We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort in the Smoky's!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice resort in the Smoky's!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Left me first start with the fact that I have been in the hotel business for over 20 years so I really understand hotels. This hotel did a very good job for what it is. My partner and I were there for the Miata's at the Gap event and truly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a Ritz Carlton then go there, that's not was this resort is all about. It's a remote mountain resort that is reasonably priced and relaxing to be at. Our room was in the main lodge and although not the newest it was clean and we found the bed to be very comfortable. The balcony was nice to sit on overlooking the pool area. We used all of the facilities over the 4 days we were there. The Lodge Pool is definitely the spot…no kids, quiet and relaxing. We spent several days at this pool. The general store is well stocked and provided anything we really needed in a pinch. Had ice cream several times and it was nice to wind down the day sitting on the large front porch. The Wildwood Grille has a huge outdoor covered seating area and we eat there several times. The food is basic but still well prepared. The staff was friendly and took good care of us every time. What was really a nice treat was the Bistro up in the main lodge. It's a little expensive for western North Carolina but being from NY/NJ area it was fairly priced. The food was absolutely excellent. As good as we have had anywhere. We were comparing it to some of our favorite places in the NYC! The service was excellent. I wish we would have had another meal there as it was a highlight of our stay. The fresh baked bread and butter were a nice addition. The pork loin was superb! We couldn’t have asked for more. The resort even had hoses, buckets and sponges available to wash our cars as we Miata people are a little picky about keeping our cars clean. We will definitely be back again next year for the Miata event. Thanks for taking care of us car people…we loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mullyinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It is so nice to hear that you had such an amazing trip! We really look forward to our Miata event each year and always love hearing about the trips. It sounds like you were able to really enjoy the onsite amenities and get some rest and relaxation in. There is a variety of things to do here to please everyone! The Grill porch is definitely the place to be this time of year, especially if you enjoy outdoor dining. As for the Mountview, it sounds like we really exceeded your expectations – and for that we are thrilled! The Chef has worked hard on the menu and loves to read comments such as this one.

We can’t wait to have you guys all back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    164
    91
    40
    25
See reviews for
156
164
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a corporate event in June. The area is absolutely breathtaking and very secluded which made it nice for a weekend getaway. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating, the pool was nice, but the rooms were awful. Our room had a plastic cup with cigarette ashes/butts in it out on the balcony which leads me to believe the housekeeping did a subpar job of cleaning. The rooms are very outdated, the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and the bedding was scratchy. Luckily I had read online about the rooms so I had brought my own pillows and comforter and I recommend everyone do the same. The internet only works in the main lobby area so be prepared to not have service most of the time, which was actually quite nice to unplug and get away. The location and the main area of the lodge are very nice, but this hotel definitely needs a renovations on the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlk676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery and just relax for the weekend. Our cell and internet service are works in progress, but it sounds like you enjoyed “unplugging” for the weekend! We appreciate your feedback regarding the issues with your lodging. It’s feedback like this that helps us to improve and make changes that our guests are asking for.

Thanks again for sharing with us and we hope to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived on our Harleys, after touring Gettysburg and riding the Blue Ridge Parkway, ready to relax, before conquering the Dragon. FV was the perfect place. Had a 2-bedroom cabin, with full kitchen and living room. Large deck to enjoy the outdoors. The complex has it all, a lodge, cabana rooms, variety of cabins, dining room, grill, general store, ice cream parlor, laundromat, 2 pools (1 with a lazy river), entertainment and more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for making us part of your vacation! It sounds like you were able to get in some great riding on your trip! We do indeed have a little bit of everything here. We have a wide variety of lodging that will accommodate most any needs. Our onsite services and retail outlets are very beneficial for travelers not wanting to leave the resort property. We are happy that you had such a great time with us and was able to enjoy our amenities while staying here!

We hope to see you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

1st off, if you are looking for some Disney style resort in the NC mountains, it doesn't exist. Fontana Village is a great little mountain resort that has obviously made improvements in most areas over the past 3-4 years. I would totally ignore reviews pre-2012. New owners and some very good staff hires have occurred. We just returned from our summer vacation with our 2 daughters (14 & 13) and we all had a GREAT time and are actually planning a family reunion next year. TONS to do within 30-45 minutes and our plan was to use Fontana Village as a base camp while we did hiking on the AT, driving tours (Tail of the Dragon, Cades Cove, etc), boating and white water rafting. Our plan changed a bit as they have quite a bit to do onsite and have their own Marina that has an exceptional staff. We did the Sunset Tour, rented a pontoon boat for the day and did a guided boat/hiking trip. Capt. Ken and JP were excellent with customer hospitality as were the ladies taking reservations. They also have kayak, canoe and SUP rentals and offer rides & pick ups for hikers and fishermen. Food on site was very good and again, the customer service impressed us. I would agree that the restaurant at the main lodge is a bit pricey but all 4 items we ordered were very good and the view alone was worth it. We enjoyed their little putt-putt course, pools, Frisbee golf course, hiking trails, live music and didn't get a chance to take in all the activities they offer on a daily basis like clogging lessons, square dancing, volleyball, softball and more.

We started off in an older and run down cabin, called to check on other options and were able to move to a great cabin the next day after a car rally left. Some of the cabins are older but we used our cabin as a base camp to sleep and maybe have 1 meal a day there. We were out and about the rest of the time. We had a great view of the GSM, lots of wildlife, everything worked just fine and we actually enjoyed the no wifi or cell service (they do have 3 Verizon hotspots on property) and if you are that addicted to your tech stay away from the great outdoors.

If you and/or your family are looking for a nice little mountain resort that is in a great location, offers excellent customer service and has lots to do nearby and actually quite a bit to do onsite, then Fontana Village would be a great decision.

Room Tip: Cabins 1714-1720 have best views and are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Wow! What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to share such positive and accurate feedback with us! It sounds like you and your family came and had some great quality family time together! The remoteness of the area is one of the things that most love best about this place! We have the greatest views and surroundings of most anywhere you can think to go. It’s wonderful that you were able to take in so many of the activities that we have to offer!

The staff we have on board are really what make Fontana Village Resort succeed. We appreciate that you were able to notice that as well! We have made quite a few changes in recent years and it makes it all worth it for our guests to see those changes! So thank you again for your visit and we are really excited to host your family reunion here next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stopped here on a trip to The Smokies. It was a decent price for the night. The Mountainview Restaurant in the lodge is quite pricey, the food was just ok, but the view was beautiful! Everything closes by 9 (or 10pm), so there isn't much to do after that. There is no internet access except in the main room of the lodge. Since there isn't anything to do at night, we tried to watch netflix on the laptop to no avail due to the poor internet connection.

Room Tip: If you're camping and want a room and shower for the night, this is a great place to go. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frodo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are happy you chose to stay with us during your recent trip. We definitely have one of the most beautiful views you will ever see! It can be quiet around here but it makes for some quality rest and relaxation….our internet connections are being expanded so we are hoping to offer better connectivity in the near future. We appreciate your feedback and hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at Fontana many times over the years. We love to drive the roads and enjoy the scenery. We have stayed in the lodge as well as in a cabin.
The staff are always friendly and willing to help in any way they can. I have found that if you ask for something they will do their best to help out.
We have travelled with cars, motorcycles, and trucks and found the lodge to be accommodating to our needs. They have a free "vehicle wash" area which really comes in handy.
Whenever we have stayed at Fontana we have found our rooms neat and clean. If we needed something we asked and received help. We had good service at the restaurant and the Grill. Yes, the prices are higher these days but the food is good and satisfying after a long day.
Many younger families stay at Fontana and there are many activities for them. Part of the fun is hearing the laughter and excitement from the kids. The marshmallow roast in the evening is really fun.
I was able to get phone reception as well as internet without any issues from my room (I have Verizon). I can't speak about the TV issues - I have never turned on the TV while I stayed there.
I do have a few suggestions:
There is poison ivy growing along some of the paths on the property. I know this is hard to get rid of but it's tricky to avoid it.
Bring back the lobby coffee/hot chocolate! For years the Lodge had free coffee, tea, or hot chocolate in the lobby. It was available any time and really hit the spot if you got a chill while out on the roads. Also, people gathered in the lobby, enjoyed a hot beverage, and visited with one another. Each room has small coffee makers now but it's not the same.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for such a great review! We love hearing stories like yours of folks who come year after year! It sounds like you really had a nice trip. We have expanded the Wi-Fi, so we are happy that you noticed better reception. The marshmallow roasts and other activities are so much fun to participate in! It’s like camping with the luxury of a nice bed to come back to!

Thanks for your suggestions as well. We made the changes with the coffee and hot tea this year as folks was always requesting in-room coffee makers! So we have been weighing that and appreciate your thoughts on it.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Yes, this is a resort, or so the name implies. So perhaps that is why the lodge has no in-room coffee makers, fridge, hairdryer, and has poor/limited wifi. The wifi was so bad, that we gave up trying to check email or upload photos until we got to our next place. But it is just the budget minded person in me that finds it distasteful to charge way over $100/night and then charge me over $5 for a cup of coffee, and then over $10 for breakfast. Well, this wasn't my kind of resort, and after one night we were ready for a cheap hotel, that offered unlimited coffee and muffins for $50-$70. But, hey, you are limited in this area, so you either pay their fees or drive 40 miles to Cherokee.

As mentioned by others, the view is nice, the lobby is pretty, and unfortunately a good portion of the parking is sloped, so if you're on motorcycles, hopefully you'll find a spot or two with level parking.

We ate dinner at the Fontana Village 'Wildwood Grill'. Ten of us on the porch, very nice views, but it took over an hour to get our food, and it seemed pricey. I got a cold sandwich, but I think it was supposed to be hot. Hey, I was with a group of riders and this is where they wanted to stay. It was ok, but only because of the group and the great riding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyOnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FontanaVillage, Guest Relations Manager at Fontana Village Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for recent visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Our hope is always that every guest has an amazing experience. We sincerely apologize if this was not the case for you and your group. We take each concern very seriously and we use these concerns to better ourselves. We hope you enjoyed the area and had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing