We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fontana Village Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phillips Motel(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San-Ran Motel(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Wheel Inn(Robbinsville)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
174
188
100
44
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
188
100
44
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storethe dragondisc golfthe main lodgebedroom cabinthe ice cream shopcar clubappalachian trailclosest townmobile homevillage resortcherohala skywayhorseback ridingget awaybeautiful scenerydirty dancingbryson city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Went here for Thanksgiving week. Was looking forward to a room with a fireplace, but come to find out that none of the rooms with a fireplace have a small fridge and microwave. The latter was very surprising since this resort is so located in such a remote area, with limited dining facilities available (especially in winter). We ended up getting a one bedroom single-wide trailer, which had a full kitchen, but no fireplace. We did look at a 2-bedroom cabin, but the layout was crappy, and the price was much higher ($40-50 night), and the fireplace was out in a small living room; we wanted it to be in the bedroom.

As many others have noted, the only place you can get internet and/or phone service is in the lodge lobby...and the internet service there is SLOW too. The TV reception in our trailer was so poor, I got maintenance to come out and look at it because I thought something was wrong. Turns out that's just the way it is, as the maintenance guy told me that the farther you are from the main lodge, the worse your TV reception will be! What year is it!? LOL I was brought back to my days in the early 70s when we lived in western NY, and we used to try and adjust our roof-top TV antenna to pull in stations from Canada (Hamilton & Toronto)....they came in barely visible & blurry, just like in our trailer!

One of the main reasons we went here for Thanksgiving was that they had a bunch of activities scheduled for Wed. - Sat. One that we were really looking forward to was a marshmallow roast in a huge fire pit on Wed. night, but they cancelled it because it was too cold!!! In my mind, the only thing that should have cancelled that fire was rain, a blizzard, or very high winds....there was neither present that night, just coldness (about 25-30 degrees). In other words, IT WAS A PERFECT NIGHT FOR A PIT FIRE!

OK, so another reason for going here was the Thanksgiving buffet. It was good, but with two major flaws. The main courses were turkey, roast beef, ham, and trout cakes. The turkey and ham were awesome, while the roast beef was horrible (tough and dry), and the trout cakes were just average. That was one flaw, the other was the desserts. I think they made them all on Wed., then put them in the fridge until they were served on Thurs. The small mini-pies were crusty and NOT fresh, not at all. The cakes were OK, but also seemed about a day old. The salad & rolls were very good, as were all the side dishes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We apologize that your experience was less than you had hoped for. The remoteness of our area and the weather sometimes limits internet and TV services. While a lot of folks enjoy the down time, not everyone does. These are issues that we are currently working to improve on.

We definitely appreciate your observations of what you experienced and please know they will be used in our planning meetings. Our goal is to better ourselves as we continue to grow, your feedback will be a very vital part of that.

We hope you will come back for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I visited as a last minute thought. The decision was great. We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the off-season. The lake tour should be a definite. We had a great tiem and plan on coming back in the Spring to enjoy more of the amenities and places to see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so happy that you chose to stay with us and had such an amazing time. Our off-season is a great time to get away and unwind. There aren’t as many distractions this time of year, which makes it the perfect “quality time”.
The lake tour is a great way to see and enjoy the area.

We sure hope to see you back in the spring so you can see all that we have to offer. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently stayed in a lodge fire place room on this property. The area is beautiful and perhaps during the "season" there is much more to this place, but I was not impressed with the room or dining facility at all. We asked for a fire place room, then had to ask for fire wood. The first bundle is on them, then you pay $3.00 for each additional bundle. They will deliver or you can buy it at the general store. There is no fridge or coffee maker, yet there was plenty of room for both. There was ONE hanger! The bathroom was EXTREMELY small. The shower and toilet are in the closet together. You have to step in to the shower to shut the door to the small room. The sink is outside of the bathroom. The bed was not very comfortable, but the pillows were nice and plenty of them. There was a blanket on the shelf where the hanger was located. I was afraid to use it. It felt like rubber. The rooms have very thin walls. You could hear your neighbors upstairs and next door.

We may try to stay here in a cabin next time. As mentioned before the area is beautiful, but the Fontana Village needs some TLC.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breezy2104, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. While we are happy you enjoyed the area, we are sorry that your stay with us wasn't as you hoped. Your observations and suggestions are very important to us as we grow. Your comments are much appreciated and will help us to improve. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a fantastic stay in the Fontana area at Fontana Village Resort. We rented a cabin, to arrive and find it was nothing more than a little half single wide trailer. We immediately returned to check in and was given a spacious, beautiful room in the lodge. Even though the room was clean and beautiful, the resort is going to have to update their look or it is in danger of becoming second rate.
Wifi access is nearly non-existent. Cell phone access IS non-existent, so be prepared to have a quiet, relaxing time when you visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the lodge!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesliecothren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize if your visit was anything less than what you expected it to be. Please know that we take your feedback very serious and use it to better our property.

WiFi and Cell service are two very important issues for us, and they are both projects we are working on. We hope to have you back again to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The resort was a little dated. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. The sheets on the bed were clean, but very thin and not big enough to stay on the bed. We spent half the night adjusting the sheets so we weren't laying on the bare mattress.
The TV in the living room was very small, probably 25 inches or less. It looked so small in a big cabinet.
The best thing about the resort was that it was near some spectacular motorcycle riding - Tail of the Dragon, Cherohala Skyway and the Foothills Parkway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gymnic56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We strive to make sure each guest has a memorable experience while visiting with us and we apologize that your experience was not up to par. We take all constructive criticism very serious and utilize it to better ourselves.

We are happy that you got some great motorcycle riding in while staying here and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews