We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a family reunion here at Fontana Resort. Had a good time visiting family. It was updated a lot from when we had been there the last time. We are going back there for the next reunion in 2015. We stayed in a 3 bedroom cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSE1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you so much for visiting with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay while here. We have done a lot of renovations and updating over the last few years, so we are always happy when our guests notice. It’s so nice that you will be coming back next year as well….we are happy to be part of your family reunion and can’t wait to see you the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent 2 nights at Fontana Village over Easter. This was a hastily convened visit and although we have stayed a few times in the lodge this was the first time we stayed in a cabin (The Willows). Easter is a quiet time at Fontana, which was exactly what we needed. This is a spacious property and if you are not afraid of walking it is easily gotten around on foot. Our cabin afforded a full sized kitchen and which we used for breakfast, but we elected to dine in the restaurant at the lodge for evening meals - the food is always good there. This is am great location in the Smokies and has something to offer in all seasons. Staff are very helpful and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeandMel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are so thrilled that you chose to spend your Easter holiday with us, especially on such short notice. It was such a beautiful day and we hope you were able to really relax and enjoy yourself.

We appreciate your choice to dine in our restaurants while staying with us! I’m sure it was nice to relax and let us do the cooking for you! We have a great staff here and we are very pleased that your experience was so great!

We hope to see you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed for a week for a group trip. Tasty food and plenty of it. Rooms very comfortable. Wonderful to have wifi in the lodge. Not that we spent much time in the lodge - we were out doing trail service work. Staff at desk and staff in the restaurant were friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaSCVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We appreciate how hard the “trail workers” labor! It’s not an easy job to maintain the beautiful trails of the AT, especially after the winter like we had! It’s nice folks like you who keep the trails maintained for everyone to enjoy.

We appreciate your loyalty to the trails, as well as your loyalty to Fontana Village Resort! We can’t wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We arrived at Fontana Village last week; the hotel itself looks like it has a lot to offer; however, we went during the offseason and the place seemed to be dead. We only encountered a few other guests. The facility does need some updating as it seemed like the place was stuck in the 80's. Our room had a fire place which was nice, and the rooms were clean; however no better than a Super 8. They do have a Frisbee golf course which is a nice feature. It is a beautiful drive out to the resort, but when I see the word resort, I am expecting a bit more modern amenities. The staff was kind.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The off-season around here is definitely much quieter than most people often expect it to be. It’s a great time to relax and unwind, but scheduled activities are more limited. We are happy that you enjoyed the disc golf course – it is really growing in popularity! The drives to and from the resort are definitely unparalleled, so it’s wonderful that you were able to experience those as well. It’s great to hear that you were well taken care of by our staff members too!

We appreciate your visiting with us and sharing your thoughts. We always want every guest to have an amazing time, and we apologize if yours was less than you had hoped for. We will use your feedback as we move forward.

We hope to have you back again during our busy season so that you may experience all we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a couple nights this past weekend to stay at the Lodge...our first time to visit Fontana Village. We were greeted at check in by Lana could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Loved the lobby with the seating around a gorgeous fireplace and the views from the huge deck were amazing. Got to the room and it was very nice and very clean.
So we unpacked quickly and set out to explore the village which was way more than we had expected. 90 plus cabins with streams and ponds running throughout the grounds. Beautiful place to visit.
Every single member of the staff that we met was very nice and went out of there way to make our stay great!
Unfortunately we had to cut our visit short...but we loved this place and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It’s great to gain new “Fontana family members”…..Hopefully you now feel like you have been coming for years! We enjoy hearing about the experiences of our guests, and it sounds like yours was wonderful! We have a great staff here and we are so happy that you experienced that for yourself! With so many onsite activities we can definitely keep you busy....

It’s a little slower paced this time of year, so it is the best time to get away and unwind from it all. The fireplace in the lobby is definitely one of the most popular spots when it is chilly outside!

We hope to see you back very soon so you can experience the best of all four seasons here in the Smokies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We met our son at the Fontana Village Resort for 24 hours 2 weeks into his AT Hike. What an awesome visit with our son and a great stay at the Lodge. Great property. Very clean and comfortable. Now that my wife and I have discovered this property, we will likely return. Enjoyed dinner at the lodge restaurant - thought it was very good and the service was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We love our AT Hikers that come and stay with us! It’s nice that you were able to visit with your son while he was on this section of his journey. The hikers are always so thankful for a hot meal, shower and warm place to sleep! We are delighted that you enjoyed the property as well!

We get a lot of hikers this time of year and we love to hear stories such as this one. We hope you will come back and visit with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have stayed at Fontana Village 4 times and have had every type of accommodation. I like that they have different levels of accommodations for different budgets.

The property is expansive with many streams crossing the property that the kids LOVE to play in. There is a "bass" pond, that we have never caught anything in, and waterfall up a trail 20 minutes.

The main hotel has a beautiful lobby and several hundred rooms for rent. BUT! That is NOT where you want to stay. My best stay consisted of a 2bd/2ba cottage that was nicely outfitted. The kitchen and living room were beautiful and there was two porches. There is a dishwater too!

There are also smaller trailers and larger cabins available.

The only problems I have with Fontana Village is how remote it is. There is usually no cell service, but a few areas now have wifi. The closest town is 30-45 minutes away which is a bit of a hike. The food in the main restaurant is good, but expensive. In the grill you are stuck with pizza/chicken tenders/ sandwiches/etc... Definitely hit the grocery store before coming up. Bars on property are excellent.

I love visiting here each summer and would recommend it to anyone wanting to unplug for a while.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you are part of our “family” who visits us year after year. It’s so nice to have such loyal guests!

It sounds like you have spent the time and utilized many of our amenities and services! The onsite trails are a wonderful way to bond with the children while enjoying nature at its best and the trout pond is a lot fun. You should try the Marina out the next trip up – children are almost sure to catch a fish! (Especially if you let our staff down there know how excited they are to hook one)…

Wi-Fi and cell service are two issues that we have made progress on, but still have some more to go. But like you said – it’s also nice to get away and “unplug” for a while!

We can’t wait to see you back soon”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
725 reviews
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
663 reviews
17.4 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
96 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range: £97 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing