We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun NC Mountain Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

1st off, if you are looking for some Disney style resort in the NC mountains, it doesn't exist. Fontana Village is a great little mountain resort that has obviously made improvements in most areas over the past 3-4 years. I would totally ignore reviews pre-2012. New owners and some very good staff hires have occurred. We just returned from our summer vacation with our 2 daughters (14 & 13) and we all had a GREAT time and are actually planning a family reunion next year. TONS to do within 30-45 minutes and our plan was to use Fontana Village as a base camp while we did hiking on the AT, driving tours (Tail of the Dragon, Cades Cove, etc), boating and white water rafting. Our plan changed a bit as they have quite a bit to do onsite and have their own Marina that has an exceptional staff. We did the Sunset Tour, rented a pontoon boat for the day and did a guided boat/hiking trip. Capt. Ken and JP were excellent with customer hospitality as were the ladies taking reservations. They also have kayak, canoe and SUP rentals and offer rides & pick ups for hikers and fishermen. Food on site was very good and again, the customer service impressed us. I would agree that the restaurant at the main lodge is a bit pricey but all 4 items we ordered were very good and the view alone was worth it. We enjoyed their little putt-putt course, pools, Frisbee golf course, hiking trails, live music and didn't get a chance to take in all the activities they offer on a daily basis like clogging lessons, square dancing, volleyball, softball and more.

We started off in an older and run down cabin, called to check on other options and were able to move to a great cabin the next day after a car rally left. Some of the cabins are older but we used our cabin as a base camp to sleep and maybe have 1 meal a day there. We were out and about the rest of the time. We had a great view of the GSM, lots of wildlife, everything worked just fine and we actually enjoyed the no wifi or cell service (they do have 3 Verizon hotspots on property) and if you are that addicted to your tech stay away from the great outdoors.

If you and/or your family are looking for a nice little mountain resort that is in a great location, offers excellent customer service and has lots to do nearby and actually quite a bit to do onsite, then Fontana Village would be a great decision.

Room Tip: Cabins 1714-1720 have best views and are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Wow! What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share such positive and accurate feedback with us! It sounds like you and your family came and had some great quality family time together! The remoteness of the area is one of the things that most love best about this place! We have the greatest views and surroundings of most anywhere you can think to go. It’s wonderful that you were able to take in so many of the activities that we have to offer!

The staff we have on board are really what make Fontana Village Resort succeed. We appreciate that you were able to notice that as well! We have made quite a few changes in recent years and it makes it all worth it for our guests to see those changes! So thank you again for your visit and we are really excited to host your family reunion here next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stopped here on a trip to The Smokies. It was a decent price for the night. The Mountainview Restaurant in the lodge is quite pricey, the food was just ok, but the view was beautiful! Everything closes by 9 (or 10pm), so there isn't much to do after that. There is no internet access except in the main room of the lodge. Since there isn't anything to do at night, we tried to watch netflix on the laptop to no avail due to the poor internet connection.

Room Tip: If you're camping and want a room and shower for the night, this is a great place to go. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frodo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are happy you chose to stay with us during your recent trip. We definitely have one of the most beautiful views you will ever see! It can be quiet around here but it makes for some quality rest and relaxation….our internet connections are being expanded so we are hoping to offer better connectivity in the near future. We appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Fontana many times over the years. We love to drive the roads and enjoy the scenery. We have stayed in the lodge as well as in a cabin.
The staff are always friendly and willing to help in any way they can. I have found that if you ask for something they will do their best to help out.
We have travelled with cars, motorcycles, and trucks and found the lodge to be accommodating to our needs. They have a free "vehicle wash" area which really comes in handy.
Whenever we have stayed at Fontana we have found our rooms neat and clean. If we needed something we asked and received help. We had good service at the restaurant and the Grill. Yes, the prices are higher these days but the food is good and satisfying after a long day.
Many younger families stay at Fontana and there are many activities for them. Part of the fun is hearing the laughter and excitement from the kids. The marshmallow roast in the evening is really fun.
I was able to get phone reception as well as internet without any issues from my room (I have Verizon). I can't speak about the TV issues - I have never turned on the TV while I stayed there.
I do have a few suggestions:
There is poison ivy growing along some of the paths on the property. I know this is hard to get rid of but it's tricky to avoid it.
Bring back the lobby coffee/hot chocolate! For years the Lodge had free coffee, tea, or hot chocolate in the lobby. It was available any time and really hit the spot if you got a chill while out on the roads. Also, people gathered in the lobby, enjoyed a hot beverage, and visited with one another. Each room has small coffee makers now but it's not the same.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for such a great review! We love hearing stories like yours of folks who come year after year! It sounds like you really had a nice trip. We have expanded the Wi-Fi, so we are happy that you noticed better reception. The marshmallow roasts and other activities are so much fun to participate in! It’s like camping with the luxury of a nice bed to come back to!

Thanks for your suggestions as well. We made the changes with the coffee and hot tea this year as folks was always requesting in-room coffee makers! So we have been weighing that and appreciate your thoughts on it.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yes, this is a resort, or so the name implies. So perhaps that is why the lodge has no in-room coffee makers, fridge, hairdryer, and has poor/limited wifi. The wifi was so bad, that we gave up trying to check email or upload photos until we got to our next place. But it is just the budget minded person in me that finds it distasteful to charge way over $100/night and then charge me over $5 for a cup of coffee, and then over $10 for breakfast. Well, this wasn't my kind of resort, and after one night we were ready for a cheap hotel, that offered unlimited coffee and muffins for $50-$70. But, hey, you are limited in this area, so you either pay their fees or drive 40 miles to Cherokee.

As mentioned by others, the view is nice, the lobby is pretty, and unfortunately a good portion of the parking is sloped, so if you're on motorcycles, hopefully you'll find a spot or two with level parking.

We ate dinner at the Fontana Village 'Wildwood Grill'. Ten of us on the porch, very nice views, but it took over an hour to get our food, and it seemed pricey. I got a cold sandwich, but I think it was supposed to be hot. Hey, I was with a group of riders and this is where they wanted to stay. It was ok, but only because of the group and the great riding.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HappyOnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for recent visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our hope is always that every guest has an amazing experience. We sincerely apologize if this was not the case for you and your group. We take each concern very seriously and we use these concerns to better ourselves. We hope you enjoyed the area and had a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It's not pretentious, it's not fancy, it's even a little dated.....but it's also not snobby either. You can be yourself. Met the owners in the bar when we were there, great folks and from the area. Not owned by some distant international corporation. The biggest surprise is the food......it's the only place to eat because the resort is in a very remote location...but the food is awesome...the service is the best and the drinks are good. We are going back in August, it will be our third trip there this year....!!!

Room Tip: The fireplace rooms even in summer are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! Our chef has really worked hard on the menu, trying to keep it as fresh and local as possible. We are so glad you noticed! It sounds like you had a great time while visiting with us. It’s always nice to go somewhere and just feel relaxed and like you are at home!

We can’t wait to see you back again in August!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a difficult review to write. Why? I met several kind, helpful, cheerful, and welcoming people at the Fontana Resort. But the overall experience had some MAJOR issues that travelers should be aware of. First, the good stuff. The Mountainview Restaurant has taken a leap forward (versus their older reviews). The menu is well crafted and the entrees are quite good. They should be - this is not an inexpensive place. The smoked chicken is excellent, and the desserts (especially the peanut butter chocolate pie) are quite outstanding. The wait staff was friendly and reasonably efficient. There were other good people at the resort who deserve mention. Wendy, the massage therapist is excellent and her service is reasonably priced. I highly recommend! The woman at the nearby resort store was very kind, as she re-opened the gas pumps so that several of our group could get fuel after hours. I offered a tip, but she refused it, saying she was just doing her job. Kudos to all these nice folks.

But the negatives: The TV set in the room was vintage 1995. The remote worked spasmodically. I asked for a replacement, but was told that none were available. This would end up being the least of my concerns. Meanwhile, ground floor rooms reported an influx of earthworms and centipedes. When it was mentioned to the front desk, the nonchalant reply was "they come in when it rains." By this logic, I should have expected to also find a cow in my room. I would have been only somewhat off. I had just dozed off, when a brain-piercing scream from my wife woke me up. Yes, it was a rat. Smaller, black, and unafraid. So, I went to the desk and was told (you guessed it) "they come in when it rains." The security man brought sticky traps, but to no avail. I was comped for one night. Clearly, the front desk staff need additional training in communication, customer courtesy, and general business. Our stay wasn't a disaster, but it was much less than it might have been. That's sad, really.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank VetteRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our restaurant and noticed the progress it has made. Our chef has worked hard on the new menu! It’s great to hear that our Pit Stop staff was accommodating to your party as well. I do apologize if the rest of your trip wasn’t what you had envisioned it being. I also sincerely apologize if you had issues with unwanted pests in your room. While we do have pest control out on a regular basis, it is sometimes hard to keep all of the pests away. We do appreciate you sharing how your situation was handled and the feedback will be discussed with the appropriate departments.

We hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

No electricity when we arrived to check in, but wasn't a problem. The staff had a key card prepared, and gave us a candle so we could put our stuff in the room. The Wildwood grille was open and serving food cooked on grills. You have to give credit to the staff for working around something they had no control over.The electricity was back on shortly. The Hawaiian pizza at the grill was great. All the food we had was good and the staff was superb. We made two trips to Bryson City and the drive is nice. Noticed different things each time. Recommend taking the sunset cruise from the marina. Also recommend the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TRunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us! It sounds like you had a great time and we are very happy for that! We have a very dedicated staff that is always quick to work together, especially in hard times like that! Power outages are not fun, so we are glad that it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience for you! Our kitchen staff has really worked hard this year to ensure the food is a step above!

We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
722 reviews
7.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Robbinsville
663 reviews
17.4 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
96 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
24.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range: £98 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing