We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Well-Equipped Home With Fabulous View”
other travellers have booked this property
Aerial Photogrpah w/ Location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial Photogrpah w/ Location
The Property\'s Lower Driveway View from the Side of the Mountain towards the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Aerial Photogrpah w/ Location
The Property\'s Lower Driveway
View from the Side of the Mountain towards the House
Living Room - Three Leather Burgundy Couches surround the 20Ft. High Rock Wood Burning Fireplace
Living Room View towards Loft Upstairs & Dining Room
Views from the Main Level Terrace
One of the Neighbors Dropping In to have a Snack
Typical Sunrise
Views from the Main Level Terrace
Hot Tub view from Main Level Terrace
Dining Room
Gourmet Kitchen, Granite Countertops, Solid Wood Cabinets, 2 Dishwashers, Stainless Steel Appliances
Kitchen Looking towards Living Room
Main Level - One of the Guest Bedrooms - Queen Size Bed
Main Level - Full Bathroom
Main Level - Second Guest Bedroom
Loft - Full Bath, Three Single Beds, Entertainment Center w/ HDTV, DVD, & Ccomponent Stereo System
View from the Loft down towards the Living Room
Master Bedroom w/ Gas Fireplace. Hot Tub Outside on this Terrace
Full Size Hot Tub on Master Bedroom Terrace
Views from the Master Bedroom Terrace
Hot Tub Looks out to Mountain Views
Master Bathroom - Full Size Tub & Shower
Lower Suite - Wood Burning Stove
Lower Suite - Bedroom
Lower Suite - Full Bathroom
Lazy Morning Sunrise; Smoky Mountain Style
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Franklin, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blb1211
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Beautiful Well-Equipped Home With Fabulous View”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have rented many vacation homes over the years and Above the Clouds is by far the nicest rental property where we have ever stayed. The property totally lives up to the pictures and descriptions that were provided prior to booking. We were fortunate and had an afternoon when the clouds did roll in below us and then they rose to envelop us and then they cleared up - it was beautiful! It is also the cleanest rental property we have ever stayed in. The house is very well kept and very well appointed with very nice bedding, linens, and a very well equipped kitchen including a dishwasher and disposal, which are rare in rental homes in the mountains. We thoroughly enjoyed using the large gas grill. We loved all the decks and the fact that they are secured so there was no fear of a dog getting loose while out on a deck. In addition, we accidentally left an item behind at the house and the housekeeper was very kind and responsive and found the item and sent it back to us very quickly. I cannot say enough about the quality of this property and the care that is taken of it. I highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a vacation rental around the Franklin or Highlands areas in North Carolina.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse I
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Spacious Mountain Home with Gorgeous Views”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This place was awesome. Lots of room to stretch out. We had seven people and could easily have fit three more. There was a whole extra bedroom not even advertised. Secluded and quiet, but near lots of great attractions. Description should probably be changed since waterfall on property is no longer accessible, but there are tons more nearby. Well stocked kitchen was a highlight along with the modern furnishings throughout. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errol M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing view, convenient location.”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We only get to go on a trip once a year, for a week., so we always like to have a great view. We loved the view of the mountains and valley. The fact that you had that view from every floor was a bonus. We also thoroughly enjoyed hanging out with the hummingbirds. I never realized they would get so close to you. Although some peripheral items could have used a cleaning, especially the ceiling fans, all the areas that you come into contact with were clean. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissia...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We could have stayed forever”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This house has plenty of space allowing for everyone to do their own thing or to all gather for a meal, movie, or game night together. The view is amazing! Breath-taking! From every level of the house and the large porches, you can see down the mountain and into the valley. We even saw an eagle flying across the valley one morning and there were several hummingbirds chirping around the feeder daily. We only had two dislikes with our stay. One was the hot tub - even though it was a nice model and very well placed, you cannot make it any hotter than 104. Not really a big problem, but this is the only thing we did not find to be absolutely perfect. The other dislike is that we had to leave. This is truly a beautiful home and well-maintained. We will visit again or maybe find a way to stay forever.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rcw32
Crescent City, Florida
1 review
“Couldn't have been any better”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have a group of bikers that go to the mountains every year. There are eight of us and we couldn't have found a better place to stay. This is our third trip to the cabin and we will be back next year. Great views and a very roomy place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily O
2 reviews
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Could not ask for a better stay. Quiet, clean and beautiful. Large well equipped house. Fireplaces, hot tub made our stay so cozy and relaxing. Will definitely be back! Already miss the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie B
1 review
“Wonderful location, spectacular view!”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This property was perfect for our family vacation! Clean, well kept, close to town, and the view from the balcony is just amazing. The owners and caretakers were very responsive and made sure our stay was enjoyable and we had everything we needed. We had a lovely stay and look forward to visiting again in the future!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing