We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected hospitality!”
Review of Stay At Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stay At Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Forest City
Mills River, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected hospitality!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Inexpensively priced for one night, gracious attentive services, and personalities to match! As an African American patron of services recieved, it was nice to have a great room and with an exceptionally clean bathroom. Having great service without stating the obvious being still apparent in this wonderful Country, I call home it is nice to be treated as a human being and not have noses up in the air! This room was equipped with a refrigerator and microwave for under $90 a night! Convenient location, non-smoking, two- queen beds, the amenities were accomodating. Thank you for all your extra hard work and comforts of home away from home. Definitely recommend this hotel and I will use this one again the next time I am in Forest City.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for but when you get more than expected you get more! Corner suites are large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENDRE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc340, General Manager at Stay At Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.



Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    4
    6
    17
See reviews for
14
3
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Quality inn, in Forest City is where I stay every time I am in the town. Born and raised there. The family is very close. Until recently, back in April of 2011, I was there for three nights, the last night I got up at about three am to use the bathroom. I notice a small spot on the wall....thinking that it could be a roach. I took a picture with my cell that didn't come out too well. That next morning, I was trying to report it to the clerk, he could not understand english as well, so I just let go. About two to three weeks later, I noticed that i had a rash on my arms and lower legs. They itched terribly. I told a friend what was going on and she mention bed bugs? I went home and pulled it up. After reading about bed bugs, i went to my bed to check. They were there. I am not saying that I got them from this hotel, but the bug I saw that last night that I had stayed look alot alike. The quality has gone down there and I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: In my reading, make sure that you pull the covers back and expose sheets, and bed pads before you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toccoa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Sat. Oct. 22,2011 My family decided to take a road trip to Chimney Rock, all hotels booked, we ended up in Forest City for hotel. Checked in with price $69.99 plus tax, room nasty, hotel smelled. Checked out Sunday a.m. I discover on my bank statement Tuesday Oct. 25 that I was charged extra $80.00. Telephoned hotel spoke supposedly to the manager. I ask why I was charged extra $80.00 he states that we stole comforter(white). This is bold face lie. Me, my husband,my 12yro son and 15yro daughter did not leave that hotel with a comforter. As a matter of fact the hotel was so out dated and nasty I felt like I needed a bath when we left, let alone take anything with me. I even washed my bags. The so called manager argued with me that we took the comforter and refused to refund my money. I told him I was calling corporate headquarters and filing a complaint, to which I did, unfortunately they can only take the complaint and not refund any monies, any refund has to come from the hotel itself. So I am in a battle right now for my $80.00. Save yourself time and money do not stay here!!! They obviously do this to make extra money, so I will post on evey site possible regarding this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Forest City hotels

Sylva, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Not much about the hotel was good. The breakfast was decent, the pool was ok except for the fact that it had so many chemicals you could barely see the bottem of the pool. Our air conditioner did not work, so they moved us to another room. In the new room, the refridgerater did not work. On the second night we stayed there, the owners tried to charge us $69.99 instead of the regular $59.99. We found out that they charged $10 a night for a roll away bed on the fourth night of stay. After we moved rooms AGAIN, they tried to tell us that it would cost $10 per night for each child in the room. It is not worth dealing with all the hassels while your supposed to be on vacation! i would not stay here again if my life depended on it! And i DEFINATLY would not recommend wasting your money on a nasty hotel like this one when you could stay at a better one right down the road

Room Tip: the best tip i can give you is: dont stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamie444444444444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel years ago for 4 weeks. The couple that owned the hotel then do not own it now and it shows. As others have said the hotel is not up to the standards of what a quality inn usually is. The room I stayed in had issues (shower head busted, TV reception was fuzzy, etc). I guess next time I'll try the Jameson or Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffLippincott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We waited a little too late to book reservations at another motel in the area and wound up staying here. Check in was ok until we found out they had put us on the 2nd floor. We had a lot of stuff to carry in that included a 60 pound guncase.
Evidenlty they are providing lodging for the crews that are working on the Facebook server farm that is being built down the road.
We noticed folks grilling out on the walkway outside their room. These guys were working at the location mentioned above and having to walk by a grill was a little annoying.
The room was non-smoking and it smelled clean and smoke free. Upon further looking we noticed a "fluid" on the bed skirt and on the floor. Not sure what it was but it sure looked bad. My sheets had marks like makeup and the pillows had little tiny black dots on them that almost looked like bed bug type markings.
I checked around the head boards and everything looked ok. The wash cloths were soiled, the towels were thin and tattered and the showerhead needed to be replaced.
The pool was not opened yet and it was warm enough to swim if it had in fact been opened. On Sunday morning we went to the breakfast room and noticed a fellow laying on the couch in the office. He was dead to the world until I walked in the door and then he popped up from a dead sleep and said - checking out?
I made a mistake in waiting too long to make a reservation at the Holiday Inn Express and I paid for it dearly. It is a shame that motels like this have fallen into management by folks that have no clue on how to manage a motel.
I slept good and being on the top floor and on a corner it was quiet for sure. We have another trip planned for July and hope to book a room at the HIE if at all possible or even the Jameson would be better than the QI.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxcdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherokee, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We arrived late on Friday night for a two night stay. As soon as we walked in the room the smell of cigarettes was overwhelming. As we started unpacking and settling in, my nine year old daughter froz in her tracks and would not sit any of her belongings down on the bed, floor or chair beside her. The floor looked as if it had not been vaccumed in quite some time, micorwave and fridge were covered in dust and grime. bathroom was flithy, tub was disgusting. We checked out the next morning and cut our stay a day short!!! I cant believe that Quality Inn allows this property to keep their franchise!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awildcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest City
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Forest City
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Forest City
18.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Firehouse Inn
The Firehouse Inn
#1 of 4 in Rutherfordton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
4.4 mi away
Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast
Carrier Houses Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Rutherfordton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay At Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay At Inn

Property: Stay At Inn
Address: 205 Commercial St, Forest City, NC 28043-2852 (Formerly Quality Inn Forest City)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Forest City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Forest City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay At Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay At Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Forest City
Forest City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing