We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road side Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Road side Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

You will be pleasantly pleased when you chose to stay here. The location of this hotel is very nice and the room that we had was just very pleasant. Nice to sit on the front porch in a rocking chair. (Only draw back are the people who smoke on the porch.) We stayed here and visited the Appalachian Trail entry point just 11 miles outside of town. We hiked to the Winding Stairs Gap. We also took the scenic roadway, visited Dry Falls (which was not dry at all), one can walk under those falls, and we drove our Corvette under the Bridal Veil Falls.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripenjoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    53
    11
    5
    9
See reviews for
70
85
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Carolina Motel was a big suprise in a great way. There are no frills here just a clean, comfortable, and relaxing environment. Terrie at the front desk was super nice and helpful. The bed was the most comfortable one that I have ever slept in when away from home. The room was really clean and neat. There was a huge flat panel screen TV hanging on the wall. There was juice, coffee, and mini muffins in the morning if you did not want to go out for breakfast. This place made me want to stay. I can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdcamp3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff was WONDERFUL! We loved our stay there. Beds and room were very nice. Breakfast was good and had lots of choices as far as I was concerned. I have NO complaints whatsoever. I will stay again if I can.

Room Tip: We didn't use the fitness room. The desk clerk was so nice and informational. Loved our stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After reading the reviews, we decided to give this motel a try and we are so glad we did. It is by far the cleanest hotel/motel we have ever visited. The lobby was spotless! The rooms were recently updated and very clean. The rooms were sound proof so no noise from neighbors coming or going. The breakfast buffet was good. No complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the end if you have children. It's right by the playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribeangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The good news.
The rooms are clean and don't smell. The bed was comfortable. The water pressure is good and hot water is plentiful and immediately available. The people at the desk were nice. Small muffins, small yogurts, coffee and orange juice were provided in the morning (I also saw what may or may not have been frozen waffles and a toaster).
Now the bad news.
The motel faces a busy major road, not more than 100 yards away. Beside the noise that comes from traffic from early in the morning until late at night from such a busy road, the motel is also at the crest of hill. Semi-trucks make a lot of noise getting up that hill; so much noise that I had to use ear plugs to sleep. Whoever wrote that it is quiet wasn't staying where I stayed.
Just outside the rooms are small, inexpensive plastic chairs offering a chance to be out of doors. Although the rooms themselves are no-smoking, each morning and evening the people in the rooms beside mine were outside their rooms smoking. No fresh air for me. They also liked to drink beer while in and around their rooms in the evening. The towels are barely thicker than the budget brand facial tissue in the rooms. Two "bath" towels were barely enough to dry with (I suppose no one will bother to steal these). The soap bars are coarse and wafer thin, only lasting one day (they were replaced daily). As others have noted, no coffee makers or hair dryers in the rooms.
Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Carolina Motel overnight on May 16th during our Moonshiner 28 motorcycle ride. Very clean rooms. The bed was extremely comfy. Breakfast was great, bagels, fruit, yogurt, muffins,coffee and juice. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a mom & pop type of motel located on 441 south of Franklin. Very well maintained - super clean; very comfortable bed & pillows; quiet location. Black out curtains, flat screen TV & excellent wifi reception in room. Plenty of hot water. Refrigerator & microwave in room. Hair dryers are not provided but you can ask for one at the desk. Check in was a little lengthy due to problems with running a credit card. Unseasonably warm for this time of year and unfortunately the pool maintenance for 2014 had not begun - looks like a nice pool area though. The fenced in playground area appears to be capable of keeping little ones occupied & happy. Breakfast was adequate but I'd suggest an upgrade in the coffee.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet - did not hear the neighbors or road noise. Very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarkwhistleBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
4.3 mi away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#7 of 12 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
11.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
11.1 mi away
Mountain Valley Inn
Mountain Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Dillard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Property: Carolina Motel
Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing