We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fontana Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 7 August 2007

The Blue Ridge Miata Club stayed here July 26-29 -07 with 12 rooms. This was our first stay and were pleasantly surprised. The Lodge was very nicely decorated and clean. Everyone enjoyed the food especially the Filet Migon, the best we have ever had. Our experience was enjoyed so much, most everyone made reservations for next year.

  • Liked — We enjoyed it all
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zoominVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    171
    93
    41
    26
See reviews for
160
175
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

the weekend was very busy but as of Monday am the village was nearly deserted. Although that made for quiet, it also caused a lot of activites to not even open. The craft shop was closed from Sunday until Weds. afternoon, the pontoon boats were not taking passengers as there were not enough tourists to allow financial gain for the resort, the archery had been closed down permanently, and the craft and artisan shops in the local area were not even open due to low tourist volume. The cabins were in need of painting; they looked very unattractive to the eye. Our unit was an RCI condo on the 2nd floor and had been redone so it was nice and clean. The microwave had a leak in it and was leaking radiation when cooking. No supplies were furnished and items are priced very high at the general store. Everything must be bought there unless you travel many miles to the closest town 25 miles away over mountain roads. Not furnished; lotions, shampoo, tissues, dish soap, coffee filters,grills. We had a good time but I would not go back.would not go back. Barb

  • Liked — updated and clean compared to some of the cabins there
  • Disliked — 2nd floor with MANY steps; no alternative to climbimg them with bad knees and luggage, shops not open
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank granmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Last Time we went was in 2003 and I will say that the grounds have been upgraded a great deal. But now they have turned the gas station into a pub and seem to just cater to adults. My kids were looking forward to playing paintball as they had in the past, but nobody could tell me anything about it. The food was still substandard and the staff still didn't have a clue. The boat dock has been upgraded and they moved registration to the hotel (now called "THE LODGE" ) I guess if you change it to a rustic name you have an excuse to not improve it. it is a good place to go to get away from it all but after a few days you can get a little bored and want to go to Gatlinburg and have some real fun.

  • Liked — The cooler temps in the mountains
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank flatlander799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

My family has been going to Fontana ever since I can remember. Sure, it has had its changes in managment, better and worse years, etc. But overall, you cannot beat the price and the activities. We never lack for things to do - minigolf, golf, tenis every day, swimming, boating and waterskiing on the lake, tour the dam, whitewater rafting, endless hiking, squaredancing, softball games, horseback riding. It it the perfect family getaway.

  • Liked — Flexibility - cabins have full kitchen, can change linens whenever you want, etc.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SherieVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Fontana Village Resort for 4 nights in
July, 2007. Now, if you want some place to go to and never leave during your vacation, renting a cabin at the Fontana Village might be
for you. However, if you are people who want to go do other things
and just want a hotel room, don't stay there. Also, if you're handicapped, I don't see how you could have a good time.

We stayed in room 110 on the first floor. Easy, right? Nope. First of
all, you enter the hotel on the second floor. To get to the first floor, you have to go down a flight of steps, then get in the elevator. This was a pain at check in. We thought we were smart when we got a bell cart to take all of our stuff to the room. We had to stop at the top of the steps, bring the luggage down, and then load it on a bell cart on floor 1.5. Then we went down to our room.

Our room was just that. A room. We had no fridge, no microwave, no coffee maker, no hair dryer, no ironing board and iron. We turned the
A/C on the moment we arrived and never turned it off. The room was ALWAYS humid. The sink is outside the bathroom and is very small. There's no real room to lay out your toiletries and all that other stuff. We did manage to borrow an iron & board from the housekeeping staff. It was one of those little apartment half size ones, and it was broken. You can get some coffee outside of the main restaurant, but it was absolutely terrible. The Fontana will never have to worry about anyone making off with the toiletries they provide.

We ate one night at the restaurant in the main lodge. It was pretty empty, but we didn't go until 7 pm. They were out of the salmon on the menu. My husband ordered the trout, and was later told they were out of that too. The dinner entrees are not cheap. You can't get a steak for less than $22.00. Salad is not included with any of the entrees. Since he couldn't get the fish, my husband ordered the half chicken. It was half cooked. We sent it back and it was taken off the
bill. I noticed a couple other people only ate part of their half chickens also. My chicken and pasta dish was quite blah. For one
dinner and one beer, our bill was $20, before the tip.

I will say the pool was great! Nice and warm but not too warm. Not sure if there was a hot tub. We checked out the indoor pool once, but
it was SO hot in there.

If you want to go anywhere off the property, plan on driving for an hour. I'm not joking. When they say the place is remote, they mean remote. Route 28 is known as the Hellbender, and that's no joke either. It's very curvy. A motorcycle or sports car would be cool, but it's not that much fun over and over in anything else. The Hellbender Gas Station at the resort ran about 50 cents higher on it's gas prices than anywhere else, but like I said, you'll have to drive to get anywhere.

I would say that if you rented a cabin where you had a kitchen, it would be much nicer, but that costs more. It's also not as close to the main lodge or outdoor pool. If you're bringing the family, stay in a cabin, and enjoy all that the resort has to offer. The hotel room is $99 and just not worth it. If you want to go other places, I suggest staying in Dillsboro or Cherokee. Rooms are much cheaper, easier access to restaurants, activities,etc. and more amenities.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The remoteness of the resort
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank SulleysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2007

Yes the old dogwood cabins are well... old cabins and you expect to get what you pay for right? But they do have newer nicer cabins for a higher price.

We don't go there to hide in the cabin anyway. We go there for the outdoors, the lovely scenery , cooking over the open fire and visiting at the annual reunion of freinds that collect there for a week every summer. A good time is always had by all!

A great place for children to run around with their friends, they even have an activies cabin where the kids go do crafts at.

They also boast the best fireworks desplay in the Smokey Mountains on the 4th of July.

I sure have some fun memories from years of Fontana Village!

Helpful?
4 Thank LindaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

Very pleasant rooms, excellent location. Overall property has been much upgraded since the change in management. A great place for travelers watching the autumn colors.

  • Liked — location, rustic lobby
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 77leagueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fontana Dam
6.6 mi away
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
Historic Tapoco Lodge Resort
#2 of 6 in Robbinsville
656 reviews
7.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
17.3 mi away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
21.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
16.0 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 22 in Bryson City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontana Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontana Village Resort

Property: Fontana Village Resort
Address: 300 Woods Rd, Fontana Dam, NC 28733-7603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Fontana Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fontana Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fontana Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fontana Village Resort, a year round destination resort, is set amidst the pristine beauty of the Nantahala Forest of western North Carolina, gateway to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Village has a wide range of accommodations, including rooms in the intimate settings of The Lodge, suites, cabins in the forest, as well as RV & tent camping on Cheoah Lake. Add conference space, complimentary wi-fi service, restaurants and lounges, General Store, gift shops, outfitters, pools, marina, fitness center, mountain bike shop, miles of on-site trails suitable for biking and hiking, and it's easy to see why Fontana is a Great Smoky Mountain Destination. The resort offers an assortment of dining options including the Mountview Restaurant and the Wildwood Grill offering resort-casual dining and event catering. The Pitstop offers a fast fare menu for guests or travelers on the go. If watersports are on your itinerary during your stay, the Fontana Marina, located on the beautiful 30 mile long Fontana Lake, has an assortment of different watercraft rentals and equipment available. The Marina's ship store offers a complete line of tackle, light groceries and snacks and anything else guests might need for a perfect day on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Fontana Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Village Hotel Fontana Dam
Fontana Village Fontana Dam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing