We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at Fontana Village Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Camping at Fontana Village Resort”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We camped at Fontana Village Resort for 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend. The campground is actually right at the bottom of the Fontana Dam and long the lake. At night, they light up the dam, so it really is a neat spot to camp. The campground is about 1 mile from the rest of the resort higher up in the hills.

We stayed with an RV, Tent, car and 3 motorcycles with a trailor and there was plenty of room on our site. The sites are quite large, but not very private. A few trees around, but really just a large open space along the lake with 1 loops. I think there were only 25-30 sites probably. The bathrooms were ok, though they only had one shower. We didn't have a problem getting in.

The campground, and even resort, seemed somewhat empty for a holiday weekend. We did lay out by the resort pool one evening, but the water was far too cold to go in.

The lodge seemed very nice, but we didn't eat at any of the restaurants. We did have to run to the general store for a few items, and they seem reasonably priced given where we were. I didn't see the inside of the cabins, but they looked decent and I would consider staying in one again.

Our only copmlaint really is that we tried to do one of the hiking trails on the map on their website (the green loop I think), and we pretty much got lost in the hills as the trails were not marked and hard to see. We hiked all the way to the top to lookout rock, but it was a rather dissaspointing lookout for 2 hours of hiking up a mountain. I would reccomend hiking in the national park instead.

We did do the sunset cruise through the marina and it was great. $20 per person, and it was about 1.5 hours. You can bring your own cooler with some beverages, so that was nice. Learned alot of the captain.

We did ride deals gap and the cherohala skyway, since we brought our bikes. The cherohala took about 45 mins to get to, and it was a faster road, with more sweeping corners. Deals gap you have to go pretty slow around the tight corners, but it was still alot of the fun.

The other activity that we did was whitewater rafting with wild water. They offered a shuttle, so we had them pick us up since we didn't really know where it was and for convience. I will write a seperate review on their page, but it was a lot of fun. only class 2 and 3 rapids, but a beautiful river to raft.

Feel free to message me with any questions!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review! Feedback like this is very valuable to us. We appreciate you staying with us and are very pleased that you had such a nice weekend for camping. Thank you for your feedback on the trails, we will make sure that the issue is addressed.

We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    167
    92
    40
    26
See reviews for
159
170
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Upon arrival the place was gorgeous, But the desk clerks consistently were preoccupied with their busy weekend coming up. They seemed annoyed with questions about nearby activities so luckily I brought my laptop, which only works in the lobby.It was our 30 year anniversary- was disappointed. Great place for large groups or weddings, but the small family like us - falls between the cracks. The Dining room and Chef were fabulous!! AT&T DOES NOT WORK , only verizon. They have one computer in the lobby for guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your visit with us. We strive to make sure everyone has an enjoyable experience when they visit with us and we apologize if yours was anything less than what you expected. We apologize if you felt that the larger group took preference. We have many wonderful families that stay with us each year and we value their patronage just as much as we do our group businesses.

Due to our location cell service is a challenge. Unfortunately Verizon is the only Hot Spot we have been able to get in the village. It is definitely on our list of things to add as permits.

Please know that your concerns will be addressed and we hope you get a chance to come back soon and have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After being detoured due to the highway being closed we found ourselves on Hwy 28. Due to the time of day we decided to stop at the resort for the night. What pleasant surprise this place was. Rooms were very nice and comfortable. Food in the main dining room was wonderful. The location breathtaking and so peaceful. The staff was exceptional, very friendly and so accomodating to our party. Can't wait visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are definitely a little out of the way, but it sure makes for a relaxing and beautiful trip! We are so pleased that you were able to dine with us….we have a great dinner menu and atmosphere.

We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
496 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent 3 wonderful nights here and fell in love with the views and peacefulness of the area.

The facility has been upgraded and was clean and well maintained. WiFi was not available in most of the rooms but is available in the lobby areas.

Staff is friendly and courteous, and seems to care about the clients.

If you want a peaceful and quiet vacation, consider this retreat.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms have WiFi in lobby. Cabins are remote and without WiFi, and cell reception in the area i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We have worked to update our facility and amenities and we appreciate that you took notice! We do have a great staff that enjoys their job and we are so pleased you felt that!

We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
327 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for Memorial week. If you want a place to relax and be unplugged, then this is THE place. Cell service and wi-fi in certain areas only. Our 2 bedroom 2 bath cabin (590) was great and well supplied. It had a whirlpool tub in the master bedroom, a living room fire place and a fire ring outside for your personal fires at night. Put your soiled linens on the front porch in the AM and a truck will come by and exchange the during the day. The 2nd afternoon we had an air conditioner problem and called the office and they had a man out within minutes and fixed it. Memorial weekend was busy with different bands at night and a attended and fenced for safety fire ring with marshmallows and long metal cooking sticks provided. Very popular for motorcycles and sports cars on this weekend. We very much enjoyed our time there and have already told our friends about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank AIRBOATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are so thrilled that you had such a relaxing experience with us! Memorial Day weekend is our Summer Kick-Off so we try to have as many different activities as possible. We enjoy reading our customers comments so we know what they like the best. It sounds like you were able to enjoy yourselves and do some relaxing! Thank you for sharing you story with your friends! We hope to see all of you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This is the 4th year in a row we've stayed a night on Memorial weekend. I have reviewed it on here before. I will give it a much better review this time. First of all they did honor a discount to put the price in the reasonable range. The staff was much friendlier the rooms seemed to have had some sort of makeover, as they seemed cleaner and newer. Overall the place seemed much more guest friendly. They must have had some management changes from last year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davjulstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review about your recent visit! We have worked hard to correct past concerns and we are thrilled that you noticed. We have taken guest feedback into consideration as we make plans and changes for our customers. We are pleased that you felt things had improved.

We love all of our guests that come and visit us here at Fontana Village Resort and we always strive to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience. It sounds like you had a nice time with us and for that it makes all the difference! We are looking forward to a great year and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I decided we needed a quick week-end getaway so we headed to the Fontana Village Resort. If you love driving wonderful, curvy roads (the Dragon is the best in the US), floating peacefully on a huge, yet quiet lake, fishing, hiking, swimming, and plain old relaxation on your room balcony, you will love this resort. We stayed in the main lodge. The room was large, nicely decorated and quiet. We had a TV in the room but never turned it on so I have no idea what stations they may carry. We were a bit concerned about the meals since the town is not loaded with restaurants and the reviews we had read were not great. Well, let me tell you things have changed. The restaurant has a manager who knows how to please the hotel guests. We ate all our meals at the lodge and the food and the service was very good. I am attaching photos of our trout dinners. They tasted as great as they look. If you can't bear life without the internet, they do have wifi in the lobby. We would recommend this resort for singles, couples, families, young, old, week end get aways, or week long get aways.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor looking away from the pool. It was very quiet. I would be concerned i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddavislaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for such an AMAZING review! It sounds like you and your husband and an outstanding time. Our restaurant managers have done a great job pleasing our guests with updated menu selections and wonderful service! We hope you left here feeling renewed and excited about coming back. There is truly something for everyone here, young and old! We have worked hard to correct past concerns and we are thrilled that you noticed.

This time of year is the perfect time to visit because it’s warm enough to enjoy all of the outdoor amenities but it's still not too hot! We are looking forward to a great year and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
644 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing