the vacant parking lot outside our window. The room was clean and comfortable. All in all, we were very satisfied with the room and the price was decent.

Room Tip: If you have a truck/trailer this is a good place to park it. There is a an entire large vacant park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good value, safe location, and great staff. During the Christmas holidays the past three years, I've had multi-day stays here in order to visit family. Is it the Ritz or even a Comfort Inn? Nope, but...it's clean and comfortable; the wifi is swift; the TV has a good picture and plenty of channels; the water pressure in the shower is outstanding; the microwave and refrigerator are clean and functioning; and the heating/air unit performs as required. Are the sheets a bit threadbare; the carpet somewhat stained, the continental breakfast perfunctory, and the decor dated? Indeed, but it's a budget motel for goodness sakes, and it only cost me $201 total for a four-night stay using my AAA discount. Oh, a feature I especially liked in my room was an easily accessible, 6-plug electric outlet that incorporated a night light and provided plenty of plugs for my chargers and electronics.

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs on the swimming pool side and away from the stairs because it's quiet...but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

If you want a place to lay your head then this will do. We where in town for a the SRA horse event. Because we knew most of our time would not be spent in the hotel we went for price. You do get whatyou pay for in this case with friendly staff, good service. It's a much older hotel with very used mattresses and old style TV but no bed bugs. It has that older smell to it but all always carry perfume with me so that took it right away. Perfect distance to the area, airport (if needed) food and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

On a one-night stay, I want a room that is clean, well-maintained and secure for a good price. OK, the EconoLodge was clean. It did have several maintenance issues but they were cosmetic rather than health or security problems. There was a microwave and refrigerator in the room and they provided a breakfast ( starchy and sugary but with coffee!). So there were perks but the markup for them seemed rather high. Not my favorite place but I'd stay there again if a better place was not available.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed one nite on our way to Myrtle Beach. We had a free nite with our choice privilege card. The room is dated and not really really clean, however the sheets were clean and this motel was NOT on bed bug registry. NO bugs at all. For that reason and the clean sheets, I would stay again for a nite while traveling. Bed was very comfortable as well. Housekeeping needs to just step it up a bit and really give the rooms a good ckeaning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nananna_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

As we planned lots of daytime activities, the Econo Lodge was a good place to lay our heads at night. When we checked in, the room had a funky smell, but it was better on the second day. There are restaurants nearby, and Asheville is just a short distance away. Great location if you are traveling by air - airport is just across the interstate. Great location near Blue Ridge Parkway.

Since we were gone all day, it was nice that the pool was open late - we were the only ones using it at night. Desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is carb heavy (toast, muffin, cereal, orange juice, coffee) and the youngest in my party was disappointed there were no waffles. It was hard to tell from the pictures and the reservation description, but all rooms have exterior access - which was initially unnerving since I typically don't stay at these when traveling without the hubby.

No frills, but a good value for a place to sleep at night with comfortable mattresses. When leaving the parking lot, best to use second entrance to exit on flat surface with more visibility from end of street.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor. Rooms are exterior access.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn37355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fletcher
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Airport
Clarion Inn Airport
#3 of 7 in Fletcher
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Asheville Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Asheville-I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Asheville Airport
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Asheville Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Asheville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport

Property: Econo Lodge Airport
Address: 196 Underwood Rd, Fletcher, NC 28732-8634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fletcher
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fletcher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fletcher
Fletcher Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing