We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
181
206
108
46
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
206
108
46
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store the dragon disc golf the main lodge bedroom cabin putt putt the ice cream shop car club appalachian trail sunset cruise mobile home horseback riding get away beautiful scenery dirty dancing bryson city beautiful area
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Every two years a family reunion is held at Fontana. I have attended twice and hoped for a better experience the second time. But alas, the same limitations exist, and I do not think they will change. We stay in a cabin with family members, and they are woefully furnished with what any resort should consider minimal. Not enough coffe cups to serve four people in a two bedroom cabin, NO spoons, no washer/dryer, and minimal kitchen equipment. Bring your own paper products.................bring your own EVERYTHING if you feel you need it! Cabins vary widely in how they are furnished, amenities supplied, and TV furnished. There is no housekeeping or new towels provided (you can get a maid for $50 a day!). The only really good thing about the stay is the 4th of July fireworks display, a very good one, and very loud as the sound reverberates thru the surrounding mountains. Too bad the rest of the resort isn't up to the same standard. Again, lodge rooms may be better, but I cannot guarantee that. There is little to no phone service, and only a couple questionable hotspots. We have a hard time getting emails anywhere at the resort. I wish the family would look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Impossible. Not sure there are any. Inquire about the Lodge rooms, but see for yourself.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MatureTravelers778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our hope is always that every guest has the best experience while staying with us. We truly apologize if your stay was not what you had hoped for. Our cabins are furnished to accommodate the number of guests it says it will sleep. We apologize if yours was missing items. Housekeeping would have been more than happy to bring you what you needed, as well as re-stock your paper products. While we don’t have daily maid service in the cabins, we do have daily towel exchanges. We are very sorry if your towels were missed as well.

We are happy that you enjoyed the fireworks show – it is really an amazing event!

We appreciate your families continued patronage to Fontana Village Resort for their reunion every two years and we hope the next reunion is a much better experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just left FV after spending the weekend there for a wedding. We stayed in a cabin that was pretty comfortable. Beds were comfy and it was nice having ceiling fans in the room! We're suckers for ceiling fans. Living room was spacious and met our needs as we had to do wedding cakes and cupcakes. We had a full fridge, microwave, toaster, and stove. The only drawback of the cabin was we could not figure out how to lock the door from the inside. The back door had a thumb lock, but the front did not. We very well could have missed something. Bathroom is a little small as is the shower, but it worked. There isn't a phone and there's zero cell coverage. This was kind of bummer with no way to call housekeeping if additional items are needed or even to call other rooms/cabins in our party. We did survive without it. Overall, we weren't disappointed with the cabin.

We did get to spend a little time at the pool Saturday morning. Glad there were towels provided. Lazy river was a nice plus! It is on the small size and the tubes provided aren't really comfortable for people on the larger size, but it was relaxing and that's what we were looking for.

We had the reception in the reception lodge and we couldn't have asked for a better group of staff to assist. They were very friendly and helpful, even in helping us take down. Will Robertson (I believe) was extremely helpful and we sincerely appreciate it!

All things considered, we had a great weekend and my husband and I definitely look forwarded to a nice getaway where we can relax a bit more in the future. A+ staff and great accommodations. There are a lot of reviews bashing the no cell or resort wide wifi. It was kind of nice not having cell service. I would agree a bit with the wifi, but it is provided at the lodge, in the registration lodge, and at the pool (may be in other places, but I don't know). Sometimes it's nice to disconnect. And it's certainly a beautiful atmosphere to do so.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Nhmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We so enjoy the weddings that we have here – and we are so happy that your group chose Fontana Village Resort for their special day! We have a lot of amenities that keep everyone busy, so we are happy you were able to enjoy some of those.

We always take feedback and use it to help us improve. The Wi-Fi is actually being worked on right now and will be accessible village wide very soon. Cell service is still a work in progress, but we are hopeful it will expand as well!

We look forward to seeing you and your family back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

staying in the Village for a week with Family and friends. They provide a lot of events for the people to do here. They even have a general store and ice cream Shoppe. But be sure to Bring it with you its a LONG Ride to the Walmart. The Cabin we stayed in was a nice 2 bed room/bath and kitchen. While nice and it has been updated, it needs a little upgrade for the OLDER generation. The Toilets are LOW!!! Almost like setting on the floor. Why don't places put High Boys in as standard for people now? The Cabin dining area. has a step down. And if you are not careful you could trip. No Cell Service and poor limited Internet. Good for people off the grid.

Room Tip: Cabins or Stay in Hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ronaldbyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! It sounds like you found a lot of activities to keep your group busy – that’s wonderful! We try to have activities scheduled that appeal to all different ages and personalities. We are secluded here so it’s nice to bring any specialty items that you may require while staying here! The Wi-Fi has been expanded this year and we hope to have it completely village wide very soon! Unfortunately cell service is limited, but the Verizon Wireless Hotspots make it to where you can still access the outside world as needed! Thank you for your suggestion on the toilets - we will definitely keep that in mind as we plan!

We hope to see you all again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great place to stay. Off the beaten path, around the hills you will find a great place for families. We had great food at one of the restaurants. We are use to paying for everything extra. Marsh mellows by the fire, volleyball and other outdoor activities all free. They have trails you can go on right from the resort. We enjoyed a 2.4 walk one of the mornings. We watched the 20min. film on the Fontana Dam construction. We also went on the sunset cruise, learning more about the History of the Dam and area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volleyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed all the Resort and area has to offer. It is so beautiful here and has such great opportunity for families to get out and explore nature together! The history of the area is so rich and intriguing, it sounds like you guys were able to enjoy that as well! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My boyfriend and I holed up in Fontana Resort for two days after riding motorcycle in heavy rain coming down Ohio to KY to TN, only about 15 minutes from the end of the Tail of The Dragon in Deal gap. It was a great rest in a comfortable setting with many conveniences. There is a nice grille at the bottom of the hill and a fancier restaurant with a good breakfast at lodge check in. We stayed in 910, a mobile home cabin with a great viewing porch. The general store has plenty of staples for basic cooking, toiletries and general wares. Plenty of kid stuff to do with putt putt, pool and organized games. The cabin was basic, clean but showing age. Has AC, full kitchen. Quick ride to Fontana Dam about 10 minutes. 28E is a very pleasant curvy ride up to 19 then through Bryson City and Cherokee and back 441 back over the Smokies to Gatlinburg if you are heading that way. Very limited cell service but you can get internet on your tablet and then head down to the general store if you have to make calls. Looked like a great place for families to meet up.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for such a nice review! We are thrilled that you were able to get away and unwind while staying with us. The limited cell and internet service are challenging at times, but is sure does help you to relax and truly get away from it all! The property has many activities that families can do together, we are sure glad you noticed! The roads in the area are unparalleled and it sounds like you were able to get out and enjoy them!

We can’t wait to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews