We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat visit didn't disappoint”
Review of Rivendell Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivendell Cabins
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Repeat visit didn't disappoint”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was my second trip to Rivendell Cabins this year. This time I stayed in the Rivendell cabin. Loved having the hot tub right on the porch. This is an entirely different place each visit, depending on the seasons. As before, the cabin was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The homemade, fresh blackberry jam Nina left on our porch one day while we were out was a wonderful surprise. She is a most hospitable host. Rivendell once again was everything we hoped for, a quiet, secluded mountain getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivendell9a, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review, 29 July 2016
Please imagine the joy your words are for me, especially when I read a review that is opposite of what you just posted! From within come the thoughts and intents of the heart and you have served to enlighten my life knowing the little things I do are appreciated and what I neglect to do are not magnified. Thank you very much for your generosity in spirit.
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our cabin was spacious, quiet, and serene. Everything was there other than food (except cookie mix and hat chocolate). Nina scripps our hostess checked in on us to make sure all was well. We really enjoyed the spa while sitting in a light rain and had our "vibation" looking out over the most beautiful views.

I would highly recommend Rivendell Cabins. Travel and stay USA!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The cabins are spacious, homey and clean. Beautiful setting on the side of a mountain. Very gracious hostess, knowledgeable about the area. We especially enjoyed sitting in the hot tub in a light rain enjoying the serene setting and spectacular views. Our family is already planning this to be an annual three generation girls get away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our family loved staying in the Rivendell cabins the last week of September into October. The autumn views & the mountain sun's rising & setting there are a spectacular sight to behold. There are regional waterfalls galore to explore & quaint shopping & cafes in the towns of Franklin & Highlands.

Our family stayed in the Rivendell & Evenstar cabins. Nina is a wonderful hostess & the cabins were clean & well stocked with all that we needed to relax & enjoy our time together even laundry detergent. Thank you for a wonderful retreat!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I have been here two times before and coming again the end of September. For me this is a piece of heaven on a side of a mountain. Nina is a very nice person and will do what she can to accommodate you. Yea it can be a little tricky getting there, but I like that, this is the mountains not the beach, that's the price to pay to get off the beaten path. Sharp turns, they call them switch-backs, in the mountains and dirt roads are common. If you want something easy stay on the highway at the e-lodge. It's not that bad getting there I would recommend coming in the first time in the light. The thing I love about Nina's mountain is the quiet. Sitting on the porch and listening to all the noise. People would be amazed at what there is to hear when there is no one to make noise. You can't hear the highway, no cars, no horns, just the local wildlife, the wind through the leaves, an occasional dog barking and the cows mowing to each other in the valley below. That's what I love about your mountain it's a place to come to learn how to listen when there is nothing to hear but the mountains around you. We stayed at the smallest of the 3 cabins the Evenstar. Everything you need is there Nina keeps it well kept and clean. The decor is typical Smoky Mountain back country decor very homey. But sure and sit on the porch as the sun sets then turns to dark and just listen that is my favorite part. Your far enough off the main roads you DO NOT hear any traffic. As the sun sets the mountain comes alive with noise, the crickets, the cicadas, tree frogs, whippoorwills if your lucky you mite get to hear an owl hooting. I just can't wait to get back to Rivendale of the Smoky Mountains of North Carolina.
Bruce & Amber

Room Tip: Just give Nina a call she's realnice to talk to
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We came in July and stayed in Rivendell Cabin, the largest of the three. We had 2 families (8 of us total) and we all fit comfortably inside. Everything we needed was there... towels, pots, dishes, silverware, cleaning supplies. It was great to not have to think about anything except food. Cabin was very neat and clean. There is also a relaxing hot tub, which we spent a lot of time in. The views are absolutely BREATHTAKING! Nothing like drinking your morning coffee on the porch admiring the scenery. Highly recommend to anyone... we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivendell9a2, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you Karsies family for your review and for taking the time to post your view of our cabins. It was our joy having you as guests in our cabin! Thank you too for honouring our location by leaving it clean and having your trash ready for our pickup on trash days.
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We drove 6 + hours to arrive to Rivendell Vacation Cabins. Due to the continuous rain / weather conditions, when we arrived, and proceeded up the mountain, the mountain was so saturated with rain, our Ford 250 truck would not make it up the mountain. We attempted several times to go up the mountain, and became stuck. We then had to back in reverse back down around the winding dirt road and mountain. This was a very dangerous situation. We called Nina Scripps and requested our deposit be refunded. We were not a “no show”, as, we attempted and could not make it up the mountain without risking our lives.

Her reply was “she does not give refunds”, and, “it was our driving skills that caused us not to be able to go up to the top of the mountain”, and “she never had a problem in the past with anyone trying to get up the mountain”. These are the most ridiculous comments I have ever heard from any person who is in a customer oriented business.

I would not recommend staying at this cabin.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onyxrivera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivendell9a2, Owner at Rivendell Cabins, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
My apologies folks. This guest did not respond to an offer to stay at another location, a fine motel in Franklin at my expense. I also offered them their time in the cabin if they came another date. There was not response to either of these offers. Our policy is clearly stated. We did all that was expected of us and more in this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
2.5 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#7 of 12 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
9.7 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Carolina Motel
Carolina Motel
#2 of 12 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Cabins

Property: Rivendell Cabins
Address: 536 Henderson Rd, Franklin, NC
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivendell Cabins are located in Franklin, North Carolina, in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains. These vacation rentals are located only 4 miles from the Town of Franklin offering secluded, private cabins, not located in a cluster of other cabins. Each of the Rivendell Vacation Cabins is fully furnished with everything to make you feel at home in the North Carolina Mountains. Each vacation rental includes: full kitchen and laundry, paper and soap products, bedding and towels, hot tubs, fireplaces, satellite TV with all channels, central heat and a/c, private phone lines, VCR/DVD and movies, stereo, and so much more. You only need bring your clothes, personal items and foods. We have made every effort to provide an allergy free, convenient and relaxing environment for your vacation. The Rivendell Cabin is handicap accessible. We welcome children and pets. Whenever you visit there is a natural show of wonder that inspires your heart to lift. From the cabins there are views of mountain ranges and beyond, in season, a show of wildflowers, blackberries, elderberries, ginseng, persimmon and the like in the mountains of Western North Carolina. Rivendell Cabins now accept credit cards for your convenience. Contact us today and schedule your vacation in the mountains of Western North Carolina. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing