We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little get away with no distractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just left FV after spending the weekend there for a wedding. We stayed in a cabin that was pretty comfortable. Beds were comfy and it was nice having ceiling fans in the room! We're suckers for ceiling fans. Living room was spacious and met our needs as we had to do wedding cakes and cupcakes. We had a full fridge, microwave, toaster, and stove. The only drawback of the cabin was we could not figure out how to lock the door from the inside. The back door had a thumb lock, but the front did not. We very well could have missed something. Bathroom is a little small as is the shower, but it worked. There isn't a phone and there's zero cell coverage. This was kind of bummer with no way to call housekeeping if additional items are needed or even to call other rooms/cabins in our party. We did survive without it. Overall, we weren't disappointed with the cabin.

We did get to spend a little time at the pool Saturday morning. Glad there were towels provided. Lazy river was a nice plus! It is on the small size and the tubes provided aren't really comfortable for people on the larger size, but it was relaxing and that's what we were looking for.

We had the reception in the reception lodge and we couldn't have asked for a better group of staff to assist. They were very friendly and helpful, even in helping us take down. Will Robertson (I believe) was extremely helpful and we sincerely appreciate it!

All things considered, we had a great weekend and my husband and I definitely look forwarded to a nice getaway where we can relax a bit more in the future. A+ staff and great accommodations. There are a lot of reviews bashing the no cell or resort wide wifi. It was kind of nice not having cell service. I would agree a bit with the wifi, but it is provided at the lodge, in the registration lodge, and at the pool (may be in other places, but I don't know). Sometimes it's nice to disconnect. And it's certainly a beautiful atmosphere to do so.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Nhmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We so enjoy the weddings that we have here – and we are so happy that your group chose Fontana Village Resort for their special day! We have a lot of amenities that keep everyone busy, so we are happy you were able to enjoy some of those.

We always take feedback and use it to help us improve. The Wi-Fi is actually being worked on right now and will be accessible village wide very soon. Cell service is still a work in progress, but we are hopeful it will expand as well!

We look forward to seeing you and your family back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

staying in the Village for a week with Family and friends. They provide a lot of events for the people to do here. They even have a general store and ice cream Shoppe. But be sure to Bring it with you its a LONG Ride to the Walmart. The Cabin we stayed in was a nice 2 bed room/bath and kitchen. While nice and it has been updated, it needs a little upgrade for the OLDER generation. The Toilets are LOW!!! Almost like setting on the floor. Why don't places put High Boys in as standard for people now? The Cabin dining area. has a step down. And if you are not careful you could trip. No Cell Service and poor limited Internet. Good for people off the grid.

Room Tip: Cabins or Stay in Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ronaldbyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! It sounds like you found a lot of activities to keep your group busy – that’s wonderful! We try to have activities scheduled that appeal to all different ages and personalities. We are secluded here so it’s nice to bring any specialty items that you may require while staying here! The Wi-Fi has been expanded this year and we hope to have it completely village wide very soon! Unfortunately cell service is limited, but the Verizon Wireless Hotspots make it to where you can still access the outside world as needed! Thank you for your suggestion on the toilets - we will definitely keep that in mind as we plan!

We hope to see you all again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great place to stay. Off the beaten path, around the hills you will find a great place for families. We had great food at one of the restaurants. We are use to paying for everything extra. Marsh mellows by the fire, volleyball and other outdoor activities all free. They have trails you can go on right from the resort. We enjoyed a 2.4 walk one of the mornings. We watched the 20min. film on the Fontana Dam construction. We also went on the sunset cruise, learning more about the History of the Dam and area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volleyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed all the Resort and area has to offer. It is so beautiful here and has such great opportunity for families to get out and explore nature together! The history of the area is so rich and intriguing, it sounds like you guys were able to enjoy that as well! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My boyfriend and I holed up in Fontana Resort for two days after riding motorcycle in heavy rain coming down Ohio to KY to TN, only about 15 minutes from the end of the Tail of The Dragon in Deal gap. It was a great rest in a comfortable setting with many conveniences. There is a nice grille at the bottom of the hill and a fancier restaurant with a good breakfast at lodge check in. We stayed in 910, a mobile home cabin with a great viewing porch. The general store has plenty of staples for basic cooking, toiletries and general wares. Plenty of kid stuff to do with putt putt, pool and organized games. The cabin was basic, clean but showing age. Has AC, full kitchen. Quick ride to Fontana Dam about 10 minutes. 28E is a very pleasant curvy ride up to 19 then through Bryson City and Cherokee and back 441 back over the Smokies to Gatlinburg if you are heading that way. Very limited cell service but you can get internet on your tablet and then head down to the general store if you have to make calls. Looked like a great place for families to meet up.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for such a nice review! We are thrilled that you were able to get away and unwind while staying with us. The limited cell and internet service are challenging at times, but is sure does help you to relax and truly get away from it all! The property has many activities that families can do together, we are sure glad you noticed! The roads in the area are unparalleled and it sounds like you were able to get out and enjoy them!

We can’t wait to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautiful property. We were promised 4pm check-in, finally got into room at 5:40 due to lack of adequate housekeeping staff. Room was nice, bathroom tiny and outdated. Small single cup coffee maker but NO micro, NO fridge, NO hairdryer, NO iron and board. Pricey meals in lodge included NO sides, not even crackers for the soup, which is extra. No resort-wide WiFi. We were given a courtesy discount at check-out time for the long delay checking in. Not recommended for mobility challenged.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your sharing your feedback from your recent visit with us. We sincerely apologize if your experience was not what you had expected it to be. While not all of our standard lodge rooms have a microwave or refrigerator, our cabana rooms as well as our cabins have these items. We apologize if you didn't receive a hair dryer or iron and board, housekeeping will deliver these items if they are missing. Thank you for voicing your concerns, it helps us as we move forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

beautiful setting. dated cabins, lackluster service from FD. only one man we encountered who started a video in the theater room was attentive. at the price paid, one would expect towel replacement and better quality towels. not even daily maid Housekeeping sevice at $185 per night

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to ensure that all of our guests have a great time when staying with us and we apologize if your stay with us what not what you had expected it to be. While there is daily maid service in the lodge, daily housekeeping in the cabins isn’t standard, but can be provided for an extra fee. Please know that your concerns have been noted though and we do hope that you enjoyed the area while visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were touring the State of Tennessee on motorcycles and our last leg of the trip was US 129 North. (The Tail of the Dragon 318 Curves in 11miles) When looking for lodging in the area we wanted to be close to the Dragon and Fontana Lodge met our requirements. When we arrived we were checked in promptly and the check in staff informed us of our dining options on the property. Our rooms were spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and provided us with a good nights sleep. We ate in the main lodge and had a very good meal. Great Location

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfore93392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We are happy to hear that our Resort could accommodate you while you were on your trip to the area! We are very conveniently located to the Dragon, so we are a great place to stay if you are out riding!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
731 reviews
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
665 reviews
17.4 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
96 reviews
24 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range: £93 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing