We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay”
Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Carolina Hotel is a great American owned hotel.The rates are fair and its the cleanest place I've ever stayes.The staff is more then helpful and easly answered any questions we had on directions.They have menus for local restaurants in the lobby for easy picking.Their free breakfest is a nice way to start a day of site seeing.We will be back on future trips.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cben6143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Carolina Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a very good choice for our road trip. The front desk was very friendly and helpful, and the room was spacious and clean. There was no coffee maker or hairdryer, but all in all it was a very nice stay. The pool looked clean and relaxing as well, though we had no chance to use it. There wasn't much in the way of road noise either. No complaints here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bradaussie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel reminded me of the hotels of my childhood where you could park outside your room and the pool is out front. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I was staying here after backpacking the Appalachian Trail and required 3 things: hot bath, cool ac, and flawless Internet connection. All these were met. The breakfast and pool were added bonuses. I could not hear any noise from the highway. Great experience here and I will be back. Oh, one caveat- I just checked my credit card online and see that they charged me twice. Hopefully this will be no problem to resolve.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank mustangchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean room , especially the bathroom, looks newly remodeled ,nice gated pool and an awesome price! Will definitely come back here the next time were antiquing in the area!!! Nice relaxing atmosphere and the staff was very knowledgeable and nice!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Bobesusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just got back from a spur-of-the-moment overnight trip to the NC mountains. We chose the Carolina Motel based on other Trip Advisor reviews and we found that they were pretty accurate.

Anyone interested in this motel should understand it's a throwback to the golden age of American family roadtrips in the family truckster (part of the reason we decided to stay here). It's a roadside motel that offers decent amenities - a sparkling clean pool, attractive kiddie playground, free Wi-Fi, and a surprisingly well-stocked continental breakfast - at an affordable price.

The motel itself is very well-maintained, with nice landscaping and a cozy reception area. The rooms were probably some of the cleanest I've ever seen. The staff was very friendly and helpful about offering directions to local restaurants and attractions. There were towels provided by the pool, an unexpected touch for this type of property (i.e. - not a huge resort or a national chain brand). It should be noted that this is a roadside motel, so yep, there's some traffic noise but we didn't find it too bothersome.

We were able to check in late, which we appreciated, since we literally made the decision to throw everyone in the car at noon and drive the 5ish hours up into the mountains that day (with a couple of stops along the way to boot). Our rooms were basic but very clean; we had no need for them but if you want a mini-fridge or microwave, I believe there's an extra charge. They even had cookies in the lobby, which the kiddos were very happy to see. The bathrooms in our two rooms were on the small side but spotless.

The continental breakfast started at 7am this morning, which was perfect since we were up early to hit Mason's gem mine. Surprisingly, it was pretty well-stocked with a good variety of different options like bagels, french toast, cereal, muffins, coffee, fruit, OJ, and yogurt (side note: the sanitation grade was an "A" with a score of 100).

Overall, it was a good stay, especially given that we made the last-minute decision to go. If you're looking for a classic American roadside motel experience or an affordable choice that's near the gem mines and other attractions in Franklin, NC, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 151melissad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This motel reminds me of the many that used to front our highways, rather than cluster at Internet exits. It is the type of place we would have begged our father to stop on trips in the '50s. The good news is that it is newly redone. Very clean. Good internet wifi service. Plenty of hot water with a good shower flow. It is a great base for going round and about Franklin. We stayed for three nights, and slept well every night. Just wish the lighting in the room was better, and the towels thicker.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hornbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

You will be pleasantly pleased when you chose to stay here. The location of this hotel is very nice and the room that we had was just very pleasant. Nice to sit on the front porch in a rocking chair. (Only draw back are the people who smoke on the porch.) We stayed here and visited the Appalachian Trail entry point just 11 miles outside of town. We hiked to the Winding Stairs Gap. We also took the scenic roadway, visited Dry Falls (which was not dry at all), one can walk under those falls, and we drove our Corvette under the Bridal Veil Falls.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtripenjoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 12 in Franklin
231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 12 in Franklin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites
Gateway Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Dillard
117 reviews
18.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range: £52 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing