We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for un-winding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fontana Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great location for un-winding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2008

Our motoring club calls the village home few a few days each year. If your into driving the twisties of the Dragon this is the place. Because of the variety of accommodations my review will be on the Willow and Dogwood cabins only. The Dogwood are leftover from the days when this was a workers village from the building of the dam. Most have been remodeled somewhat but don't expect much. The Willows are nothing more then a mobile home with a very nice deck added on. My money now goes to the Willows because they have AC and TVs. This year our Willow was very nice and just had a mattress refresh.

Fontana is in a very remote location if you do not bringing food your are driving at least 30 min or dining at the village.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cranky64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    160
    90
    39
    25
See reviews for
154
164
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2008

This place is great....We stayed in the fireplace rooms..
Great and clean....nice staff, beautiful lobby, restaurant....
Yes the maids were a little rushed and rude, but overall I give this place a B+
Would definately stay here again

  • Liked — Lobby & Location
  • Disliked — Maid Service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OZJEREMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2008

We are here as I write this review during the week beginning Sunday, March 9, 2008. We traded in a week at our timeshare for an exchange at Fontana Village through RCI. We stayed in unit 479, which is a quad unit (2units down, 2 units up) in which all four units have 2 bedrooms, 2 baths (shower in the hall bath, and an older oversized jacuzzi and double sink vanity in the master), a full kitchen, a sitting area (with sofa and loveseat, TV with cable, video and DVD player, and wood burning fireplace) combined with a dining area with table that seats six. A bar between the galley kitchen and the dining area seats two. The kitchen has a dishwasher and all the appliances, dishes and cookware needed for six. The two bedrooms share a small rear deck overlooking the trout pond with bubbling creek, and there is a deck out front overlooking the tennis courts. The unit was refurbished about a year ago, and is nice, but the sleeper sofa and master bedroom beds leave something to be desired for a good night's rest.

It seems that we are a bit early for the resort's "season". The recreation center is closed (contains the exercise room that was advertised), the indoor pool is not open ("we're waiting on a part"), the person at the registration desk told us that the small outdoor pool at the lodge was heated and was open, but in fact it was not being heated at the present time and was useless to a guest staying in mid March. We were "one week too early" to secure a bike to ride on the area trails. There was equipment available to check out for putt putt, shuffleboard , tennis and disc golf at the general store just down the street from us. Across the street from the store another outdoor pool with a small "lazy river" feature is being built. The resort has been extremely quiet, almost deserted, which was fine with us since we just wanted a relaxing and quiet week for our "Spring break".

We followed the advice of the resort and bought groceries more than an hour away as we were driving in, because the last 30 miles of road leading to the resort were so curvy that you would not want to retrace these miles (at 15 or 20 miles per hour due to the severity of the curves). The scenery is beautiful. The road is a haven for a miata owner with the top down, but is not ideal for the motion-sickness prone women in our family, so we're choosing to drive that road (the part of 129 that's called the "Tail of the Dragon", with more than 300 curves in 11 miles) only to get to and to leave the resort. The Bistro restaurant has been open this week and appears to have reasonable prices and menu, but we bought all we needed from the Walmart in Madisonville.

The people here have been very nice, and have met our needs and requests, even going beyond the call of duty in some respects. We had had firewood delivered to the unit when we were prepared to go get it, etc. There is one bit of information that I can provide, though, that I feel falls in the category of "things I would have appreciated knowing at the beginning of my stay". We went to the Fontana Dam the day before we left the resort, and there are signs posted on the restroom doors there (and have been for years) that recommends that the Fontana Village water be boiled before it is used even to brush your teeth. This is due to the age of the water treatment system, which needs to be replaced. I talked to the resort's Manager after I saw this notice, and he was surprised to hear this report at first, but a similar letter is framed on the right wall of the reception desk alcove at the resort, unnoticed among several other framed articles of information. I would read this upon checking in, and make arrangements to use bottled water during my stay. The manager offered to provide bottled water for us for the remainder of our stay.

  • Liked — proxemity to the Appalatian Trail entrance to the Great Smokey Mountain National Park
  • Disliked — lack of notice that the water quality could/should be better
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_Traveler_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

This was my first visit and it will probably be my last. The area is very pretty, but just too remote. In particular there are no decent restaurants within 45 minutes drive, so the resort has a monopoly. And don't they know it! I was totally unimpressed with the food OR the service. There were only 2 servers for the whole restaurant on a Friday night at 7 pm. We ordered right away but didn't get our food until after 8 pm; it was luke warm. On weekends they only serve a buffet breaskfast for $12. We made do with a nutrition bar.

We wanted to go hiking but the staff at the Hazel Creek Outfitters couldn't direct us to any trails within walking distance of the resort. They just handed us a poorly hand-drawn trail map that was pretty useless. I guess they must have problems getting decent staff and have to take what they can get.

The highlight of the trip was a pontoon boat tour of the lake. If you do visit I would highly recommend taking the tour.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — our rooms overlooked pool and was very noisy
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjohn416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2007

The Blue Ridge Miata Club stayed here July 26-29 -07 with 12 rooms. This was our first stay and were pleasantly surprised. The Lodge was very nicely decorated and clean. Everyone enjoyed the food especially the Filet Migon, the best we have ever had. Our experience was enjoyed so much, most everyone made reservations for next year.

  • Liked — We enjoyed it all
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zoominVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2007

the weekend was very busy but as of Monday am the village was nearly deserted. Although that made for quiet, it also caused a lot of activites to not even open. The craft shop was closed from Sunday until Weds. afternoon, the pontoon boats were not taking passengers as there were not enough tourists to allow financial gain for the resort, the archery had been closed down permanently, and the craft and artisan shops in the local area were not even open due to low tourist volume. The cabins were in need of painting; they looked very unattractive to the eye. Our unit was an RCI condo on the 2nd floor and had been redone so it was nice and clean. The microwave had a leak in it and was leaking radiation when cooking. No supplies were furnished and items are priced very high at the general store. Everything must be bought there unless you travel many miles to the closest town 25 miles away over mountain roads. Not furnished; lotions, shampoo, tissues, dish soap, coffee filters,grills. We had a good time but I would not go back.would not go back. Barb

  • Liked — updated and clean compared to some of the cabins there
  • Disliked — 2nd floor with MANY steps; no alternative to climbimg them with bad knees and luggage, shops not open
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank granmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

Last Time we went was in 2003 and I will say that the grounds have been upgraded a great deal. But now they have turned the gas station into a pub and seem to just cater to adults. My kids were looking forward to playing paintball as they had in the past, but nobody could tell me anything about it. The food was still substandard and the staff still didn't have a clue. The boat dock has been upgraded and they moved registration to the hotel (now called "THE LODGE" ) I guess if you change it to a rustic name you have an excuse to not improve it. it is a good place to go to get away from it all but after a few days you can get a little bored and want to go to Gatlinburg and have some real fun.

  • Liked — The cooler temps in the mountains
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank flatlander799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
24.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
17.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cades Cove Inn
16.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing