We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great after all these years”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Standing Indian Campground
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great after all these years”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I last camped here back in the 80s as a kid. Recently I brought my kids to the campground and it was a great experience.

It's nice they added hot water to the showers and the firewood availability was a plus as well.

Room Tip: reserve a site through the federal website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redjedi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I started camping at Standing Indian as a child about 50 years ago. Of course, I've seen many upgrades over the years. The latest are the new restrooms and showers in loops 1-4. If you can camp without electricity this is the best place around. I spend 2 week there every summer and can always count on cool weather up there. The sun can get warm on those super hot days, but it's always pleasant in the shade. I've actually been there a couple of times when it's been as low as 42 degrees at night during the summer. It's a great place to escape from summer's heat. Afternoon thunder showers are very common, so be prepared for rain. It's a great campground for family camping. You could never find finer people than the ones who camp at Standing Indian. The one thing I don't like is the reservation system used in recent years. Some of the prettiest sites sit empty during the week since people reserve them for the weekends. Since I want to stay 2 weeks those sites are no longer available.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank 10HappyCamper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylva, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Our family has enjoyed this campground for many years.
Let me start by saying if you are looking for a place to pull in hook up to electricity/sewer then this place is not for you.. This is primitive camping it will accommodate rv's from class A down to tents there is community water spicket's and approved generators are allowed 8Am up to 10 Pm. There is a small country store snacks ice the basics but be prepared to spend more for some of these items so recommend you come with supplies you need and want as the drive back out to either Haysville or Franklin is quiet long . There is bath houses with hot showers There is no tv reception because of large tree cover so have your did player and movies for the kids same with cell phone reception unless you drive out about a mile + there is a pull off witch will give you just anouf reception to make a call . As I said primitive camping it is peaceful and unless there is campers that turn their wild kids loose to reek terror on fellow campers witch we have encountered it is basically quiet and peaceful.
There is host / security there if there is a serious issue needing attention . They welcome anyone who plays an instrument to bring it along I do and have gotten into several jam sessions there . Anyway that's the basics there is a web page that goes into much more detail . Maybe ill see you there in our class c or wigwam tent ...
Happy Camping.
Ps. Parents and children please remember this is mountain camping there is bears and poison snakes this is their home our last stay had to kill a copper head snake very close to our camp so be careful during your stay store food in safe place dispose of trash each evening keep your tent zipped up ....just use comin sense....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank revgreg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The campground is clean, shaded and offers a beautiful natural setting with many shaded sites. We stayed in site 34 which was not as shaded but would be great for someone who has solar panels since there is no electric hook ups in the campground. Bathrooms were clean with hot showers. The park offers many hiking trails some of which lead to beautiful waterfalls. We would definitely come back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank FLNewbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We traveled from Northern Virginia to have a week of camping leisure. This is a 9-10 hour drive in case you are interested. We reserved our site well in advance as we heard it filled up quickly. We arrived on a Thursday to find the camp 95 % full. Our site was 68, in the back loop. It was a beautiful site covered by pines and rhododendron. The gravel pad was level and dry. The site hosted a large firepit with grate and a concrete picnic table. Potable water is 2 sites down and the trash is directly in front of this site. The bathhouses in loop 5 are not new. The other loops have very nice new bathhouses. The walk to the bathhouse was a little difficult, since we were at the top of a hill. We often just drove to use the facilities in the new bathhouses. As night fell, the temperature dropped significantly, 80 degrees to 50 degrees. It was very pleasant, but pack warmer clothes. No biting bugs to be seen. But at night, the bugs started sounding around 8pm. It was a wonderful sound, the humming was very relaxing. In the middle of the night, a pack of coyotes began howling. It was a strange but beautiful sound.
Bears wander this campground frequently, as we were told by the camp store owner. We were told to lock our coolers and all food in our car. Nothing at all should be left out or in your tent. We willingly followed these instructions.

The first night, we were too exhausted to hear anything other than the drunken southern campers, enjoying their weekend get away. I swear more than one had packed up their entire kitchen and set it up in a portable garage they brought in their big diesel trucks. The peace and quiet we sought was absent these first few nights. Loud music, loud talking and yelling. The position of our site seemed to echo every metal sound or loud voice. But, we tolerated this well as the site is beautiful.

Night two : The thunks and snorts started. BEARS ! I woke up to hear a bear rubbing at the trash cans. I could hear foot steps in the gravel in the parking space. I could hear what sounded like something trying to lift the handle of the car doors. The growls started. I held my breath and woke my husband. We turned on the flash lights and were able to scare off the bear by sounding the car alarm. Slowly, site by site down the hill, all did the same. It sounded like a parking lot in the city.
Several times we heard voices yelling "GIT BEAR" . No actual encounter but enough to keep you up at night.

Day Four: While cooking breakfast at 8:30am, we hear our neighbor yell "BEAR". Sure enough, it was walking down to our site. It followed the creek behind our site and planted itself for a stare down about 20 feet from us. We yelled and waived our hands. He paused for a minute.... a long minute... and then wandered off. We looked at each other and in our sleep deprived state decided it was time to move on. Every little sound we heard at night kept us awake and prevented us from being able to sleep.

We ended up traveling to Cherokee Ruby and Sapphire mine for the day. It is a wonderful place. By far the best in our opinion. It is a true mine, not salted. The owners are wonderful and very helpful. The stones we found were beautiful. We had several cut at the Cowee Lipidary. The owner is a unique fellow, give him time to warm up. While driving to the mine, we noticed a sign for Bates Cabins. We called the number and spoke to Mr. Bates. He was very helpful and offered us Cabin #1 for a few nights. We were thrilled when we got to our cabin. A Five bedroom log cabin. There was a flume and mine right on the property, ours to use for free. We had a great time sifting through the dirt and pulling out small rubies and sapphires. The cabin was wonderfully stocked. It was decorated with lots of hand carved furniture and many rockers on the covered porch for relaxing. We will return here again !

Other interesing places: Travel route 64 to the Highlands and it's waterfalls. This road is not for the faint of heart. Continue past Highlands a few miles and visit the Carolina BBQ for true home cooking. Stameys Cafe in Franklin (the best cheap eats for breakfast) Blueridge Roadhouse for great steaks. Cowee Lipidary for gem identification. Sunset Cafe for a quick country dinner. Antique shops in Franklin. The visitor center in Franklin should be your first stop.... very helpful.

This was a wonderful trip with our surpise ending. Beautiful country.... despite the beasts. We will return again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Lschubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARTOW, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The closest town is Franklin, NC, about 25 minutes away. There are many hiking trails in the standing Indian Basin, including several in the campground itself. The Appalachian Trail crosses Old Murphy Road at the entrance to the campground and a mile or so toward US 64 there is another trailhead. Winding Stair Gap trailhead for the AT is right out on US 64 near the entrance to the campground. The campground is located on the headwaters of the Nantahala River and it runs through the campground. Kimsey Creek flows near the rear loop. The elevation is 3,880'. There are hot showers and the baths are new except in the back loop. There is potable water in each loop at common faucets. Standing Indian Basin is a popular fishing area that requires an in-state or out-of-state North Carolina fishing license.

Most sites are only available by reservation at http://www.reserveamerica.com . Sites 72-84 in the back loop are walk up only. The back loop is not quite as new and the fire rings, tent pads and picnic tables are not quite as nice as the front loops, but still in decent condition.

Bears roam at night, so be sure not to leave any food lying around. Put coolers in your vehicle. I scared a small bear off by yelling at him when he prowled around my site at midnight. Expect it to be about 10-15 degrees colder at this elevation than the temps in Franklin.

A short trip towards Haysville on US 64 will bring you by a house with tons of firewood piled up in the yard. They will sell you a truck load or smaller amounts if you ask. It will be much cheaper than the bundles at grocery stores or vegetable stands.

A Forest Service road (gravel) behind the campground will take you into the backcountry past beautiful waterfalls, a ridge called Pickens Nose and will finally come out on US 441 near Otto, NC. It is well worth the trip and the road is in good condition and can be driven in a car. A short distance from the campground you will ford a stream on a concrete pad near a primitive campground.

If you don't mind running off a bear or two and not having electricity, this is a great campground. It is one of the prettiest in NC.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Pappy_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This is a great place for camping. We have staid here a couple of times. The first time was in Oct 2008. I would recommend staying here in the fall for all the leaf colors. Drive to the top of the mountain and you will be amazed at all the colors.

Some of the camping spots are too close together but that's not such a big deal. Most people camping are super nice.

The campground host are super nice. They are volunteers that stay the whole camping season.

This campground is in the mountains. You are 20 minutes east or west from any kind of store. So stock up before coming in or you've got a long drive to pick up groceries.

In Oct 2009 they closed the campgrounds early to do some bathroom renovations.

I'm definitely going back next camping season (they are only open May - Oct).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hobbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franklin hotels
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
5.0 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#7 of 12 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Carolina Motel
Carolina Motel
#2 of 12 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 12 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 12 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standing Indian Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standing Indian Campground

Property: Standing Indian Campground
Address: 3829 Old Murphy Rd, Franklin, NC 28734-7702
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Franklin
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Standing Indian Campground Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing