We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, beautiful campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Creek Campground & Cabins
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal location, beautiful campground”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My college-age daughter & I wanted a camping trip but we don't have a tent. Found the perfect alternative in the Phoenix Cabin at the attractive, friendly, well-maintained Rose Creek Campground. With its small but well equipped kitchen and bathroom with plenty of towels, the cabin let us feel close to nature with less work than a tent. We especially enjoyed sitting on the porch for reading,eating, watching the sky and the birds and just relaxing. Being able to bring my dog was a real plus. The campground is an easy drive into town or to waterfalls and hiking trails. We would gladly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daylily151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We just returned from a trip to Franklin where my sister's family rented Phoenix cabin at Rose Creek and we rented the adjoining campsite (22). This little campground, in a pristine location tucked away in the foothills of Franklin, was remarkably quiet, extremely clean (spotless). The best part was the friendly and helpful staff. I felt like I was visiting dear old friends who were always ready to do anything they could to ensure we had a great vacation. Very pet and people friendly. A nice little community of friendly folk. We even had fun spending an afternoon at the pool that was also clean and decent sized.

Easy drive to waterfalls, Cherokee, SMNP, Little Tennessee River, and town of Franklin.

Loved the construciton of the Phoenix. It was quaint - would be perfect for 2 adults with 2 kids in the loft, but with 4 adults, 2 of them might not appreciate the loft bed (it's rather rustic). The bath and kitchenette (with full sized fridge) were fully stocked with towels, washcloths, cooking utensils, pans, glasses, etc., which makes it so much easier to pack for vacation. The huge front yard offered a great view and the little ones loved rolling down (over and over) in their sleeping bags and running around to catch fireflies.

Rose Creek Mine (separate review) is located within the campground, which made walking over there easy for the whole family.

We'll definitely return to this picturesque little campground with the friendly folks with big smiles.

Room Tip: The Phoenix is nice, but only for two adults and 2 younger folks. Site 22 (our site) was right up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveland colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is what camping should be. What a pleasant surprise to find this little gem just outside of Franklin North Carolina. We stayed here in 2010 and in 2012. Once with our little travel trailer and once in the yurt...I prefer the yurt. Simply put, I loved it so much I tried to buy it....wish I had.

Room Tip: The Yurt is very quiet at night and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank croc1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We needed a place where our little doggie could stay with us and this was perfect. The Foxfire cabin while rustic, tucked in a small wooded clearing was very quiet and the full size bed was comfortable. There was a half fridge, microwave, coffee pot, toaster and color TV. Renee checked us in and was so refreshingly nice felt like we had made a new friend. The only thing I would advise you is to bring microwave safe dishes, silverware, mugs and drinking glasses. The fire pit while nice to sit by doesn't have a grate for cooking outside. Also, a good flashlight as there is not a porch light to leave on at night and is a bit dark coming back for the night.

Room Tip: Foxfire cabin while smaller, no shower and fewer service items was tucked in a small clearing. Gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CINDIFRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I'm going back in a couple of weeks. We had a blast! Loved mineing for rubysawesome time! They girls at the campground were the sweetest!! Love ya and you all will see me again real soon! From the Indiana girls!! Suzy, and kandi

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzyqrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.8 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#7 of 12 in Franklin
36 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 12 in Franklin
145 reviews
6.8 mi away
Carolina Motel
Carolina Motel
#2 of 12 in Franklin
211 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nantahala Village
Nantahala Village
#4 of 21 in Bryson City
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Creek Campground & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Creek Campground & Cabins

Property: Rose Creek Campground & Cabins
Address: 140 Terrace Ridge Dr, Franklin, NC 28734-0869
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Creek Campground and Cabins is a very friendly place for a memorable and rustic camping experience. Franklin's Hidden Treasure, located in a serene valley, we have a trout pond, swimming pool and gem mining just a few short steps away... Come visit us for Smoky Mountain fun! Whether you are traveling in an RV or looking for a place to tent, we have what you are looking for! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing