We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to go.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fontana Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
kansas city
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun place to go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great place to stay. Off the beaten path, around the hills you will find a great place for families. We had great food at one of the restaurants. We are use to paying for everything extra. Marsh mellows by the fire, volleyball and other outdoor activities all free. They have trails you can go on right from the resort. We enjoyed a 2.4 walk one of the mornings. We watched the 20min. film on the Fontana Dam construction. We also went on the sunset cruise, learning more about the History of the Dam and area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volleyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed all the Resort and area has to offer. It is so beautiful here and has such great opportunity for families to get out and explore nature together! The history of the area is so rich and intriguing, it sounds like you guys were able to enjoy that as well! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    160
    90
    39
    25
See reviews for
154
164
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I holed up in Fontana Resort for two days after riding motorcycle in heavy rain coming down Ohio to KY to TN, only about 15 minutes from the end of the Tail of The Dragon in Deal gap. It was a great rest in a comfortable setting with many conveniences. There is a nice grille at the bottom of the hill and a fancier restaurant with a good breakfast at lodge check in. We stayed in 910, a mobile home cabin with a great viewing porch. The general store has plenty of staples for basic cooking, toiletries and general wares. Plenty of kid stuff to do with putt putt, pool and organized games. The cabin was basic, clean but showing age. Has AC, full kitchen. Quick ride to Fontana Dam about 10 minutes. 28E is a very pleasant curvy ride up to 19 then through Bryson City and Cherokee and back 441 back over the Smokies to Gatlinburg if you are heading that way. Very limited cell service but you can get internet on your tablet and then head down to the general store if you have to make calls. Looked like a great place for families to meet up.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallamjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for such a nice review! We are thrilled that you were able to get away and unwind while staying with us. The limited cell and internet service are challenging at times, but is sure does help you to relax and truly get away from it all! The property has many activities that families can do together, we are sure glad you noticed! The roads in the area are unparalleled and it sounds like you were able to get out and enjoy them!

We can’t wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful property. We were promised 4pm check-in, finally got into room at 5:40 due to lack of adequate housekeeping staff. Room was nice, bathroom tiny and outdated. Small single cup coffee maker but NO micro, NO fridge, NO hairdryer, NO iron and board. Pricey meals in lodge included NO sides, not even crackers for the soup, which is extra. No resort-wide WiFi. We were given a courtesy discount at check-out time for the long delay checking in. Not recommended for mobility challenged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your sharing your feedback from your recent visit with us. We sincerely apologize if your experience was not what you had expected it to be. While not all of our standard lodge rooms have a microwave or refrigerator, our cabana rooms as well as our cabins have these items. We apologize if you didn't receive a hair dryer or iron and board, housekeeping will deliver these items if they are missing. Thank you for voicing your concerns, it helps us as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

beautiful setting. dated cabins, lackluster service from FD. only one man we encountered who started a video in the theater room was attentive. at the price paid, one would expect towel replacement and better quality towels. not even daily maid Housekeeping sevice at $185 per night

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a great time when staying with us and we apologize if your stay with us what not what you had expected it to be. While there is daily maid service in the lodge, daily housekeeping in the cabins isn’t standard, but can be provided for an extra fee. Please know that your concerns have been noted though and we do hope that you enjoyed the area while visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge Area
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were touring the State of Tennessee on motorcycles and our last leg of the trip was US 129 North. (The Tail of the Dragon 318 Curves in 11miles) When looking for lodging in the area we wanted to be close to the Dragon and Fontana Lodge met our requirements. When we arrived we were checked in promptly and the check in staff informed us of our dining options on the property. Our rooms were spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and provided us with a good nights sleep. We ate in the main lodge and had a very good meal. Great Location

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfore93392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We are happy to hear that our Resort could accommodate you while you were on your trip to the area! We are very conveniently located to the Dragon, so we are a great place to stay if you are out riding!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was travelling with 3 friends on our annual mens driving adventure and made reservations at this resort due to its central location. The front desk staff checked us in efficiently and the rooms were nicely renovated in the main lodge where we stayed. The bathrooms were a bit cramped and dated but clean and usable. The Mountainview restaurant food was very good, albeit a little pricey and the servers were outgoing and friendly (Both breakfast and dinner). Our one complaint was that when we returned from a long day of riding, our room had not been made up and there were no clean towels. A quick call to the front desk did rectify the situation. The grill at the bottom of the hill was a treat the second night. (A big call out to Bobbi Sue, who was a fabulous server and entertained us old canadians).
overall, the resort more than met our needs and expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank undertow_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that our staff treated you so well upon arrival and at dinner! Our apologies for the housekeeping error – and we are glad it was resolved efficiently. We are happy that you chose to stay with us while on your Men’s Getaway! We hope that we can accommodate you on future trips as well!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
701 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A welcome respite from the trail (AT / Appalachian Trail), this resort is nonetheless a strange mix of "oooh" and "ooof."

The setting is beautiful, like a grown-up scout camp. The rooms are nicely renovated. The common areas have a cozy lodge feel and the view from the back deck is stunning.

It's difficult to get around on the grounds. I mean, it's quite a walk down to the general store which doesn't sound like a big deal unless you've been hiking all week with 38 pounds on your back. Guest room bathrooms haven't been renovated to match the rooms themselves - they feel stuck in 1979, old tile, cramped quarters and all. And the front desk staff... They seemed positively confused and clueless at times. I'm sorry, but it's the truth. You ask a question and they look at you like a deer in headlights, then start to disagree with one another then give you the wrong answer in the end.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate your feedback and it will be used to make improvements on. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the area and the trail! We get a lot of AT hikers here and we really enjoy the time they spend here with us.

We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
16.2 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
17.8 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing