We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A getaway from everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A getaway from everything.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Went for a family reunion. It was rainy and chilly most of the time but the kids had a blast. Pro or con, however you see it, there wasnt much to do for them.... So they had to be creative! And again, pro or con, internet service was sketchy at best. Lodge rooms were very nice. Cabins were decent for the price, but smaller than we had thought. Resurants seemed overpriced for the food but typical of any hotel I guess. Bring your own supplies, the general store is insanely overpriced. But overall, it was a nice break from the madness!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding your trip. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the peace and quiet of the area, which is always a nice treat! Wi-Fi is being expanded and will have better connectivity going forward. We hope you enjoyed your family reunion and got to spend quality time together!

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    164
    91
    40
    25
See reviews for
156
164
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed stayed here and just do nothing. Games for kids are limited to ping-pong, pool and one video game (arcade style). There is a pool, tennis and putt-putt. Live band sometimes. Did do a smores night when we were there. What was odd that even though it was summer, kids tend to keep to themselves, games area was mostly empty.

We used a 3 bedroom unit. Kitchen has bare minimum (suggest to bring your own pots). Everything is very clean and appear modern. As for the surrounding areas, it is beautiful out there and I would definitely go back, even if it is to just disconnect from live as there is no cellphone (sprint / verizon not sure about ATT and others). Fire flies was a big attraction for our Florida boys.

Do visit the dam.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the game room area (you can catch Wi-Fi in your room if you are close enough).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oi2us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us recently! We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are definitely the perfect spot to unwind and just get away from the everyday hustle and bustle of life. We try to offer activities that will keep everyone busy and to get them outdoors! We are happy that your family participated in some of these activities. Hopefully you left here relaxed and happy!

We hope you get a chance to come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast FL
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Every two years a family reunion is held at Fontana. I have attended twice and hoped for a better experience the second time. But alas, the same limitations exist, and I do not think they will change. We stay in a cabin with family members, and they are woefully furnished with what any resort should consider minimal. Not enough coffe cups to serve four people in a two bedroom cabin, NO spoons, no washer/dryer, and minimal kitchen equipment. Bring your own paper products.................bring your own EVERYTHING if you feel you need it! Cabins vary widely in how they are furnished, amenities supplied, and TV furnished. There is no housekeeping or new towels provided (you can get a maid for $50 a day!). The only really good thing about the stay is the 4th of July fireworks display, a very good one, and very loud as the sound reverberates thru the surrounding mountains. Too bad the rest of the resort isn't up to the same standard. Again, lodge rooms may be better, but I cannot guarantee that. There is little to no phone service, and only a couple questionable hotspots. We have a hard time getting emails anywhere at the resort. I wish the family would look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Impossible. Not sure there are any. Inquire about the Lodge rooms, but see for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureTravelers778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our hope is always that every guest has the best experience while staying with us. We truly apologize if your stay was not what you had hoped for. Our cabins are furnished to accommodate the number of guests it says it will sleep. We apologize if yours was missing items. Housekeeping would have been more than happy to bring you what you needed, as well as re-stock your paper products. While we don’t have daily maid service in the cabins, we do have daily towel exchanges. We are very sorry if your towels were missed as well.

We are happy that you enjoyed the fireworks show – it is really an amazing event!

We appreciate your families continued patronage to Fontana Village Resort for their reunion every two years and we hope the next reunion is a much better experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Just left FV after spending the weekend there for a wedding. We stayed in a cabin that was pretty comfortable. Beds were comfy and it was nice having ceiling fans in the room! We're suckers for ceiling fans. Living room was spacious and met our needs as we had to do wedding cakes and cupcakes. We had a full fridge, microwave, toaster, and stove. The only drawback of the cabin was we could not figure out how to lock the door from the inside. The back door had a thumb lock, but the front did not. We very well could have missed something. Bathroom is a little small as is the shower, but it worked. There isn't a phone and there's zero cell coverage. This was kind of bummer with no way to call housekeeping if additional items are needed or even to call other rooms/cabins in our party. We did survive without it. Overall, we weren't disappointed with the cabin.

We did get to spend a little time at the pool Saturday morning. Glad there were towels provided. Lazy river was a nice plus! It is on the small size and the tubes provided aren't really comfortable for people on the larger size, but it was relaxing and that's what we were looking for.

We had the reception in the reception lodge and we couldn't have asked for a better group of staff to assist. They were very friendly and helpful, even in helping us take down. Will Robertson (I believe) was extremely helpful and we sincerely appreciate it!

All things considered, we had a great weekend and my husband and I definitely look forwarded to a nice getaway where we can relax a bit more in the future. A+ staff and great accommodations. There are a lot of reviews bashing the no cell or resort wide wifi. It was kind of nice not having cell service. I would agree a bit with the wifi, but it is provided at the lodge, in the registration lodge, and at the pool (may be in other places, but I don't know). Sometimes it's nice to disconnect. And it's certainly a beautiful atmosphere to do so.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We so enjoy the weddings that we have here – and we are so happy that your group chose Fontana Village Resort for their special day! We have a lot of amenities that keep everyone busy, so we are happy you were able to enjoy some of those.

We always take feedback and use it to help us improve. The Wi-Fi is actually being worked on right now and will be accessible village wide very soon. Cell service is still a work in progress, but we are hopeful it will expand as well!

We look forward to seeing you and your family back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

staying in the Village for a week with Family and friends. They provide a lot of events for the people to do here. They even have a general store and ice cream Shoppe. But be sure to Bring it with you its a LONG Ride to the Walmart. The Cabin we stayed in was a nice 2 bed room/bath and kitchen. While nice and it has been updated, it needs a little upgrade for the OLDER generation. The Toilets are LOW!!! Almost like setting on the floor. Why don't places put High Boys in as standard for people now? The Cabin dining area. has a step down. And if you are not careful you could trip. No Cell Service and poor limited Internet. Good for people off the grid.

Room Tip: Cabins or Stay in Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldbyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us! It sounds like you found a lot of activities to keep your group busy – that’s wonderful! We try to have activities scheduled that appeal to all different ages and personalities. We are secluded here so it’s nice to bring any specialty items that you may require while staying here! The Wi-Fi has been expanded this year and we hope to have it completely village wide very soon! Unfortunately cell service is limited, but the Verizon Wireless Hotspots make it to where you can still access the outside world as needed! Thank you for your suggestion on the toilets - we will definitely keep that in mind as we plan!

We hope to see you all again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great place to stay. Off the beaten path, around the hills you will find a great place for families. We had great food at one of the restaurants. We are use to paying for everything extra. Marsh mellows by the fire, volleyball and other outdoor activities all free. They have trails you can go on right from the resort. We enjoyed a 2.4 walk one of the mornings. We watched the 20min. film on the Fontana Dam construction. We also went on the sunset cruise, learning more about the History of the Dam and area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volleyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are so happy that you enjoyed all the Resort and area has to offer. It is so beautiful here and has such great opportunity for families to get out and explore nature together! The history of the area is so rich and intriguing, it sounds like you guys were able to enjoy that as well! We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I holed up in Fontana Resort for two days after riding motorcycle in heavy rain coming down Ohio to KY to TN, only about 15 minutes from the end of the Tail of The Dragon in Deal gap. It was a great rest in a comfortable setting with many conveniences. There is a nice grille at the bottom of the hill and a fancier restaurant with a good breakfast at lodge check in. We stayed in 910, a mobile home cabin with a great viewing porch. The general store has plenty of staples for basic cooking, toiletries and general wares. Plenty of kid stuff to do with putt putt, pool and organized games. The cabin was basic, clean but showing age. Has AC, full kitchen. Quick ride to Fontana Dam about 10 minutes. 28E is a very pleasant curvy ride up to 19 then through Bryson City and Cherokee and back 441 back over the Smokies to Gatlinburg if you are heading that way. Very limited cell service but you can get internet on your tablet and then head down to the general store if you have to make calls. Looked like a great place for families to meet up.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallamjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for such a nice review! We are thrilled that you were able to get away and unwind while staying with us. The limited cell and internet service are challenging at times, but is sure does help you to relax and truly get away from it all! The property has many activities that families can do together, we are sure glad you noticed! The roads in the area are unparalleled and it sounds like you were able to get out and enjoy them!

We can’t wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing