We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, warm and friendly!”
Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, warm and friendly!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The motel was exceptionally clean. And the employees were very kind and courteous! It was a very relaxing and enjoyable trip. The mountains were beautiful. I will definitely make a return visit sometime in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    55
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
75
86
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

For the price I rated this hotel a 5 star because for the price it was great. Hotel staff was really friendly and helpful. Gave us ideas on gem mines, hikes and waterfalls, and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. New tv and refrigerator as well. Great old timely feel to hotel, one story and park outside of your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5bottomspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greentown
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is the cleanest hotel I ever stayed at! I have been here 6 times in the in 5 years! I live in PA and went out of my way to stay here! The owners are the nicest people and take pride in there business and go out of there way to make sure you have a great stay! Hello from Scranton!!!!!!

Room Tip: Cabin around back! They are so, nice and can fit 4-5 people easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 84countrystore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed at this motel back in July. We stayed two nights while gem hunting in Franklin. The front desk person was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was simple but enough to fill you up for a busy day. Bathroom was remodeled so it was great. The only thing I could pick on was the TV stand. The TV was set on a top of a small unstable table that looked like about to fall any minute. They do not provide hair dryer but you can borrow one from the front desk and bring it back the next morning. The room also equiped with microwave oven and small fridge. We were able to enjoy late night popcorn while watching TV. For the price you pay, this is an excellent motel. It is also close to many resturants and gem mines. You do need to call before heading out to eat. Some resturants close as early as 8 pm. We will sure to stay at this motel if we visit Franklin again. They don't have many rooms so you do want to book earlier.

Room Tip: Booking ahead online would save about $5 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texas072012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolina09
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the Carolina Motel for our Thanksgiving vacation. Every thing from check in to check out went very smoothly and the staff was awesome!!! The rooms are very spacious with flat screen TV's and mini-fridge.The entire property is as clean as the room, you can tell management and employees take great pride in what they do. We had breakfast in the morning and enjoyed the French toast, the lobby was decorated for the holidays and looked beautiful. the staff directed us to some fabulous restaurants- Café Rel and Blue Ridge Road House both were great. We also did a day trip to the Highlands, I would recommend this, it is a quaint little spot at the top of the mountain and only a 15 min drive. You will drive by waterfalls all the way up.
Hope to get back to the motel in the summer to enjoy the pool it is huge and looks like a lot of fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesimplelife4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The Carolina Motel is a traditional, 50's era motel (motor-hotel in the literal sense) of the kind that you found all along highways across America before the interstate system was built - one story, all outside entrances, usually arranged in a semicircle with a swimming pool in the middle and you park your car right outside your room. If you want something that looks and feels modern, this isn't the place you are looking for.

But it is spotlessly clean, the rooms and beds are comfortable and the people here are very friendly and helpful. And you can't beat the price.

Make no mistake, it looks like a relic from 1940, but it has been well cared-for, kept up beautifully, and the rooms and bathrooms are as clean as they can possibly be.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I reserved a room for Nov. 3rd & Nov. 4th, 2012. The front desk had our
reservation and the lady working on Satuurday evening was very friendly and helpful. We
stayed in a room that had two double beds and a refrigerator and microwave. There was a
very nice large 42 " flatscreen tv in the room. This is a quaint motel with only about 20 rooms and it was very very clean. Plenty of hot water for showers. The price was very reasonable.
Because it is a lower price, you need to bring your own hair dryer, clock radio if you need one, and coffee maker if you like to wake up to in-room coffee. I understand you can request a hair dryer if you need one. They have a contiental breakfast of french toast, muffins, yogurt, bananas, juice and coffee. We enjoyed having breakfast on Sunday morning, however, were disappointed on Monday morning to find out there was none, just some fruit and coffee. The lady behind the desk said they only did it on weekends after October. Other than that, we loved the motel for its cleanliness and convenient location to Franklin and all the activities of the area. Great bang for the buck. The beds were comfortable and there was a nice little table and chairs for eating or working on the computer. There is internet access here. We ordered Dominos pizza delivery the first night and it was really good. We would recommend this motel to anyone visiting the area and will likely return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
224 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 12 in Franklin
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
11.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Property: Carolina Motel
Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing