We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Rude Rude Owner”
Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Rude Rude Rude Owner”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I never saw such a rude owner/manager of a hotel. She refused to give us extra towels, even telling her maids not to give us any. Our room was not regularly cleaned and had a distinct smell to it as soon as we walked in. We had no other choice, since the motel down the street was a complete disaster. In the room next to ours was a couple that manager obviously liked (could it be because the man had Confederate flags on his bike, shirt, pants, arms???) Breakfast was consisted of apples, bananas, beagles and creamed cheese, orange juice and few donuts. (Better be early b/c the feast is not that big) Pool was clean, but next to the street where perverts can honk on any 15 year old girl next to the pool. I would not stay at this motel again, and I can't believe that this is the best Franklin has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelingBosnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    57
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
87
96
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Highly recommend! The rooms were extremely clean. The managers and staff were very friendly and accommodating in every way. Beds were comfortable. Was very quite. The rates were reasonable. Will definitely stay there again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Stayed here while visiting family over the holidays. After one terrible night at another local hotel, we decided to check Tripadvisor. The high ratings this place have are well deserved. When I called for the reservation, I told them that it might be late when we arrived. It was, but we found our key and reservation information right where we were told they would be, as the office was closed. It's a small town and in the winter, there aren't many tourists coming through. The room was large, clean and furnished with a very comfortable bed, recliner, antique chairs, a small refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was spotless and tastefully decorated. Nice towels.
The pool and play area would be great for children in the summer.

The only minus was that the coffee/continental breakfast wasn't ready at the office until 8 am in the winter, earlier in the summer. It would be nice to have coffee in the room.

  • Liked — bed and pillows, cleanliness
  • Disliked — would like coffee in the room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank are_we_there_yet_009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Carolina Motel is a very nice and clean building and grounds.Pool looked very nice but being outdoors it was too cold to swim this time of the year.Lobby is very nice,Rooms were very clean and no bad smells.Front desk was friendly and helpful.Beds were combortable.My wife and I went to see the fall colors which were very nice and we also went to the pumpkin festival downtown which was very good with something going on all day and music at night.
The only thing that I didn't like was that the comp. breakfast didn't start until 8.oo am and you couldn't get any coffee until then as there was no coffeemaker in the room either.I am an early riser so we just went and ate breakfast up the road a couple of mornings.I would probably stay their again.

  • Liked — Very clean and neat
  • Disliked — NO coffee before 8 am sharp!!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zuni07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Our family rented 2 rooms from Carolina Motel in Franklin NC. The rooms were so clean and nice, we were scared because we had never stayed there before, But to our delight it was a perfect place to stay a few days and tour around and do all the things to do in that area. The whole area was quaint and everyone was super nice. I can't say enough about how clean the room was, the bathroom was spotless and the bed was huge and comfy. No problems sleeping in this motel. It was such a delight, I would also recommend for families with kids, they have a play area and a very nice, clean pool. The whole place is well taken care of. And the continental breakfast was more than I have ever had at a bigger motel, they had just about everything. So hospitable............

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachesgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We walked into the motel after walking off the Appalachian Trail, and it was pretty great--there were at least 10 bars of soap!

Comfy new beds, really nice squishy pillows (not foam or rubber), a rear window overlooking a quiet pretty backyard. The room, while small, seemed light and airy thanks to the windows. A microwave and little refrigerator were a pleasant surprise. The owner was very helpful and the room was immaculate. I'd give this motel a 10 out of 10 (if there were such a rating).

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — there was nothing I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

This could have been a really nice place to stay. We rented one of the cabins and at first glance we were so happy. The inside of the cabin was very nice. At first we could not get the remote control to work. I went to the front desk to get a new remote. The second remote didnt work either. I went back to the desk and asked if they had batteries for the remote. NO, was the answer so we had to go buy our own batteries. Later that day we were going to one of the ruby mines the next day. We asked for directions but the front desk was of no help. That night while sitting in the living room of the cabin we saw a mouse run across to floor. Also there was a hole in the wall that had a stream of ants coming and going. If the managers clean up the cabins better and were a little more knowledgeable this could be a GREAT place.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — animals in room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ronweasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Franklin
227 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 12 in Franklin
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
11.4 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Property: Carolina Motel
Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing