We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel!”
Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great motel!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at Carolina Motel for one night on our way home. It was a very quaint, clean motel and the staff were so friendly. We will definitely stay there again if in that area. The next time I will ask for a room that is not on the end by the road because of the heavy traffic. It wasn't too bad, but I would think the rooms facing the road would be quieter.

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of traffic on the road in front of the motel. I would suggest asking for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSwany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    55
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
77
86
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is still great. The staff is great and the rooms are still great. This is why we stayed a second time. We will probably stay here next year when we go gem hunting again. This was the first time staying here for my husband and he really liked the hotel. He took the grandkids to the playground and had fun with them. He also saw the cabins in the back and spoke to the office about them. He is very interested in staying in a cabin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacsBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
363 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I travel a lot for work. I had been staying at a chain hotel in town, but when the hotel had issues with A/C I decided to stay here. I was even able to rent the one bedroom cabin for the same rate I was paying at the other hotel. It was a nice change of pace to come "home" after work rather than head back to a room. The cabin was a bit musty and (of course) smelled of cedar, but that's all part of the experience. I was delighted to have a living room, a full kitchen and a porch with rockers. The view is a bit lacking, but I did have a porch with rockers and it was nice to be able to cook in the kitchen. I hope to be able to stay in the cabin the next time I am in town. It was a nice change of pace.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyfromILMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice affordable place to stay! If you are looking for a clean place to stay with outstanding customer service this is the place for you! We stayed in this hotel one night on our way up to lake Nantahala and it was was nicer than what I expected for the low rate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On a recent road trip across North Carolina, I stopped in Franklin to see if a motel I stayed at many years ago was still in business. Imagine my surprise to find it was and had been updated to an exceptional, accommodating motel. The manager, Debbie Drake, shared with me the trials and tribulations of bringing this place up to standards. The layout is a semi-circle with a pool out front, super clean large rooms and a complimentary continental breakfast that is a cut above most. When on road trips I like to park right in front of my room and at the Carolina Motel that's no problem. The in-room wi-fi is excellent. This location is close to all that the Franklin area has to offer, and Debbie will be more than happy to provide maps and directions. Or and I forgot to add that the prices are more than fair.

Room Tip: The last rooms #17 and #18 are large enough to accommodate a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiamondLil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

This is the only place I will stay when I am anywhere near Franklin. It is homey and very clean. The price is fair. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Don't look any further. Stay here. I have been on an extensive road trip staying in hotels each night. This one is my favorite. It was perfect for me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bassmagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A little bit of nostalgia! It reminds me of the places I stayed with my grandparents when I was a kid. The motel is all one level and it's shaped somewhat like a semi-circle with the pool out in front and you are able to park right in front of your room. The room was very clean, the beds were actually very comfortable and after a hot day at the BBQ Festival the air conditioner was wonderfully ice cold!! We spent the evening at their 11 foot swimming pool surrounded by lots of chairs, a large pergola and even picnic tables! All the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! And it was reasonably priced! Our room had a large flat screen, a microwave and small refrigerator. It was perfect and when we are back in Franklin, NC this is where we will most definitely be staying! Thanks Carolina Motel for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMommaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
224 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 12 in Franklin
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
11.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Property: Carolina Motel
Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing